We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch your bill” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden

Eden
Reserve with OpenTable
Eden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 269 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1st Street
Description: Critically acclaimed, Eden offers an open kitchen serving bold American Regional cuisine featuring the freshest fish, dry aged & grass fed beef, and wild game. Eden also features a 100+ bottle wine list with many offerings by the glass.
1 review
“Watch your bill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

After experiencing average over priced food I found my credit card had been billed three times for all the bills at my table. They were also billed for their portion of the meal. After three phone calls the original three charges were removed and two more different charges were added. Again more phone calls. Still waiting for the correction! Thanks Eden for an enjoyable experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank visitingfromoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Owner at Eden, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Our apologies for your inconvenience, we understand having to deal with incorrect charges is never a pleasant experience. We were alerted to these duplicate charges by our credit card processor (a nationally known company) who inadvertently double processed two sets of transactions from our computerized dining system. It appears you were affected both times. We have been assured these transactions should now be corrected. Please let us know as soon as possible if your account was not corrected accurately by emailing us at info@edenrestaurant.com so we can work with the processor to resolve..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    66
    21
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One place to come back to, again and again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Overall experience, from the bread to the varied ine selection to the neat interior to the best terrace seat in town.... Great! Friendly wait staff, but most off all, every bite was delicious! Thank you!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarthageMcLean_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perhaps It Was An Off Night...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

... or perhaps a temperamental chef-with-attitude felt affronted by the request for a substitution on one entree (firmly denied), or perhaps it was the large group upstairs or perhaps it's just a very nicely decorated restaurant with polite but slow service and a very spotty kitchen.

In any event we waited about an hour for our entrees to arrive, about an hour after the appetizers came that is. During that time three empty tables nearby had diners seated, fed and lingering over desert while the seven of us waited, and waited, and waited.....

The food varied from superb (scallops, cheeses, steak, grouper), to so-so (bland Parmesan risotto with "summer" gazpacho, dry and tough roast chicken, just-OK shrimp) to bad (crunchy, tasteless quinoa).

The scallop dish and cheese plate are illustrative; perfectly seared scallops served on a bed of tasteless risotto with a splash of insipid gazpacho, and a plate with seven divine cheeses plus the eighth, "house made mozzarella with olive oil and sea salt", that was utterly without flavor of any sort, and had the dry spongy consistency of supermarket salad bar mozzarella.

Two of our party live half the year in Rehobeth and frequent this restaurant often. They laughed when one of us asked for a substitution, and they did say that both the service and the food were way below par for their previous visits.

I might eat here again, but unless the experience were memorable (in a good way) I would not return a third time. There are too many better restaurants in Rehobeth.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gakpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Owner at Eden, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. As owner I do monitor these posts and relay your feedback to the Eden team. I assure you we do allow substitutions and have reviewed that policy with all teams involved in the dining experience, servers, chefs and management. In early summer we do hire quite a few new team members and, while they are experienced professionals, at times they need to be reminded of Eden's policies and our approach to customer satisfaction. If any part of your experience doesn't meet expectations please let our team know while you're there so we can address it right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OMG! Special Occasion dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you want to celebrate a special occasion in style you should head to Eden! We held our son's rehearsal dinner here a couple years ago and we returned this past month when we moved to the area. The food is outrageously good and the decor is romantic and chic! So many great entrees to choose from it was almost impossible to make up my mind. Between the four of us we had lamb, scallops, fish & osso bucco and it was fight to the finish for which dish was the best! Best wine list in Rehoboth! Pricey but well worth the trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been here several times over the past few years and always had a great experience. This time was truly disappointing. On a positive note, the ambience and decor on the first floor is very good. On the down side, I ordered the clams as an appetizer. They were supposed to be cooked and because they were hot, they had been, but severely under-cooked, near raw. For me entree, I had the scallops - The scallops came with some sort of peas/bacon melange and wild rice. The scallops themselves were fine. The peas were either not cooked or overcooked. It was very hard to tell because they were so hard and crunchy. Weirdly, the rice seemed like it was poured right out of a box and onto the plate - so crunchy that it didn't even seem cooked!. Also, the lowest priced bottle of wine was about $40. I had to raise an eyebrow, because I don't usually see the low end of wine prices that high even at an upscale restaurant. I don't think I'll try Eden again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rlafleur99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Owner at Eden, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the spring scallops preparation. After reading your review I anonymously sampled the scallop entre and agreed with you. With creative cuisine sometimes you miss the mark and need to adjust so we have changed the offering and hope you'll come back to try the new setup.

We refresh our wine list quite a bit in the spring as we ready for summer diners and we typically have a wide variety of wines on our list ranging from the mid $20's to the mid $400's. Our server team would be glad to help find the right bottle for your dinner selections, taste preference and desired price point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing