We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar

The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 269 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I really loved the outdoor seating on the pond. It is worth the trip. Can be a little costly but I thought it was worth the experience. And the wasabi olives are a must have experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CraigT-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    103
    50
    31
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Half great and half average for two couples.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Four of us had dinner with a mixture of sushi and tempura entrees. Those having sushi raved about their meal while those having general entrees were disappointed with Luke warm food.
The our waiter left a lot to be desired...while attentive to our table he was not organized...best organizational skills showed when he brought our check !
The entertainment was very good, with music & vocals by Wes Davis. If you have a chance to hear him by all means make the effort !
This restaurants saving grace is the top notch entertainment they consistently book.

Helpful?
Thank Gogogram63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford, de
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“LARGE, POPULAR, CREATIVE MENU AND DRINKS, OUTDOOR 2ND FLOOR DECK!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Sushi or cooked, whatever you want, they have a very creative and interesting menu, cool decorating theme, and a well versed staff.

Helpful?
2 Thank ctvtde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Still Just a Factory, not a Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place has no feeling of hospitality at all. WAY too large and managed like a factory, not a restaurant. The antithesis of a real Japanese sushi joint. Sushi itself is average at best when compared to what else is locally available. Inattentive staff, uncaring management. Don't go......you will be disappointed on many levels.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good sushi, live entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

One of our favorite restaurants when we're in town during the off-season is The Cultured Pearl in Rehoboth Beach, DE. They have different themes on different nights (such as half-price sushi on Mondays during the off-season) and live entertainment on the weekends. You don't have to have a reservation, but on many nights, it's best to have one if you have a preference on where to sit or don't want to risk waiting for a table. We prefer to head up past the front desk to the bar area where we can sit eating our favorite dishes while watching a game on television or listening to music from the main diningroom. Our favorites include Fried Panko Oysters (get all three of the dipping sauces!), one of the many different flavorings of edamame (we like the smokey choice the best) and a Firecracker roll which is amazing and one of their specialties. This is not a warm and fuzzy restaurant, but it is a local favorite, the service is good and the waiters are busy, but helpful and friendly. We're heading to the DE shore again this weekend and will be stopping in for our Cultured Pearl fix. OH! and they often have fresh, grated wasabi which has a slightly richer, sweeter flavor than the wasabi you usually find in sushi restaurants. You have to request it and there is a small charge for the real thing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to The Cultured Pearl Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing