We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many choices”

Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 281 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A Rehoboth Beach tradition, the Summer House is known for its fresh, well-prepared food presented in an upscale yet relaxed atmosphere with prompt and friendly service. Jumbo lump crabcakes, tender barbecued ribs and chicken, just-ground burgers, veal and wild mushroom meatloaf, and monster steaks are just a few of the restaurant's specialties. A varied selection of salads, soups, starters and yummy side dishes round out the menu, and specials change daily. On Monday, it's half-price burger night, 4-9:30 p.M., And Miller Lites are just $2.50. Summer House Three Course Prime Rib Dinner night on Wednesday and Sunday nights. DJs keep the joint rocking on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday nights, and Sunday offers a great brunch menu and Bloody Mary Bar, 11 a.M. To 3 p.M. Lunch is available seven days a week, 11:30 a.M.-3 P.M., And the business lunch menu on weekdays features two courses for just $12. Don't miss the happy hour specials at the main bar, 4-7 p.M., Monday-Thursday, with great appetizer menu, $2.50 Domestic beers and fresh-squeezed grapefruit and lemon drop martinis. Enjoy extended Happy Hour on Fridays til 8PM!
Voorheesville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Many choices”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Ate here our first night. Our server was very attentive and informative about the food. I opted for 3 course special for $19. The seafood chowder was really great. Would definitely recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank looche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    151
    47
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent waiter”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

5 of us, 3 adults with 2 children ate here on a Sunday evening. We had family arriving late so asked about take out orders for them and our waiter coordinated the orders so that their food arrived packaged just as we were ready to pay the bill. All of our food was great. Only complaint was the noise...we sat in a booth close to the bar but with all of the sports on the multple tvs, it was very noisy. Did not make for a relaxing meal however the food and service made up for the noise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJL2342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to know you enjoyed the food and service at Summer House! If your booth is to noisy, let your server know and we would be more then happy to move you to a different area of the restaurant!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love This Place!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We've been going to Rehoboth for many years. Almost every time we have eaten at the Summerhouse, and EVERY meal has been GREAT! Nice portions, excellent staff, very VERY tasty food and the price is right. What else do you need?

This last time we visited, Mom had the crab cakes with cole slaw and sweet potato fries and I had the BBQ dinner off the specials menu, which was pulled pork, chicken and ribs. You can get two or three items, plus two sides. I opted for the pulled pork and chicken breast with cole slaw and mac & cheese. The portions were huge! The pulled pork was BIG pieces of pulled pork, in a little sweet (for me) sauce. It was NOT swimming in sauce (hooray!) Very nice. The chicken was just a sad little boneless skinless chicken breast, all sauced up. It wasn't extraordinary, really. It didn't suck, but it just wasn't WOW. I won't hold it against them though. The cole slaw was really good, not sweet (thank you again) and nice & shredded. I liked it very much. The mac & cheese was listed as farmhouse mac & cheese with three cheeses and panacetti. I could taste the pancetti but overall the dish was kind of bland. A little hot sauce would have done wonders for it. It did not suck, don't get me wrong, (I'm a mac & cheese snob) It came in it's own little ramekin, and had the nice crusty top, but it didn't make me say, Dang that's some FABULOUS mac & cheese. (Sorry)

The Momma raved about her crab cakes. "The best I've had yet!" (high praise y'all...seriously) The sweet potato fries were the nice shoe string kind, and she got a mountain of them. They were good (if you like that kind of thing) but no way she would have finished them. She enjoyed the cole slaw too.

The booth behind us was getting burgers, and they looked REALLY good. Maybe next time...

Bonus points for having iced tea that tasted like TEA and not brown water. (See my other review) I have a real issue with bad iced tea. It's not rocket science. At least not the last time I checked.

Watch your step on the way in and out of the side dining room.

It does get packed 'in season', but it's a year round place. The sports bar side gets loud on game days, but sit in the dining room, it'll be okay if you're bothered by that kind of thing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are pleased to know you enjoyed the food and service during your last visit to Summer House. We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The most amazing food!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We hesitated going here for dinner while we were on vacation because their menu listed outside had some high prices. However we decided to try it out and I'm so glad we did. I haven't had a meal that good in a very long time! My husband and I shared the crab dip for an appetizer. It was so good! Then I had the mahi mahi. The food tasted fresh, well seasoned, and it was a different take on your every day foods. For example, as a fresh vegetable they had corn, tomato, and green bean salad. So good!

I had a strawberry mojito which was good as well. Overall, we had the crab dip, 2 entrees, one mixed drink, and a beer - that came to about $64. Not bad for all that food. It might be a little pricey for big families though.

The service was very good. The waiters and waitresses were very quick and friendly. We are very happen we ended up eating there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktmk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy you ended up choosing Summer House and enjoyed the food and service! We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“family type food and service”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great location and the locals seem to frequent for lunch. We found nothing outstanding about the food or the service. Just average. Too many better restaurants in town with much better food. The menu needs to be updated. Tough competition.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pierre20639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Now that the off-season is upon us we will be updating our menu with new Fall specials. We hope you will check out our updates on our website www.summerhousesaloon.com and decide to try us again!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing