We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and family friendly”

Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 270 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Bar, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Rehoboth Beach tradition, the Summer House is known for its fresh, well-prepared food presented in an upscale yet relaxed atmosphere with prompt and friendly service. Jumbo lump crabcakes, tender barbecued ribs and chicken, just-ground burgers, veal and wild mushroom meatloaf, and monster steaks are just a few of the restaurant's specialties. A varied selection of salads, soups, starters and yummy side dishes round out the menu, and specials change daily. On Monday, it's half-price burger night, 4-9:30 p.M., And Miller Lites are just $2.50. Summer House Three Course Prime Rib Dinner night on Wednesday and Sunday nights. DJs keep the joint rocking on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday nights, and Sunday offers a great brunch menu and Bloody Mary Bar, 11 a.M. To 3 p.M. Lunch is available seven days a week, 11:30 a.M.-3 P.M., And the business lunch menu on weekdays features two courses for just $12. Don't miss the happy hour specials at the main bar, 4-7 p.M., Monday-Thursday, with great appetizer menu, $2.50 Domestic beers and fresh-squeezed grapefruit and lemon drop martinis. Enjoy extended Happy Hour on Fridays til 8PM!
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious and family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a great way to end a long day at the beach! We had 3 children and 2 adults. The kids all got to choose from a great kids menu. 2 ordered 6 oz steaks and 1 a hamburger. We started off with nacho appetizer which was yummy. My daughter had a salad with goat cheese and chicken tenders. I had the yummy cram bisque which is out of this world delicious. Great restaurant, great food and friendly staff! I will come there again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, Summer House is definitely kid friendly!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    141
    44
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Best bargain in town!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Burgers are 1/2 price on Mondays so we decided to go on a friend's recommendation. We were surprised to see that the burgers included cheese plus one side for the discounted price. We had 6 people in our party and each person ordered a burger plus some ordered sodas and the bill was about $46. The restaurant is a lot larger than it appears from the street, but still fills up fast. They do not accept reservations so we went at 5pm and there were plenty of tables, but when we left at 6:15, there was a large group of people outside waiting for tables. Everyone agreed it was a great meal!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We're happy to know you enjoyed 1/2 price burger night! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Finally, a place in the Rehoboth area I can give a good review to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Third year vacationing here from NY and have had so much trouble finding a local (not chain) place that has good, affordable food for the whole family. We ordered ribs, pulled pork, chicken tenders and the pasta for the young one. Service was very accomodating and helpful, including turning down the A/C. Not a pretentious place, just good food and good service. I highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBWolfNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
330 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Friendly Bar and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had planned to go to Fins but it was jammed at 5:00 so we came here. The bar area is big so we were able to find seats at the bar. They have a very good Happy Hour even on Friday. The people at the bar were very friendly and Chris was a good bartender. This place got crowded about an hour after Fins. I ordered from the Happy Hour menu and had a great Tomato Caprese Salad ($4) with large fresh tomatoes and the Chicken Parm Sandwich. Both were great. My husband had shrimp and scallops over pasta with a marinara sauce. He also liked his. Would definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PASANDYBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Glad you enjoyed Friday happy hour! Hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A tried and true favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I visited with family on a Wednesday night for the prime rib special. Two of my party enjoyed the prime rib. I loved the shrimp and scallops over pasta with a pleasantly rich roasted red pepper sauce. The wait staff was very pleasant and helpful. My margarita was weak, that's the only downside I can report.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are happy to know you enjoyed our 3 course prime rib special that we offer on Wednesday and Sunday nights! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing