We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the non-fish eaters and more...”

Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 283 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A Rehoboth Beach tradition, the Summer House is known for its fresh, well-prepared food presented in an upscale yet relaxed atmosphere with prompt and friendly service. Jumbo lump crabcakes, tender barbecued ribs and chicken, just-ground burgers, veal and wild mushroom meatloaf, and monster steaks are just a few of the restaurant's specialties. A varied selection of salads, soups, starters and yummy side dishes round out the menu, and specials change daily. On Monday, it's half-price burger night, 4-9:30 p.M., And Miller Lites are just $2.50. Summer House Three Course Prime Rib Dinner night on Wednesday and Sunday nights. DJs keep the joint rocking on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday nights, and Sunday offers a great brunch menu and Bloody Mary Bar, 11 a.M. To 3 p.M. Lunch is available seven days a week, 11:30 a.M.-3 P.M., And the business lunch menu on weekdays features two courses for just $12. Don't miss the happy hour specials at the main bar, 4-7 p.M., Monday-Thursday, with great appetizer menu, $2.50 Domestic beers and fresh-squeezed grapefruit and lemon drop martinis. Enjoy extended Happy Hour on Fridays til 8PM!
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the richness of the menu options and prices. We wanted fish but our kids preferred meat. So since this is best known for steaks, we found their selection of fish, sandwiches, or salads was also outstanding. Its bigger than it appears but room are smaller so the atmosphere is easy to have a conversation. There was a wait but they would text us so we could browse around town while we waited. I'll definitely be back. My husband and son are mostly into quantity and the portion sizes were very generous. I loved their signature chopped salad and it was enough for more than one meal. Everyone easily found something they liked, Service was great and the bill much less than a few other places we've been on that strip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 8vntrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

We like to provide a menu full of variety to please each of our guests unique tastes!

Thank you
Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 335 of 450 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great burgers and seafood..a nice variety on the menu. Good bloody Mary's! Can't go wrong here. Looking forward to returning. Good service, clean.

Thank Kendra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We ate here a couple times during the month of June and were very happy. Had their prime rib dinner with creamed spinach and sauteed mushrooms. Everything was tasty and the servings were huge!! Next time she had the caprese salad and stuck to the mushrooms and spinach. He went with the sirloin and was very pleased. The happy hour and the special menu at the bar is excellent. Will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2TravlinFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Join us for our 3 course Prime Rib Dinner special every Wednesday and Sunday!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The service was horrible. We were seated... My husband went to the restroom. A table set for 4 people was clear. It was me and 2 children when waitress came. She asked what drinks I would like. I ordered water and a soda. She walked away without getting my kids orders. She came back and gave me my drinks and walked away again with no chance to finish our drink orders. It took forever to finish our drink order. After we got our drinks, we ordered dinner... The $33, one pound king crab leg was "boring"... No additional sides came with it. I was still hungry. The fries and Mac & Cheese that came with the kids meals were good... I finished their sides since mine came with none! My husband liked his blackened Salmon. He said it was better than the Salmon he had the day before!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Che13bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We apologize about the service during your last visit to Summer House. We would like to have the opportunity to discuss your experience in further detail, please call 302-227-3895 and ask to speak with our general manager, Craig.

Thank you,
Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

4 kids, 2 adults. Great food for the price. Great service. A little loud but highly recommend. Crab legs are the best and steak melts in your mouth

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katharinebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review! We would definitely suggest the crab legs and any of our steaks!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing