We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Consistent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summerhouse Restaurant

Summerhouse Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 264 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Rehoboth Beach tradition, the Summer House is known for its fresh, well-prepared food presented in an upscale yet relaxed atmosphere with prompt and friendly service. Jumbo lump crabcakes, tender barbecued ribs and chicken, just-ground burgers, veal and wild mushroom meatloaf, and monster steaks are just a few of the restaurant's specialties. A varied selection of salads, soups, starters and yummy side dishes round out the menu, and specials change daily. On Monday, it's half-price burger night, 4-9:30 p.M., And Miller Lites are just $2.50. Summer House Three Course Prime Rib Dinner night on Wednesday and Sunday nights. DJs keep the joint rocking on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday nights, and Sunday offers a great brunch menu and Bloody Mary Bar, 11 a.M. To 3 p.M. Lunch is available seven days a week, 11:30 a.M.-3 P.M., And the business lunch menu on weekdays features two courses for just $12. Don't miss the happy hour specials at the main bar, 4-7 p.M., Monday-Thursday, with great appetizer menu, $2.50 Domestic beers and fresh-squeezed grapefruit and lemon drop martinis. Enjoy extended Happy Hour on Fridays til 8PM!
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Another great lunch at this busy establishment. We started with the blacken chicken quesadilla which comes with a black bean and corn salsa. Husband had the chicken cheese steak sandwich with the stuffed potatoes. I tried the Mahi Mahi over Brussels sprouts which were delicious. The Mahi was a lunch special which came with the lettuce wedge for only $13.00. Eating here is a sure bet. Once Memorial Day comes, the parking is difficult but worth the trouble.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bag19973again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    102
    36
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great happy hour, delicious food and friendly service. We eat here every time we visit Rehoboth Beach.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a disappointment...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

After reading the reviews to this place we decided to give it a try. We expected great food and especially great seafood. Started out with shrimp cocktail, it was 6 shrimp for 13 dollars...PRICEY! My blackened salmon was bland which was a first. Usually any fish that is blackened is very tasty. The jasmine rice it came on top of was also quite bland even though it had what appeared to be an assortment of herbs in it. Some parts of the rice were undercooked as well. The highlight of the meal were the stuffed potato cakes which were essentially mashed potatoes with chesse and bacon deep fried. The chicken parmesan was okay. It could have used some more sauce to keep it moist. Some of the pasta was not fully cooked and therefore hard. We have had better food from other restaurants in the area. For two meals and an appetizer it was over $50. Thats pricey when the food is just mediocre at best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david_e_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback and are always looking for ways to improve.

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Rehoboth Mainstay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food is always consistently good here and the atmosphere is very friendly. The ribs and jambalays are favorites for me and my wife.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank alboyd827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to know you enjoyed the food and atmosphere!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprised it was open!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We decided to see if it was open a Saturday in February. Some restaurants, or most are closed during the Winter. We had to send someone it to see if it was open. Even the wait staff noticed it looked like they were closed.

The wait staff was fairly pleasant, one waitress stood out as very bubbly and happy. She was not our waitress.

Our waitress looked like she was hungover and only smiled if one of us looked directly at her. During our lunch, she was meloncholy and acted as if we put her out.

Overall the food was great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fabover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your food and we apologize for the service that day. We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summerhouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Summerhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing