We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment...”

Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 283 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A Rehoboth Beach tradition, the Summer House is known for its fresh, well-prepared food presented in an upscale yet relaxed atmosphere with prompt and friendly service. Jumbo lump crabcakes, tender barbecued ribs and chicken, just-ground burgers, veal and wild mushroom meatloaf, and monster steaks are just a few of the restaurant's specialties. A varied selection of salads, soups, starters and yummy side dishes round out the menu, and specials change daily. On Monday, it's half-price burger night, 4-9:30 p.M., And Miller Lites are just $2.50. Summer House Three Course Prime Rib Dinner night on Wednesday and Sunday nights. DJs keep the joint rocking on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday nights, and Sunday offers a great brunch menu and Bloody Mary Bar, 11 a.M. To 3 p.M. Lunch is available seven days a week, 11:30 a.M.-3 P.M., And the business lunch menu on weekdays features two courses for just $12. Don't miss the happy hour specials at the main bar, 4-7 p.M., Monday-Thursday, with great appetizer menu, $2.50 Domestic beers and fresh-squeezed grapefruit and lemon drop martinis. Enjoy extended Happy Hour on Fridays til 8PM!
Reviewed April 5, 2013

After reading the reviews to this place we decided to give it a try. We expected great food and especially great seafood. Started out with shrimp cocktail, it was 6 shrimp for 13 dollars...PRICEY! My blackened salmon was bland which was a first. Usually any fish that is blackened is very tasty. The jasmine rice it came on top of was also quite bland even though it had what appeared to be an assortment of herbs in it. Some parts of the rice were undercooked as well. The highlight of the meal were the stuffed potato cakes which were essentially mashed potatoes with chesse and bacon deep fried. The chicken parmesan was okay. It could have used some more sauce to keep it moist. Some of the pasta was not fully cooked and therefore hard. We have had better food from other restaurants in the area. For two meals and an appetizer it was over $50. Thats pricey when the food is just mediocre at best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank david_e_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback and are always looking for ways to improve.

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 353 of 450 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food is always consistently good here and the atmosphere is very friendly. The ribs and jambalays are favorites for me and my wife.

Thank alboyd827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are happy to know you enjoyed the food and atmosphere!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We decided to see if it was open a Saturday in February. Some restaurants, or most are closed during the Winter. We had to send someone it to see if it was open. Even the wait staff noticed it looked like they were closed.

The wait staff was fairly pleasant, one waitress stood out as very bubbly and happy. She was not our waitress.

Our waitress looked like she was hungover and only smiled if one of us looked directly at her. During our lunch, she was meloncholy and acted as if we put her out.

Overall the food was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fabover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your food and we apologize for the service that day. We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Winter visit to summer house while visiting our summer house on a winter weekend. Food is fresh and good. Service was a little less friendly then usual which was odd. Salads were very good, seafood pasta was very good, the steak sandwich was dissapointing, dry and bland. It was a mixed bag on this visit. We've been coming for 4 yrs now winter and summer and this was the first time we weren't thrilled. Service being somewhat unpleasant and cold and the food a little off, it was concerning. Side note, the building looks in disrepair ie, siding falling off and just signage looking messy, doesnt seem like they are keeping up, and sometimes the little things mean a lot, even more so With so many fantastic restaurants in rehoboth I hope summer house makes sure they arent loosing their foot hold as a great restaurant in a world class restaurant town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mrem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your continued support and patronage. As always we strive to do our best and will continue to do so, we look forward to seeing you again!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I dined at Summerhouse a couple of times in the last few weeks. Although it is off season, the place was pretty crowded. The food was excellent. I had the lobster bisque, great flavor and enough lobster chunks. For our main course, my wife had pork chops, which were done perfectly, and I had a mixed fish special over rice, which was excellent. Very friendly wait staff. They were very busy, and were working hard. Have not been there in the midst of summer, but would, and will go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your great review, we are happy you enjoyed the food and service. Hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Summerhouse Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing