We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat repeat customers!”
Review of Big Fish Grill

Big Fish Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Founded in 1997 by brothers Norman and Eric Sugrue, Delaware's Big Fish Grill has become one of the premier spots for casual dining in the region. A unique blend of original recipes, must have favorites and affordable prices have resulted in a dedicated following. Enough so to earn numerous "Best Seafood at the Beach" awards by Delaware Today magazine. The secret ingredient of the Big Fish Grill success story is a commitment to providing fresh, great tasting dishes, unsurpassed hospitality and impeccable customer service. Big Fish Grill offers a diverse menu featuring not only hand selected seafood at its absolute freshness but also delicious steaks and pasta in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Big Fish Grill has something for everyone!
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Repeat repeat customers!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This has got to be one of the best restaurants ever for us!
They totally know how to prepare all dishes very well and can get them to your table in no time! The staff is awesome, not one visit did we ever have a poor meal or server! We have a place near Lewes and make Big Fish our favorite restaurant nearby! The prices for the food is worth every penny. Compared to other seafood restaurants in the area, this one is top notch!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkwarner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know you always enjoy the food and service at Big Fish!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    344
    99
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expensive and mediocre”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Maybe I'm spoiled when it comes to seafood, but I wasn't impressed with Big Fish. I am from New England and have been eating fresh fish all my life, so my perspective is a bit jaded. Yes, there were lots of choices and the preparation was okay, but the prices are outrageous for what you get. In most cases, you have to wait a long time to get a seat and it's pretty noisy. This is not my idea of a great dining experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Discerning1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We are sorry that you feel that way. However, we take pride in our food, service, and hospitality at Big Fish.

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

A busy eatery, especially in summer but popular with locals all year. Good service, good food, nice decor. Usually offer holiday buffets but won't take reservations, so a wait recently was 90 minutes. We left and found another excellent place. Recommend that you arrive no later than 4:30 pm gor dinner in summer. Lunch is quite nice and it is a bit quieter.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know you enjoy the food, service, and atmosphere at Big Fish. Lunch is a nice alternative if you'd rather not wait. However, we have two bars where you can enjoy drinks and appetizers if you are waiting for a table at dinner!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Taken by Friends”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Was taken here by some friends who live locally who claim it was their favourite restaurant.
Thought it was very reasonably priced ....especially being a Brit and the exchange rate was helping.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalmesburyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your Review!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What the?”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I waited. I had trouble getting served at the bar. When I was seated, we hot a waitress drawing on the paper cover.... ooooo how adult. Then waited and when the food finally arrived, I felt like we were being rushed. People wanted to take our plates. But most of all.... NOISE!!!!! You couldn't think or talk. I don't understand why people flood there. The food is good, but the noise.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Sorry to hear of your experience as that is not the exceptional service we are known for. If you would like to discuss in further please contact me at the restaurant. As for the crayons we are a family friendly restaurant and the kids love it!

Thank you,
Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
302-227-3474
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Big Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing