We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice. Huge menu.”
Review of Big Fish Grill

Big Fish Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Founded in 1997 by brothers Norman and Eric Sugrue, Delaware's Big Fish Grill has become one of the premier spots for casual dining in the region. A unique blend of original recipes, must have favorites and affordable prices have resulted in a dedicated following. Enough so to earn numerous "Best Seafood at the Beach" awards by Delaware Today magazine. The secret ingredient of the Big Fish Grill success story is a commitment to providing fresh, great tasting dishes, unsurpassed hospitality and impeccable customer service. Big Fish Grill offers a diverse menu featuring not only hand selected seafood at its absolute freshness but also delicious steaks and pasta in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Big Fish Grill has something for everyone!
Bridgeport, WV
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent choice. Huge menu.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went here for dinner last night while staying at Dewey Beach. First of all, their menu is huge. Tons of choices so everyone should be able to find something they like. My wife and I split the Margherita Mahi and got fries for our side. The fish was terrific and I especially liked the thin cut fries. I also had the spinach salad before hand and it was big considering how inexpensive it was. My wife had the manhattan clam chowder and she said it was good also. Service was good and the price wasn't a budget buster. We definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steelrhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your first experience at Big Fish. We hope you'll visit again on your next trip to Rehoboth!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    344
    99
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went for lunch one day ordered a salad and scallop app for lunch and it was excellent. Great service. Much more than I expected from a meal in a seaside town. Probably the best meal I had in Rehoboth Beach

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richbWantagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know Big Fish provided you with the best meal you had in Rehoboth!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonkeyGirlBean
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eh, Just Ok”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I am stunned by all of the high reviews for this place. It was recommended to us by friends and I was very disappointed.

We went as a family with a 2 year old so we had an early dinner at 5:30ish. Maybe that's why, but the place looked like an early bird dinner joint when we got there. The atmosphere was fine but not what I expected for such a highly reviewed restaurant. It was VERY casual.

All of this is fine... but the food was very, very bland and mediocre. My Mahi was super bland and flavorless. My stepdad's Halibut was also equally bland and unseasoned. We needed to add salt, old bay, and salsa just to make it better. Certainly NOT a $25 piece of fish. The sweet potato mashers that came with it were very sweet. Maybe it's routine to add extra sugar to a sweet potato, but it was not what I expected. Sweet potatoes are by nature sweet. Why add sugar??

The regular mashed potatoes were okay but were actually a bit salty. The french fries were also very bland! The peanut butter pie for dessert was okay. It was VERY HUGE, which is great for sharing but it was just okay. Absolutely nothing we had there was excellent, or even very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyGirlBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at Big Fish. However, the food you mentioned are some of our most popular specials that keep our guests coming back.

Thank you,
Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oley, PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best seafood in DE!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is our absolute favorite seafood restaurant in DE! Always busy, arrive early. The food is always fresh, cooked perfectly and the service is top notch. Never had a bad meal, love the " big seafood of the day" pasta and their carmalized salmon and crab cakes are amazing. Their salads and homemade dressing are delicious and filling. We add fresh to the top and have an awesome lunch. Dinner portions are large enough that I can have lunch the next day. We have their cookbook and the big fish market next door is always a stop on our way home so we can make their recipes in pa. Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendations! We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Delaware
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent food & overly prompt service at this Rehoboth Beach restaurant. We went off-season at 4:30 & when we popped back out of the place 1 hour & 10 minutes later there was a line out the door. Excellent lobster bisque & a very fine Bloody Mary. Service a bit too fast, but overall, an excellent experience at a reasonable price.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 7continentsdone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are happy to know you had a great first time experience at Big Fish!

Thank you,
Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Big Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing