We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Always delicious, excellent service; welcomes families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Fish Grill

Big Fish Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Founded in 1997 by brothers Norman and Eric Sugrue, Delaware's Big Fish Grill has become one of the premier spots for casual dining in the region. A unique blend of original recipes, must have favorites and affordable prices have resulted in a dedicated following. Enough so to earn numerous "Best Seafood at the Beach" awards by Delaware Today magazine. The secret ingredient of the Big Fish Grill success story is a commitment to providing fresh, great tasting dishes, unsurpassed hospitality and impeccable customer service. Big Fish Grill offers a diverse menu featuring not only hand selected seafood at its absolute freshness but also delicious steaks and pasta in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Big Fish Grill has something for everyone!
Delaware
Level Contributor
389 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Always delicious, excellent service; welcomes families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Best food/service/ambiance at Delaware beaches... and fairly priced. Can be packed during summer (less so for lunch :) and no reservations. Also has attached 'take-away' fish market w/best fresh fish and some prepared specials to enjoy at home... Long-time locals go here regularly!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wildswanDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! Hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Groupe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    304
    86
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We ate here for lunch and the menu was great. Ordered the Mahi and it was fresh and cooked perfectly. The side options were good and the house potatoes were fantastic. The lobster bisque was awesome too. Great place to have a couple of cocktails and enjoy the beach life. Service was friendly and efficent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adimartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to know you enjoyed the food and service! Hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here many times and the food has always been great. The staff are pretty goo and the food normally comes out quicklly regardless of how busy it is. Be prepared for a long wait during busy weekends.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheVMAN32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not much class”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The food is generally good and the menu quite varied; large portions. However, on my last trip, I ordered a plate of oysters on the half-shell as an appetizer, and one of the oysters was bad (which I didn't realize until I'd eaten it). This is going to happen occasionally with uncooked food, and the staff was apologetic and replaced that oyster with one good one, but they charged me in full for the plate of oysters, and a restaurant with class would probably have taken the oysters off the bill. I was left with the impression that the staff and management don't care much for repeat business.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yankee57_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We as a management team strive to exceed our guests expectations and by replacing that oyster we thought that had been accomplished.

Thank you,
Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is always busy! You may have to wait a while for a seat, but trust me it's worth the wait. They have a terrific menu and a great bar! The bar will help you kill time while you wait for your table. You can eat inside or outside. Good service too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is great to know we are worth the wait! Glad you enjoyed our menu and bar, hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish Grill also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Big Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing