We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“REAL BOARDWALK PIZZA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grotto Pizza
Ranked #164 of 264 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Waitstaff
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“REAL BOARDWALK PIZZA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Pizza by the slice the whole pie any way you want it. It could be cleaner, but the pizza makes up for it and you can sit right next to the boardwalk and people watch. The pie had just enough sauce that is on top of the of the cheese, not under it like traditional chain pizza. It's worth the trip, go check it out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    12
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's good, but not like pizza in NJ or NY!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The crust is soft and the sauce is tasty, but overwhelms the cheese. If it had a little more cheese, I definitely would have liked it more. We also had the caprese salad. For $8 or $9, we got several thick tomato slices, but only 3 small slices of mozzarella. Good, but not worth the money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsRondette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waleska, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just another pizza...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Bland?..i cant tell you more.
It is not NY style, not any style really. Just bland? A swirl of sauce makes this oizza great? Really?M?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grotta love Grotto's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

That Toby Keith song, "I Love This Bar" pretty much sums up how I feel about Grotto's. We frequent Grand Slam Grotto's on Route 1 in Lewes, with its sports bar feel, many tv's for viewing games and quizzes, and free pop-corn in the games area (please keep your kids' fingers out and get it for them, yes??). I am a pizza-snob, and usually only go for paper-thin crust with the finest ingredients. Given all the crummy pizza around, it is nice to be able to get "chain" pizza that actually tastes decent. The margherita is our favorite and we usually start out with a chopped antipasto salad, followed by pizza enjoyed with a beer. The best was when this 40-something got carded by a kid - really? I couldn't wait to stop laughing so I could tell my neighbors who I spotted sitting at the bar. The food is fun and we grab a bite here often, frequently catching up with friends & neighbors at the bar.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aplace4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Grottos is still the best pizza...and I miss it so much in between visits. They should expand and build one in Virginia!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Pizza also viewed

 
 

Been to Grotto Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing