We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1776 Restaurant

1776 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
1776 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 264 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The place to be for good steak in Rehoboth. It us right beside the midway movie theater. Good wine list and cozy but a bit dated decor and ambiance.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doctipen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    36
    20
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Elegant Steak House Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We get together with our friends in Rehoboth Beach once or twice a year, and always cap the day with drinks, dinner and relaxed conversation at the 1776 Steakhouse.

1776 is located in the Midway Shopping Center and calls itself a steakhouse, but don't let that fool you into thinking it's a Longhorn or Outback knock-off. This is a white cloth restaurant with elegant service and premium steak and fish dishes, although they also do "comfort food" well.

The chef is creative, portions (and drinks) are generous, and what you order, no matter how finicky, is what you get. We get a kick out of the waiter who arrives, after serving drinks, to take our order balancing a platter festooned with fresh steak in different cuts, which he proceeds to elucidate.

We chose the 1776 Steakhouse initially because it makes everything fresh from scratch and graciously accommodates special needs orders, but we keep coming back because the food and service are reliably excellent.

1776 recently added Jazz on Thurs-Sat evenings. On our recent visit "jazz" was an okay torch singer, but we were ambivalent about the value. We liked what she sang but weren't impressed with her performance, but don't think anyone would be offended.

The 1776 Steakhouse is the perfect venue for a special occasion and we always see couples and families observing birthdays, promotions, graduations and the like.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Lunch at 1776”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stopped in at 1776 for lunch, and really enjoyed the food, the drinks, the ambience and the fun staff. Thank you for a great pit stop, 1776.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brooke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
277 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 636 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Solid Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The setting couldn't be less attractive being in a boring strip mall and next to a cinema. Somehow, management have managed to make the front of the restaurant inviting and when inside you are transformed into a beautiful and masculine steakhouse. The furniture is pretty and antique like what you would find in a Yacht Club. Even the presidential theme in the paintings adds charm to the restaurant.

The waiters are old school guys like what you would find in the Italian section of NYC. They were nice and knowledgeable without being new age sugary sweet. We had the clams to start and the sauce was excellent and the scallops were a B+. The mozzarella, tomato and mango salad was perfect. The mango touch was so nice and they put just the right amount of olive oil and balsamic vinegar on the plate.

The prime rib was simply delicious and cooked to perfection. It was so soft and very tasty. The au jus was also wonderful. The potatoes and green beans were nothing special. We finished the meal off with a NYC style cheese cake which was one of the best I have had. They burned the edges as if it were creme brulee and it was special.

This is a great, high quality restaurant. I have no reservations about recommending it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, DE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed, Outdated and Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

For our anniversary, we thought we would try 1776. As people who have visited the beach areas since the 80's and residents now, we had never been there. We had BOTH a male and female waiters - very confusing. Talk about feeling like one was under a microscope...too much attentions is as annoying as not enough. The atmosphere was so 90's...the place need a decor redo!

The salad was mediocre, the filet and strip steaks were nothing like the quality we purchase at Hickmans Meats. We enjoyed a glass of wine and a dessert. Nothing special.

What was SPECIAL was the tab - $172. No more 1776 for this foodie. I will grill a couple of HIckmans Prime tenderloins and call it done, saving $100 in the process.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whisker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1776 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 1776 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing