We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Elegant and worth the money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moon Rehoboth

Blue Moon Rehoboth
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Moon Rehoboth is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1st Street
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elegant and worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Ask for a table in the porch vs. the main dining room - nicer views and quieter. Once you are happily settled, then you can enjoy what is always one of the best dining experiences in Rehoboth. The drinks menu is long and fun - key lime martini was delicious, as was the mango mojito. My beau and I share so we started with a truly fantastic charred octopus, served with black garlic, kimchee, peanuts, bits of sausage and cilantro. We didn't leave cilantro leaf. The foie gras is an indulgence but it's a large portion, served on toasted brioche with a honey glaze. We then shared the Maine lobster spaghetti - squid ink cappellini pasta w/chunks of lobster, fresh English peas w/tarragon cream sauce. Perfect for sharing since it's so rich. Although we didn't have room for dessert, our favorite is the Blue Moon Bombe (we'll return later this week for that stupendous and huge treat). We love the Moon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belladoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    79
    42
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Touching All the Bases”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Casual seaside location does not compromise the skillful cooking and excellent service. This place would rate high in any urban setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Visit5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were about to skip Blue Moon as the price was a touch on the high side and we had already been eating out all week...but we were sure glad we didn't.

Virtually everything about Blue Moon was first rate. For appetizers we ordered the Crispy Squid and also the Fried Green Tomatoes. Both were good but if you're choosing between the two definitely opt for the Green Tomatoes.

For entrees we had the Miso Glazed Salmon and the Maine Lobster Spaghetti. Both were fantastic.

Drinks also very good and very potent.

Only critique I have is that the price of the wines on their website were no where close to the actual prices on the wine list. On the web they showed several bottles in the $30's and even some in the high $20's, but it looked like the actual wine list had only one bottle under $40. Again though, this was the only small critique.

Bonus is the lively entertainment...although the music is in the bar only where our kids were not allowed to enter.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkG_Oakton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Check your Reservations Carefully”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife made reservations for my 60th birthday party well in advance of the day. Our party of 8 showed up on time only to find that the hostess she spoke to had made them for the following week. The hostess on duty at the time made no attempt to help us nor showed any interest in caring. Her behavior was rude and not what one would expect when a mistake has been made. Her attitude was "well we're full so you'll have to go elsewhere." We did receive a phone call 4 days later but by then the damage was done. Her attitude cost the restaurant a very large tab and any future reservations by 8 foodies that frequent the area.
So, while reservations are accepted it does not mean they will be honored.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandBetweenMyToes60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a letdown!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've been curious about this place for years, and second-to-last day of vaca, we decided to try it. Got there right at opening on Thurs. and they said they could squeeze us in without a reservation. The food was just OK: strawberry salad had older, tough gritty spinach and steak was so-so. But the real blow came when we were told midway through the appetizer that they were going to have to rush us through and bring the entrees before we finished the apps. So we paid big bucks only to be rushed through a mediocre, very expensive dinner. We will not be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frenchtraveler049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Rehoboth also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Blue Moon Rehoboth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing