We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good, just off the boardwalk”
Review of Go Fish

Go Fish
Ranked #27 of 277 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Mass.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good, just off the boardwalk”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Go Fish is in a prime location in Rehboth, on the main street in the first ocean block. I was expecting a tourist trap with lousy food, but instead found a decent casual eatery with respectable food. Would definately go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GardenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    130
    46
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
270 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“What the h* took me so long?”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

After years of seeing the Go Fish signs in the Rehoboth Beach area, I FINALLY paid the place a visit. I love my fish and chips, and I'm pretty particular about it. Very few places do it right (ack, there are so many joints that just throw a plan of unidentifable frozen fish in the oil). This place is good, though. Really good. Maybe not quite the BEST I've ever had, but darned close to it.

I don't know what took me so long, but I promise to be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Enough”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you're longing for some traditional British style fish and chips, this place will fill the bill. We just got back from the UK about a month ago and had some pretty good fish and chips over there, so when we saw this place, we thought we'd see how it compared. On the whole, it's not bad. The portions were generous and the fish was flaky and very tasty. The only downside was that the fish batter, while crunchy and light, was a bit on the oily side. We didn't sample any of the other traditional british dishes they had. Perhaps next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RTB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely should be on your casual seafood list”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Oddly, given its location you would think this would be a hack job version of this classic dish, fish and chips. Fear not, the owner (?) runs around with an authentic UK vibe and accent keeping it all in line, both on the hospitality/ service end and the food/execution end; even when busy. Nicely done. Though for real authenticity, the chips should be served up in newpaper.... well maybe not.

For those who think that real fish and chips must have the chic thin batter, you’re partly right. The other part says you’re wrong; when well done, as it is here, a heavy batter is really great. Not really heavy after all, and flakes away easily if you don't want it all..and of course a nice crisp to it. And it protects the delicate fish from excess heat in the cooking process. All well executed and served up hot, which is essential. Spuds are nicely done…and real.

The atmosphere and décor is sort of 70’s head joint vibe…by accident or intentionally it doesn’t matter. But that’s the scene; even so it sort of could use a tweak/face lift or something to give the funky-but-really-clean-too, look. Nothing terrible mind you (oh that's a Brit phrase isn't it..?) but sort of messy

One shortcoming on the food was a take-out of clam strips (I believe). They were likely prefrozen and heavily breaded and sans flavor. [Generally, take out of fried food is a bad idea. Pizza too. I’ll never understand that. Would you accept lukewarm soggy pizza or fried food served to your table? ...but we were desperate, on the beach, hungry..]

There is a desert that you shouldn’t miss. I don’t like deserts in general – usually way overrated and too big and nasty. Give a 25% obesity rate in this country…we should all be skipping this. I'd just rather eat more good food to max out the calories. But, our waiter was right on with their house specialty. He mentioned a date-based shortbread; dates cannot be mentioned on the menu for fear of scaring people- and we were sold. Its quite amazing and highly recommended… even if you fear dates.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real Fish and Chips”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I grew up on authentic Scotch Fish and Chips. Go Fish is the only restaurant I have ever eaten at that comes close to replicating them. If you lime them crispy, ask for them well done. My son had the shepherd's pie, and devoured it! And their prices are reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Fish also viewed

 

Been to Go Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing