We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place with friendly service”
Review of Planet X Cafe - CLOSED

Planet X Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting place with friendly service”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I enjoyed the food, loved sitting on the outside deck, the service was slow as there was one person waiting on so many tables. the price is average for the amount of food you get and the taste is very good. I will return and you can't go wrong with the eggplant or the curry shrimp. They attend to you fast and seat you quickly as possible. It can get crouded, so be poatient, and try one of their excotic drinks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamknl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    20
    11
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing Return Experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

On our last evening in Rehoboth Beach, we decided to return to Planet X, which we had enjoyed in previous years. The place still had its charmingly quirky, over-the-top decoration, and we sat on the delightful, airy front porch. The food was still very good and creatively prepared, particularly the scallop appetizer (one of the best I ever have tasted), my wife's tofu sate and my red curry with shrimp; the only complaint was that the ribeye one of our party tried was just average. What should have been a delightful experience was marred, however, by weak service, which appeared to be largely the result of poor organization (having one waiter assigned to too many tables). Given the quality of the food and the ambitious prices they charge, one should expect a better meal than we had.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snidudad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food but waiter in too much of a hurry.”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We dined here to celebrate a friend's 50th birthday. The menu and choices were great and there was something to appeal to most tastes. When the starters arrived they were well presented,tasty and hot. Unfortunately the waier started to clear these before we had all finished and then proceeded to start serving the mains while some starters were still being finished. This was apparently the chefs fault. We suggested that waiting staff and kitchen needed to communicate! The food was great and complaints seem to have been taken on board.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBearsAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pretty good. A little too salty.”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I had red snapper on a bed of barley and other grains. My wife had the crab cakes. Both were pretty good although overly salted. The service was just fine but not out of the ordinary. We would try it again. They need to cut down on the salt a bit though.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chjerseyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“wonderful ambience and great food”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I love the decor of this restaurant run out of an old house. Very laid back and exotic. The food was excellent, the food combines interesting flavors...try the goat cheese and eggplant appetizer. Ate their twice during a 5 day stay it was so good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MadBedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet X Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing