We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went downhill a bit..”

Jake's Seafood House
Ranked #50 of 277 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Jake's Seafood is celebrating 25 years of quality freshness and family tradition in Rehoboth Beach! Enjoy our award-winning Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes and famous Seafood Bisque, or try one of our new menu items including Lobster Mac 'N Cheese, Fish Tacos, and Seared Scallops. We are family-friendly, serving lunch, dinner, and carry-out. We also offer a full selection of beer, wine, and cocktails. Our original location is one block off the beach in downtown Rehoboth, and our second location is on Route One (Coastal Highway) in Rehoboth.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Went downhill a bit..”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This has always been my 'go to' spot at Rehoboth. Typically we are greeted with a very friendly staff, endless bread and quick refills, good food..just a nice atmosphere.

This last visit was different; dont know if it was the waitress or just the place. Little things make a big difference! We asked for bread b/c noticed we hadn't gotten any; the waitress said it is only available upon request now, so she did bring us some...just one roll each. Not to sound like a pig, but if I'm going out I dont want to ask and would like more than one piece.

The waitress was really young, and not very attentive, which really hurts a place. She was nice but just not the type of great staff that really want the customer to have a nice time. She was young and gave off the vibe of not wanting to be there. I go out for the experience, not just the food. Everything was brought out too quick and rushed out the door.

The food wasn't bad, but nothing special this time. New managment? A bad day? not sure, but this time Id just give it an 'eh' not bad by any means, but not good....service needs improved!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakesSeafood, Owner at Jake's Seafood House, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Erin, I'm very sorry to hear about your experience! We always want our guests to feel welcomed and I appreciate you bringing this customer service issue to my attention. We certainly wouldn't want to lose a loyal customer and we hope you'll give us another try next time you're in Rehoboth so that you can get the service you remember!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    154
    81
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“great crab cakes”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

we arrived at a busy time, as a party of 10, but did not wait too long for a table, maybe 20 min. They accommodated our group well, including 2 babies & a toddler. We all ordered crab cakes and we're not disappointed! was delicious, and the service was great too.

Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakesSeafood, Owner at Jake's Seafood House, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Heather, we're so happy to hear that! We love hearing our customers' experiences and we're glad we were able to accommodate you all. We would love to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Not what we expected based on other reviews”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped last night with the family. Charging $18.99 for Shrimp Alfredo and serving water in Pizza Hut-style plastic cups. Not upscale. Sat in a corner facing a plain yellow wall looking at an open PVC pipe. Server was disinterested in her job so we tipped accordingly.

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakesSeafood, Owner at Jake's Seafood House, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Mark, I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. We pride ourselves on delicious food and welcoming customer service and I'm so sorry to hear that we weren't up to our usual standards. I appreciate your feedback and hope you'll give us another try sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Eastern Shore Food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Came here in May during a girl's weekend. Really good margaritas and wine, seafood and a great staff. Came back twice because it was so good! We loved the salad dressing so much, we asked to buy some to take home with us - and they obliged even though it wasn't something they usually do.

Try Rose's Rockfish or the chilled seafood plate. YUMMY!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMB2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakesSeafood, Manager at Jake's Seafood House, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We're so pleased to hear about your experience! We try to accommodate our guests as best as we can and I'm so happy we were able to give you some dressing to go. We hope you'll all come in again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best seafood we had in Rehobeth!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We ate here for a lunch after being disappointed with the seafood the previous night at a different dinner, and had a great experience! The staff was friendly and the food was both fresh and well prepared. The salad my boyfriend ordered had a wonderful house dressing and he was very happy with his seared scallops, which were thoughtfully prepared with good accompaniments. My oyster po boy had fresh bread and freshly prepared, juicy oysters, as well as a delicious and well seasoned sauce. The service was prompt but we didn't feel rushed, and we left wishing we had eaten dinner the previous night there instead!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyduck517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakesSeafood, Owner at Jake's Seafood House, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing this with us! We're very happy to hear that we could make up for your earlier experience and show you the best Rehoboth has to offer. We hope you'll come in and see us next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Seafood House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Jake's Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing