We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but not outstanding”

Jake's Seafood House
Ranked #44 of 281 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Jake's Seafood is celebrating 25 years of quality freshness and family tradition in Rehoboth Beach! Enjoy our award-winning Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes and famous Seafood Bisque, or try one of our new menu items including Lobster Mac 'N Cheese, Fish Tacos, and Seared Scallops. We are family-friendly, serving lunch, dinner, and carry-out. We also offer a full selection of beer, wine, and cocktails. Our original location is one block off the beach in downtown Rehoboth, and our second location is on Route One (Coastal Highway) in Rehoboth.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good, but not outstanding”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a very good dinner at Jake's, but it wasn't particularly memorable or outstanding. The seafood bisque is excellent, and shouldn't be passed up. I had an entree of Mid-Atlantic scallops, which were served on a bed of sauteed spinach, with a side of mashed red potatoes with a tasty sauce. All well-prepared, but not out of the ordinary. Portions were adequate, but nothing more.

Rehoboth Beach is a town in which at least some of the restaurants produce dishes that cause you to exclaim, "Wow, this is fantastic!" With that kind of competition, you have to do better than, "This meal is pretty good," especially when you're charging top dollar for the meal (cup of bisque, scallops, one beer, $37 before tip).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jGromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    156
    85
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inattentive Waitress - October 5, 2013”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The service in the bar area is usually excellent and fast. However, on this date @ 5:00 pm, the waitress was the worst. Took our order and then disappeared. Never came back and never brought the bread we asked for before the meal. She was too busy working the bar and doing other things. Hardly anyone was in there, so it wasn't like she had a lot of customers. Seemed very distracted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IBF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New Menu at 25 Years”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Its been a few trips to Rehoboth Beach since we visited Jake's. It was good to be back to a family tradition to go there with my partner and the in-laws. Since our last visit they have made a few changes to the menu, and from our experience they are for the better. The dinners we all had were top notch, even better then previous visits. As we said to each other a few times, "They were really on"
Service is always great and this night was no exception at all. Drinks where fresh and full and dessert, wonderful.
The only thing we'd like to see them bring back is the add on option of crab imperial to a dinner dish. they don't seem to offer that anymore.
Its a great location if you're staying in town, its an easy walk from any of the downtown restaurants and only one block from the beach.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Service Great Food”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

During a recent weekend trip to Rehoboth, had lunch at Jake's with extended family. Food was very good. Had the seafood bisque....do not leave this restaurant without a cup or bowl of that!! Was excellent! Also had the "catch of the day" sandwich which happened to be blackened rockfish....again...excellent. Would definitely eat there again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wvpe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good seafood!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went for dinner at Jake's Seafood House with another couple on a recent visit to the beach. We all had great dinners. I had the crab cake, and was really pleased because being from Maryland, I am many times disappointed (even at home). The waitress said that they were good, and she was right. The portions were not large, but filling enough. The service was very good, and friendly. We would go back again.

Take lots of change for the parking meters if you are driving. You don't get much time for a quarter. We had to get extra change, and were told at the front desk to go the bar. We were a little put off by the bartender. He was talking to friends ignoring us while we stood there and waited. I know that we just wanted change, but we could have wanted to order a drink.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachy722Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Seafood House also viewed

 

Been to Jake's Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing