We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A SIMPLE "WOW!" WILL DO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's Steak Shop

Pete's Steak Shop
Ranked #79 of 264 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A SIMPLE "WOW!" WILL DO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

You might miss this place if you're traveling south on Coastal Highway on your way to Ocean City or Rehoboth, but if you're passing the Sea Shell Shop just take a peek behind it and to the right and you'll see Pete's. This place is a winner on all counts. They make the absolute best Cheese Steak Subs outside of Philly and you can have them as you choose: with or without marinara sauce, but stuffed full with rib-eye steak, mushrooms and onions, then covered with your choice of american or provolone cheese and touched off with a very healthy helping of crispy fries. The bread feels and tastes homemade, crusty but soft and fresh and almost a foot long. While there I would also recommend the homemade Cream Of Crab soup and the homemade rice pudding. They also make a wide array of pizza's, gyros, subs, other sides and deserts. All are fresh and homemade. The atmosphere is bright and roomy, with hugh booths that would comfortably sit a family of 6. It's also very clean and the staff is helpful and friendly. You will absolutely love it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hqdepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rehoboth beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best cheese steak outside Philly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The cheese steak was great. Rolls are perfect. Only complaint would be the woman taking my order was interrupted answsering the phone alot. Not good customer service.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Area
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Easy to dismiss when driving down Coastal Hwy...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Could be a case study of a poor name for a restaurant - for as we driving in for our stay in Rehoboth I did see the sign for it and thought it was a butcher shop. It was only after seeing the reviews here on Tripadvisor and heading out for dinner there, I realized I had been wrong, and that maybe a problem for this great sub/pizza shop. We tried the cheesesteak (as wonderful as folks already have said), and the Old-Style Italian sub (not quite as full flavored as the cheese steak sub). The fries were nicely done. When we get back to Rehoboth again, we will be back for the cheesesteak subs . But word of mouth (no pun intended) and reviews here on Tripadvisor will help a strong quality menu and restaurant succeed - not the name.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChipNovaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My new Go-To for Cheesesteaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

While it may not have the best exposure, be sure to check this place out. Nestled opposite the Food Lion in that shopping center, Pete's has fair pricing and quick service. I have yet to go in and actually sit down to order a few other items, but I can't complain about the cheesesteaks...they are legit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank themotivator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
201 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great for Takeout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This new place is our favorite for take-out. The wraps are good as are the Philly Cheesteaks. Service is quick and the price is right. What a nice addition to the neighborhood!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingbeachbum00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's Steak Shop also viewed

 

Been to Pete's Steak Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing