We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty!”
Review of Old Bay Steakhouse - CLOSED

Old Bay Steakhouse
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nasty!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a very sad story of a long time restaurant that is now the worst place at the beach. The food is gross the staff is rude and I saw wait staff eating off plates before they take it to the table. Do not eat here!! Someone should call the health department.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billnheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    10
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
caln township, pa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fair to midland”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On being seated we were informed that the restaurant will be changing it's name and theme. That never bodes well when preparing to look at a menu. The food was good but not spectacular. Portions were rather small for the price. My crab cake diner consisted of two approx. 2 oz. cakes with a small baked potato. My wife's "tilapia" was really catfish. I am not sure if it was a cooks error but my wife is not a fan of catfish. My wife was in the mood for a craft beer that was light and not so heavy, the bartender suggested "Miller lite" as the lightest. That in itself seemed to culminate an underwhelming meal.
One positive, our service was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vlapinski19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Eh...”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I ate here back in November with my boyfriend and some friends of ours. The atmosphere is ok. It's a typical steak house, nothing too special. Our server didn't seem to know exactly what he was doing at first, but I thought maybe he was new? He seemed pretty nervous. Throughout the night, we only saw him maybe once, except to take our orders and to drop off the check and bring back our cards. The service could be alot better.

We all ordered, and it did take a while to get it. I think we overpaid for what we got. I ordered one of the specials, a pork shank, I think it was. Half of it was delicious. I say half because the first half was very, very good. The second half, however, had a funny taste to it and I could not finish. I'm not sure if it was spoiled or what happened to it, but it was disgusting. The mashed potatoes I got were very good, though. Everyone else said their food was "Okay."

With the poor service, possibly rotten food, and high prices, I will not go back for dinner. It's more of a casual drinks place than a restaurant, even though that's what it markets itself as. Don't waste your time or money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“BEWARE!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I are on a low calorie diet and last Saturday we decided to splurge and have dinner out, we really wanted a steak and decided to try Old Bay. It used to the Roadhouse, we ordered food and really liked the bread. This is where the night went wrong, you can see the kitchen from the dinning room and the guys getting the food out to the diners, I clearly saw eating off of the plates, when I saw one eat broccoli I was done, I spoke to the mgr, and he tried to tell me that they were just putting on garnishes, I told him to look at the gentleman and you could clearly see him chewing. We ended up going to Bethany Blues for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“needs consistancy”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Few times in there it was really good, few time just ok. Little over priced and the decor on the outside isn't appealing

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank A40zange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bay Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing