We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tortilla Soup is amazing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Modern Mixture

Modern Mixture
Reserve with OpenTable
Modern Mixture is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 269 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Globally Inspired Mexican Cuisine
maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tortilla Soup is amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Was at the beach this weekend and had seen the reviews - so thought we would try Modern Mixture....the decor is fine - small place - nothing fancy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had the tortilla soup and it is AMAZING - so so good. The falafel is great. We had one of the burritos and a cuban sandwich - all very tasty. Highly recommend it. We didn't get a salad but will go back for one soon - they are chopped and look good. Go go go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank woodstockmdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    34
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Eclectic, economical and excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Located a block from the beach, Modern Mixture adds a much needed dimension to the Rehoboth Beach restaurant scene. It offers unique versions of Mediterranean cuisine and healthy food at a fair price but maintaining the excellence and standards of some of the finer, more expensive restaurants. My wife and I shared the bountiful guacamole appetizer and were wowed by the flavor richness with a touch of heat on the tongue. The quinoa-falafel Greek salad was the show stopper for me - finely chopped, full of flavor with just the right amount of black olives, feta, quinoa, lettuce, radish, carrot, falafel and dressing. I would recommend the place for lunch - none better in town. But dinner would be interesting, too, with the imaginative drink menu they offer. As a former bartender, the drinks sure caught my eye and made me think what they would taste like. I left full and happy. The staff was friendly and attentive. Modern Mixture has imagination and is a welcome addition to town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bearlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best dang place to eat in Rehoboth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our food was really fresh and cooked perfectly. The prices are awesome. All of the employees were so friendly. Totally going back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place does not look like much, but the food is excellent & the waiters were very pleasant. I loved the salad with quinoa and falafel on the side (who would think to have to have falafel in a salad??-- wonderful!). This restaurant is delicious & feels very healthy. Would highly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jane_springfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous tasty salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Had the Mediterranean salad yesterday for lunch absolutely fantastic, tasty, fresh with the best falafel I've ever had. Super friendly people. Check out this salad!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanineLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Mixture also viewed

 

Been to Modern Mixture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing