We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Dining Experience... ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of a(MUSE.)

a(MUSE.)
Reserve with OpenTable
a(MUSE.) is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 271 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $111
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 1st & 2nd
Lancaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Dining Experience... ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The cuisine was exquisite! Chef Hari is creative, knows his craft very well. It's a fantastic atmosphere with polite and quality staff, but keep in mind it's fine dining... which has a price tag. Do yourself and your guest a favor, have the eleven course tasting tour, and don't let the price scare you away. The dining experience is exceptional, and like no other I have ever encountered. If possible, Kate is a superb server with a great knowledge base of foods, spirits, and great beer. She helped make our evening one of a kind. This will be a regular visit of mine upon each trip to Rehoboth Beach, DE.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank davidmagbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    28
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to have such a wonderful meal in Rehoboth. Following up on a recommendation by our hotel, The Bellmoor, we walked in and were seated outside because we did not have reservation and it was the perfect seat. The grapefruit-tequila cocktail was tart and crisp and the gin-cucumber concoction had a smooth bite. To sample as much as possible, we had 4 appetizer sized plates and dessert, and each dish was so fresh - from the ingredients, to the recipe to the presentation - we thoroughly enjoyed each dish from beginning to end. Our server was also excellent who told us the menu changes completely every 3-4 days! Highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cordelia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a(mazing)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Having traveled extensively, I must say that a(muse) took me by surprise. Never did I anticipate the level of sophistication and excitement in Rehoboth that this dining experience presented. Our party of 6 dined for three hours. The plates are inspirational, the drinks are divine. Lively conversation flitted around the table like a hummingbird. What an adventure! Hats off to Chef Hari--he personifies art. If you approach progressive dining with fear and trepidation, please visit the bar and get hooked! I want to dine there again and again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Superlative dining at the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have had the pleasure of dining at a(MUSE.) twice since it opened and have had an oustanding experience both times. I plan to return next week with family members for a special occasion and I can't wait! a(MUSE.) is hands down Rehoboth's most progressive, inventive, and exciting restaurant experience. Chef Hari is a true artist and this shows both in the taste and the presentation of the dishes that come out of his kitchen. Please see some of the photos that I have added as proof of his artistry, and please trust me about the taste - if you know and enjoy fine dining you will not be disappointed and you might even learn something new.

This restaurant features a wide variety of small plates that range in price from $6 to $15 as of the time of this review, as well as entree sized portions for $24-$28. Desserts are $7 and the restaurant offers a six course tasting for $77 and an eleven course "tour" for $111. When you consider the excellent quality of the (largely local) ingredients that are being used and the huge amount of time that is invested in these dishes (45 minutes for a sous vide poached egg, an astonishing 72 hours for the sous vide Bison steak) this restaurant represents a very good value for the money. Rehoboth restaurants routinely price their entrees in the $22-$32 range and their appetizers in the $7-$12 range so the pricing at (a)Muse is right in line with the local fine dining market.

a(MUSE.) is the perfect place to go with adventurous friends that like to share and sample. During our last visit we tried the house made seasonal vegetable pickles, the potted chicken with foie gras, and the "Cool Hand Fluke" fluke crudo with beets, potato, and foraged greens to start. Round two consisted of the trotter terrine with marrow bones, day boat scallops with corn, guanciale, and cilantro - with house cured ham, and a wonderful soft shell crab with cucumber, garlic, and dill. We decided to go a bit heavier and try the 72 hour bison, the Virginia wreck fish, and the grilled tuna (all entree sized) for round three. The total for our food was $150 for three people which we considered to be a good deal.

(a)Muse features a bustling bar with local celebrity David serving up some exciting and well thougt out cocktails. I particularly enjoyed the cucumber martini. David's version has just the right amount of sweetness to make this drink interesting and to allow the cucumber flavor to come out properly.

I would highly recommend this restaurant for:
-gourmets, epicures, and those who wish to try new things and expand their palates
-your jaded foodie visitors from DC, New York, and Philly
-those who have time to spend enjoying a meal. This is not a quick in-and-out experience.

I would not recommend this restaurant for:
-Gourmands. If you're looking for quantity over quality there are better places in town for you to enjoy your two jumbo lump crab cakes with two sides, side salad, and brownie dessert.
-Picky, simplistic eaters. If your idea of a really good meal is Applebees, TGI Friday's, or Hooters....and you aren't going into this experience with an open mind an a willingness to try new things.....you're going to be very disappointed
- Ill behaved children. You bad parents know who you are.

If you're up for a culinary adventure, definitely give a(MUSE.) a try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Palate7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is by far the best restaurant I have been to in many years. It may not be for everyone because it is small plates and lots of modernist cuisine, but for true food lovers it's paradise. Incredible flavors, original ideas - the owner/chef Hari has more imagination in his little finger than most chefs have in all their fingers and toes. And, David the bartender is the best on the East coast. If you want a truly exceptional dining experience, go to a(muse.). Probably not a good choice for children or those who want plates full of food. You can see the menu and pictures of his food online. Rehoboth Beach has a lot of great restaurants, but this one has moved to the top of list.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bigcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a(MUSE.) also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to a(MUSE.)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing