We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, and exceptional for the $”
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastle Motel
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reviewed September 15, 2007

i've fallen out of the habit of writing TripAdvisor reviews, but had such a good experience here i felt i should write about it. i stayed here (for the first time) the last week before Labor Day, not really knowing what to expect. Really a great surprise. Room was spotless, good size, quiet, well-maintained; furniture (cheap beach-type stuff) was all in fine condition; bathroom was in great shape (all modern, no aging tile) and water pressure was great; in room a/c was very effective. Bed was firm and perfect -- not what i expected from an independent motel. motel location is fantastic -- centrally located right off rehoboth ave but also very quiet. common spaces of the hotel (eg elevator and landings) are modest and a little dated ... but not a concern to me (i also didn't turn on tv once, so can't vouch for its quality). given room rates in rehoboth in late aug, i would have been entirely satisfied with this room for $150-200, but the room was barely $100 (paid extra for a king room -- the basic double room was going for $90). This meant that this convenient, independent, kind of charming (in a beach-type way) motel cost significantly less than the grim chain motels out on Route 1 by the outlet malls -- and had the benefit of being within walking distance of beach and nightspots (and also offering free parking downtown) on top of that. i couldn't have been happier. when i drove by the chains on Rte 1 on my way out of town, all i could think is how much better my rehoboth visit was since i stayed right down in the charming, pedestrian-friendly part of town all the time, and once i arrived at the hotel, i didn't have to drive (or find rehoboth parking) once. Unless you're committed to paying $250 for some overdecorated bed and breakfast, or for some place with a waterfront terrace (which doesn't offer the privacy that sandcastle does), I strongly recommend you consider staying here if rooms are available. even if the exterior looks a little soviet from the 2nd St side (so it's a beach motel....), it's a great little property, and exceptional for the $ compared with other Rehoboth lodging. i'll be going back.

One note for glbt visitors: i'm gay, was staying in a king-bed room with a buddy, and wasn't sure if the mgmt and especially the str8 guests here would be gay-friendly, since from the website it looked like a fairly standard old-style family motel. but that turned out to be a complete non-issue -- mgmt was friendly, and the other guests seemed perfectly comfortable (which i guess they have to be to come to rehoboth). moreover, sandcastle was conveniently located at the end of baltimore ave and convenient to the restaurants and bars there.

Stayed: August 2007
7  Thank travelguydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Sandcastle Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 153 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2007

This motel was more than we expected. It's location is fantastic -- right on Rehoboth Ave - an easy walk to shops and restaurants. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. We had a sink and a refrigerator as well as a little balcony. The hotel staff were very friendly. The motel has its own little parking garage so we could park right on sight with no extra fee. We'd go back in a minute!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Great place to stay at a bargain price. Older motel but clean Employees all very nice and helpful. The hotel is close to boards, beach and restaurants. Great location. Kids enjoyed the indoor pool too!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HanoverPABeachrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

The Sandcastle Motel in Rehoboth Beach, DE is a great bargain motel. It's safe, clean, and extremely close to the beach. I was looking for a cheap place to stay on a short vacation and was shocked to see that the beachfront hotels were so expensive. This hotel is no frills - the halls and elevator are not super classy and the TV is about 20 years old. Though the room was basic, it was very clean and the free parking is really a plus. The pool was also clean and not super crowded. Though a few small kids were running around in the halls in the morning, the hotel is mostly quiet. Definitely a good deal if you are looking for a cheap, clean stay but no frills.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amandier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

If you are looking for a hotel that is close to the beach, restaurants and is affordable, then this is the place to stay.
The rooms are not fancy but has everything you would need for a beach stay.
The bed was flimsy and uncomfortable so I recommend at least bringing your pillow.
The rooms have balconies. Ask for a room that faces the ocean for the best views.
FREE parking is available. There is an ice machine inside the parking garage as well.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amy123170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2007

Good price for the excellent location right by the beach, shops, and restaurants, but still quiet. Motel was flexible when we were running a day behind on our trip, this was before Memorial Day weekend when it was less crowded though. Our king size bed came with an extra bed in the room (which was nice to put our luggage, etc). Maid service was average and there a few ants (but nothing major). No safe in room.

Definitely check out Claws next door for a great happy hour (both drinks and food...$5 for Alaskan Crab legs) and the Frogg Pond on 1st street for the best wings.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank doanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

The Sandcastle was a decent place to stay in Rehoboth. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to the beach/boardwalk and located close to everything, right in the downtown area. You get to park for free for your whole stay, which beats paying the meter .75 cents an hour every three hours. The pool (located on the 2nd floor) was nice, but could have used a little sprucing up. I did get a ton of use out of it though since the water at the beach was a little chilly for my liking. The sun deck was incredible for lounging and people-watching (for those of you out there who like to do that sort of thing), but closed at 10pm, the same time as the pool. The rooms were okay, two double beds, fridge, nice bathroom, a little kitchenette type of area and a teeny tiny little personal balcony area with 2 plastic chairs. The TV was ancient, but had sufficient cable, there was no alarm clock in the room, no way to access the internet (wi-fi or otherwise because the phone was a hard-wired desk phone), and housekeeping always came at goofy times. I did manage to get a wireless signal out on the balcony with my laptop for those of you interested in wi-fi access, and that;s only if you don't mind using an unsecured network. Otherwise, there's an internet cafe right up the street about a block or so away.

All in all, our stay was relaxing here and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank beachbunny98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
340 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Address: 123 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2283
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: $101 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing