We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough”
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastle Motel
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Enough”
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We needed an inexpensive hotel to host a Girl Scout weekend and this pace worked out just fine. It was hard to get a reservation anywhere for a reasonable price or 1 night stay since it was Greyhound Weekend. The rooms were a decent size and clean. The price was so good at the Sandcastle that we were able to dine at the Cultured Pearl.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewesbeachfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    54
    38
    17
    17
See reviews for
52
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

My wife and 2 young children (2 yrs. and 7 mos.) stayed for 3 nights. We found the rooms at the Sandcastle to be acceptable - ALMOST what you might expect from your average chain hotel. Though we had a good stay, the place is a bit outdated, a bit dingy, and very basic. The price (around 2/3 of what other hotels in similar location were charging) is the primary reason we may decide to return.

THE GOOD:
-The location is great - on Rehoboth Ave. and near the nightlife (and alternative nightlife) on Baltimore St. Only two blocks from the beach (It was a long walk with two little kids and a cooler, though!).
-The desk staff was very friendly, and happy to assist when needed.
-The rooms were clean upon arrival - looked exactly as pictured on the hotel website.
-Everything was walking distance - we parked the car and didn't use it. (the info in some reviews saying that SUV's don't fit inthe garage is false. We were parked next to a Chevy Suburban, and saw Ford Explorers, Jeep Grand Cherokees, and Nissan Armadas, among others in garage - see my pictures)
-Street noise did not bleed into the room. Despite loud dance music being played at the man-friendly Aqua Grill across the street, the sound did not come into the room.
-Wi-Fi and Cable TV worked fine.

THE BAD:
-The housekeeping service did not vacuum during our visit. Everything else was ok - beds were made, towels replaced, trash emptied - but sand was constantly on the floor after day one.
-The hotel is older and has corridors open to the elements, giving the place a kind of run-down feeling. Your most basic chain hotel almost certainly has newer paint/carpet/furniture/linens. The parking garage houses a lot of garbage and feels a bit sketchy.
-The beds are made with a plastic mattress cover. They made the beds extremely loud and uncomfortable. We took them off after the first night and the beds were rendered fine.
-The pool, while clean, was pretty small - not really suitable for my 2 yr. old.
-The lobby coffee is on a burner all day and night and undrinkable - should be considered a hazard, not an amenity.

THE LOWDOWN:
If you are not looking for any luxury, the Sandcastle will likely suit you. It is clean and convenient. If you are looking for more than basic, you may want to try someplace more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluestruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We found this motel to be great for what we needed. It is located 2 blocks from the boardwalk, clean and has a very friendly staff. While it may be a little outdated, our family just wanted a place to sleep because we spent the majority of our time at the boardwalk or beach. The Sandcastle Motel was perfect for what we wanted... it is cheap, clean and has a great location!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mprez00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

This Motel is in a great location! right on Rehoboth avenue... steos away from the restaurants and shops and only 3 blocks from the beach. The motel is definitely for the traveler on a budget who is not looking for a fancy, modern place to stay. This motel is definitely outdated... but who goes to the beach to stay in the room? My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights in July. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The front desk staff were very frendly and helpful. There is also an indoor pool and sun deck here (but we didn't take advantage of either). The free parking was also a plus. Some negatives are that you have to pay 1$ for ice and and that the hotel is right next to the fire station (the horribly loud siren startled us a few times). Overall, the Sandcastle Motel is a nice, clean place to stay with freindly staff, in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newtrackduq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Close to the beach is the only thing going for this place. We left our final day at 5am because my husband and I were up all night because the beds were the worst in the world and the air conditioner was sooo loud we didn't get any sleep. The plastic on the mattresses made noise everytime you moved, gross. You know it is bad when you walk down the hallway and your 8 year old is making comments about how old and dated it is.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelawareBeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Rising Sun, Md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2009

This is ok for price/location. I would have to say that if you are pretty desperate for a 1 to 2 night stay, then this is fine. If you are looking for a comfortable/somewhat accommodating place to stay for a week or even almost a week, then keep looking. The beds are the worst in the world. Its like laying on a brick, every morning my wife and I would wake up with neck and shoulder pain, and this is even after they just updated all of their bedding. The kids even complained that they tossed and turned. While taking a shower, the water would all of a sudden change to burning hot or freezing cold, whatever it felt like, not very pleasant. The parking is Very tight and short. If you have anything bigger than a midsized Suv, then your not parking here. We have also never been to a motel/hotel that required you to pay for ice. There are only 2 ice machines in the whole place and they are both on the parking floors, not the floors that you actually stay on. Like I said, 1 to 2 nights may be ok, but any longer and it starts getting very uncomfortable. We will be looking elsewhere for next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deebo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

As others have said, this place is dated and pretty econo looking but what do you expect at this price when you are only 2 blocks from the beach. We spent $140 a night! You can't beat that price! The staff at the motel is very nice and accomodating and the room was clean and the sheets were clean. They let us leave our car in the lot and also let us use the pool shower and changing room and even gave us clean towels after we'd already checked out. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Outdated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sediv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Property: Sandcastle Motel
Address: 123 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2283
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing