We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“total disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandcastle Motel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“total disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed 5 nights at the Sandcastle motel. Having traveled many years to near beach locations, in many cities and states, this was one of the worst. The carpet in our room was filthy, no microwave, no coffee machine, dark creepy hallways and stairwells, no refill on soap shampoo, etc.Daily cleaning of the room was making the beds and providing clean towels. I myself cleaned the fingerprints off a picture that was hanging in our room. Worst of all was the lack of security. Anyone could walk off the streets and enter the hallways ( however if we could see them would be questionable).I took great care to secure my my cosmetics and medications however upon returning home and unpacking, I discovered that a full prescription of an anti anxiety medication was missing. I did notify the motel and was told they would let the supervision know. The positive was definitely the location and the staff where helpful and polite. This hotel was was not worth the money we paid by any means.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    52
    34
    16
    16
See reviews for
48
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

First off, the pros to this motel are without question the location, whether you are heading to the beach or any of the various shops and restaurants in the area, they are all within a few blocks. The staff was another plus. My wife arrived in the early morning hours after a very long drive and they allowed us to check in early, a major plus and got us off on the right foot. Everyone was very pleasant and accommodating throughout our stay, no complaints at all. Anyone who spends any time in Rehoboth will also tell you that parking can be a complete nightmare, so having a parking garage was a major plus...

The only real "con" was the cost. However, I would state that with the caveat that its Rehoboth, its not cheap anywhere, and generally speaking, the Sandcastle was one of the cheaper options available. Lets just say it was a tad expensive for what you got...I will say that the rooms were relatively clean (none of the problems other reviews have stated) so this was not a problem. Was not real appreciative of the low-life types dropping ashes and cigarette butts down from their balconies, but I guess thats what you can expect from certain people.

You are next to a fire station also. So be prepared for a siren to go off from time to time, it will wake you up lol...

The Sandcastle Motel is certainly not the Hilton, but after spending several days here, I can tell you that it is a decent choice if you are unable to afford some of the more expensive hotels and B&B's in town. My wife and I were looking for a place to lay our heads after nights on the town, and a place to shower after days on the beach, nothing more nothing less. If this is what you have in mind, you will be all good. If you are looking for top rate hotel with all the extras...go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gar724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duck Key, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The motel was a dump! Crudd in the bath, paint peeling off dismal hall walls, creepy elevator, hair on pillows......gave us creeps. But...they don't mind charging high rent for all this crap. Tearing it down would be the only way to improve this flea bag.

Room Tip: Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Pros: The location is great and right in the heart of Rehoboth Beach. It's very convenient to great restaurants, local shops and just a few blocks to the beach.

Cons: The hotel is outdated, and the beds aren't very comfortable. The hotel is located right next to a municipal building that runs a very loud test siren daily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Pittston, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My children and I have been staying at this motel for 3 years and we absolutely love it. We would not stay anywhere else. It is cozy and quaint and everything we need. The staff has always been nothing but polite to us and the cleaning personnel do a wonderful job. I have never seen any bugs in the room as I have read in other reviews. We love our home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Please do yourself the pleasure of NOT staying at this 'mold' filled property.No a/c in hallways, dead roachs under table in bedroom, rate was $260 plus for the free coffee(one container in lobby); and elevator no a/c. Indoor pool is not sanitary.Don't ask me about the 'meeting room'.
I would not return if it was Free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dad1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

-The Motel is very well located, offers free parking and a friendly staff.
-Standard 1980's feel
-The rooms are very aged, but "You get what you pay for"
-Walls are thin, luckily you can drown out the sound with the A/C.
-Has FREE coffee in the lobby.
-Has FREE parking
-Has FREE wifi.

Room Tip: -I would NOT recommend a corner room with balcony, as the balcony backs up to the staircase and ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsc401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#21 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Inn
Atlantis Inn
#12 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Property: Sandcastle Motel
Address: 123 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2283
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing