We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandcastle Motel
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Pros: Me and my girlfriends stayed here the weekend before memorial day. Bill, our go to guy at the motel, was very courteous and professional and made sure our stay was an absolute positive experience. The motel's location is walking distance to the boardwalk and is adjacent to the Conch Island bar which featured live music during our stay. The room itself was tidy and clean. The motel features an indoor pool with the room kept heated (the pool itself is not heated just the room) and a sundeck adjacent to the pool on the 2nd floor which is nice for sunbathing and enjoying the view along the boardwalk. Last but not least, the price, for its location it was one of the cheapest places to stay in the area most other motels and hotels were almost double to triple the $$$

Cons: One of the reasons I believe it was so cheap to stay here is due to the outdated appearances of the Sandcastle motel. Its clear that the place could use a little paint job and a sort of facelift. I also hated the pillows (if you can call them that!)
I think some freshpaint, a little monetary investment into some new pillows, and updated appliances and I would have given this place 5 stars.

Overall: This place was great and we got what we expected considering the little bit of money we paid to stay here. I really enjoyed my weekend in Rehoboth and it was in large part due to the great service we received at this motel.

I will be coming back next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    54
    37
    17
    16
See reviews for
51
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A recent stay at the Sandcastle Motel was a positive experience all the way around. While this is an older type motel, the bathrooms are new and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The office staff was friendly. The location is central to everything Rehoboth. The price was the best in town for off season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacktravels725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Best location. Basic clean rooms. Friendly staff. Half the price of nearby properties. I agree that compared to the other more expensive hotels, it's kind of tired, but for the price and convenience, it hits the mark.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back, not facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I just came back yesterday from a long weekend at Rehoboth and stayed at the Sandcastle for the second year in a row. Unfortunately, I only spent one night last year because we were evacuated by the hurricane, so I couldn't really write a review. As with the other reviews, the Sandcastle could use some renovation, but it is far from falling apart. The rooms are adequately sized and clean. The bathroom is clean and there is plenty of hot water for the shower even at 6:30 on a Saturday night! What puts it at the top of my list is how accommodating everyone is. We got there several hours before check-in time, but our room was ready and we were able to check right in. At check-out, we were able to leave our car there for the day and use the bathroom and shower by the pool. A big shout-out to Nicole and Lorena (I'm sure I didn't get the spelling right!) who couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and nice!! The location is good - a short walk to the beach and right on Rehoboth Avenue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsRondette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've read some previous reviews and agree that a renovation is needed but other than that it was clean, cheaper than other motels, and the location is perfect. One of the biggest perks that makes it the perfect beach motel is that on the day of check out you can leave your car parked all day and still use their pool which has a shower and bathroom to change for the trip home. That wins my business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was our first stay at the Sandcastle Motel, its the height of the summer season and we just wanted a night at the beach, so choice was limited. On arrival the guy at the front desk was friendly and efficient with our check in. Thats where the smiles stopped. We went to the room and on entering it smelt of Bleach (ok it was clean) but the decor was grubby, carpet was filthy and my 11 year old daughter, just looked at me! the look said it all and to be honest I felt the same way. But we were only there for 1 night and the location of the motel was ideal, a couple of blocks from the beach, had free parking and free Wifi. We didnt venture to the pool, to be honest I never used the shower, not because it wasnt clean, but it just felt unclean. Such a shame, a little attention to the paint and decor would lift this motel into the 21st century.

Room Tip: Its a lucky dip
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel would be a great candidate for the Hotel Impossible TV show. The location is awesome, and the coffee bar and front desk are great, but the awesome stops there. The hallways are scary, dimly lit with paint chips peeling. The elevator area by the parking area is in disrepair and dirty. The room was ok, with a dated bedspread, seemed pretty clean but taking a closer look there was a lot of dirt at the hair dryer. It looked like the cord hadn't been wiped in months. I used a towel to hold the dryer. The pool area looked nice and it was nice to be able to use the bathroom there to shower and freshen up before the drive home. All in all I wouldn't stay there again, since the room was nearly $200 and the overall ambiance of the hotel wasn't nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly_Traveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Inn
Atlantis Inn
#11 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Property: Sandcastle Motel
Address: 123 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2283
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing