We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”
Review of Sandcastle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandcastle Motel
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Campbell, New Yorl
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Sandcastle Motel was a vry adequate place to stay for our recent visit to Rehoboth Beach. It was by no means a 5-star motel but fit our needs perfectly and was only a short jaunt to the beach. Have stayed there before and certainly will do so again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talldaddy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    56
    38
    18
    18
See reviews for
57
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We found the Sandcastle Motel on line and, of course, immediately checked it out on Trip Advisor. While the reviews were not great, we got the price we wanted, and booked anyway. The reviews are far too critical. The Sandcastle is in easy walking distance to the beach. There is more than adequate parking in a garage. The people at the front desk were wonderful, and extremely helpful. They provided us with any information, or answers we sought, with a smile and as soon as we asked. The rooms were very clean. The housekeepers were very nice, and did a great job with our room. It was clean, though things are a little dinged, as it's a little older. The Sandcastle is a great value, with friendly & helpful service and a great price. How cam you ask for more?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NelliBli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear DE
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Rooms are basic and clean. Staff was courteous and helpful allowing for early check in and parking The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, bars and restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimfBearDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The motel is just one block from ocean. You can get a somewhat ocean view if you get a room on the second or third floor. The walls are thin and we could hear the conversations next door. The location is generally very quiet and very close to some nice little restaurants and a a very short walk to a small market/grocery store. We bought fresh fruit there and took it with us to the beach. We decided to choose this hotel for location and price. It was $100 cheaper than any other hotel in the same area for the same dates. Ceiling was peeling. Room smelled musty. The corners in the bathroom looked as if they were never touched. The sheets were clean. The AC-we were either to hot or too cold. There were cigarette ashes on our towels and clothes that we hung on chairs on the balcony over night to dry. If you are only using the room to sleep like we did, it was okay. It had a mini-fridge. The room had a TV with minimal channels. We were price hunting because we wanted to stretch our bucks so we could stay longer and the motel worked for that situation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvnilfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This hotel is very old and well worn. It does need some updating, but the room and bathroom were clean, the beds were comfortable and free parking! We never used our car the entire trip! The shower had good pressure and always had hot water.yeah the hallways were a little dingy they needed more light and maybe some color to it but I never felt unsafe. the pool area had a funky odor ( too much chlorine?) but the water was ok and we enjoyed swimming in the pool. great location 2 blocks from boardwalk and restaurants.We had 4 double beds in our room so for a larger family the price and location were well worth it. Plus free wifi!. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missymouse70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sandcastle over the weekend to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The motel was clean and the staff was friendly. Check in is at 3:00, but we arrived at 11:00am. We are able to check in at 11:00am without an additional fee. The motel has the best rates and is only two blocks from the ocean. We could see the ocean from our room, which didn't cost any extra. The parking garage is a tigh squeeze if you have a dually. I rate this motel a 4!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bnbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

The title of this review pretty much says it all... If you want a clean, friendly motel, for a good value that is located in the center of town. The Sandcastle is your spot!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danoatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#19 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
337 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Motel

Property: Sandcastle Motel
Address: 123 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2283
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sandcastle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing