We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Timers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“First Timers”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Incredible is all I can say...friendly staff, clean rooms, the bed was the best we have ever slept on, in fact we are calling the Inn to ask what brand it was....the wine and cheese are a nice touch. The breakfast was out of this world, so much to choose from....and since it was a chilly weekend we loved hanging out with our friends by the fire pit ...can't wait to come back...I'm hooked..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Donna,
We are a family owned and operated hotel which I believe is what sets apart from the normal hotel stay. We take a great deal of pride in the product we deliver to our guests as we want the first stay with us to be the first of many to come. We recognize we can not be successful by only having you stay with us once and go away unhappy looking for another option the next time you visit the beach. All of our staff lives by our credo 'Friendliness and Cleanliness', it is the backbone of any successful hotel. Thank you for business, your kind words, and for talking the time to review our hotel, it is sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,529
    313
    58
    10
    10
See reviews for
708
703
38
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I just celebrated our 10th anniversary in Rehoboth and stayed in the jacuzzi suite at the Avenue Inn. This was our third or fourth time staying there, and our first time seeing the impressive new renovations. What an excellent hotel this is. The staff is friendly, the atmosphere is relaxed and pleasant, and the location can't be beat.

The room itself is incredible. Fireplace, in-room jacuzzi, huge king bed, living room area, private balcony... we loved it. We spent more time in the room on this trip than we ever have in the past.

Our only minor complaint was that on the first night, our room neighbors were up at 2:00 a.m. yelling loudly in the hallway and repeatedly slamming their room door. This is NOT typical behavior of the type of clientele that the Avenue Inn usually attracts. Needless to say, we got very little sleep that night, and there was no answer at the front desk. The staff member I spoke to the next morning was very apologetic and told me the good news that our neighbors were due to check out that day. There was no noise the following nights.

I couldn't recommend the Inn more highly. As we were leaving on our last day, another patron in the elevator told me it was their first time staying there and asked me if they'd made the right choice. I enthusiastically said, "Yes!"

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterFlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
MisterFlix,

Thank you for your comments - we're sorry about the no one answering the phone during your 1st night when you called. We had someone new on the front desk that night who forgot to push a button on our front desk phone that would have transferred calls to a cell phone they carry with them when they are away from the front desk making their rounds. We have reminded them of the importance of being available when away from the front desk. As for the remainder of your stay, we're are pleased that all went well. We want every guest to be happy 100% of the time. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville Hunt Valley, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Avenue knows how to roll out the welcome met. We had a delightful stay with our children and gandchildren. The hotel is spacious and beautifully decorated. We loved breakfast, free afternoon wine, evening chocolate cookies, heated indoor pool, and Mr. Lou's free shuttles to the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on Wilmington Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Liz,

Thank you for your review. All of our staff believe that "friendliness & cleanliness" is the basis for the Avenue's business model. Lew goes out of his way to insure that guests feel like a ride to the beach is the best thing that happens to them during their visit to Rehoboth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have stayed at the Avenue Inn once or twice a year for long weekends or full weeks for the past four years and we just completed another 5-day stay. Each time we come, we always notice more improvements. The new lobby has greatly expanded the public space in the hotel and has made the ambiance seem considerably more luxurious. The rooms are continually renovated, and they seem to have upgraded the towels since our last visit. We stayed on the third floor this time; the hot tub (which was being refurbished when we were there last year), heated pool, and steam room were right across the hall, and this being a mid-week stay in mid-May, we had them basically to ourselves, which was wonderful. Everyone we encountered -- desk help, breakfast room staff, chambermaids, maintenance workers -- greeted us warmly and made every effort to make our stay a pleasant one. We always enjoy our stays here and gladly return year after year.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms on the Wilmington Avenue side have direct pool area access, give a distant glimpse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Linda,

Many many thanks to you for being such a wonderful guest. We build our business on repeat guests and the good word they spread for us, so I am sincerely grateful to you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Avenue and especially for making the Avenue your home at the beach. We truly strive to make the hotel feel like your personal beach house by offering exceptionally friendly service in a comfortable environment. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to continuing to improve upon the experience every time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with a short walk to the beach. The staff is accommodating and very friendly. The breakfast is delicious. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends or family. We will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
David,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your most recent stay at the Avenue. We strive to make each guest feel as though the Avenue is their home away from home. Word of mouth to friends and family is the best way for our business to grow. We truly appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel was beautiful and very accommodating. The breakfast was delicious, and I have never stayed at a hotel that cared so much for their guests. The Staff was amazing and so friendly. I would recommend the Avenue Inn & Spa to all my family and friends. I can not wait to return next year.

Room Tip: The pool is on the third floor so if you would like a quieter room, I would ask for a room on the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Erica,
It is with great pleasure to read your review and have you as our guest. You hit on many of the things we focus on and work hard to present to our guests. Within our hotel group our motto is “Friendliness and Cleanliness”. We try to take that base to the next level and beyond to deliver an experience that truly sets us apart not just in our markets but anywhere you may stay.
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and especially thank you for choosing to stay with us, it is sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely stay at your Inn & Spa. The people were very friendly and helpful. When we needed something like towel we got them within a couple of minutes. If I ever decide to take a trip I would love to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim P, General Manager at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Heidi,
Thank you very much for your review. When guests let us know how we are doing, it enables us to provide the best possible service. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
251 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
368 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Property: Avenue Inn & Spa
Address: 33 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Avenue Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing