We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel in Rehoboth Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avenue Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel in Rehoboth Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

We couldn't have asked for a better experience with the Avenue Inn. Arriving before the 3pm checkin time we found a very friendly employee contacting housekeeping to check if our room was ready for an early checkin. The room wasn't quite done, but I've been to a lot of hotels who will quickly shun you away for trying to checkin early. We reserved a Deluxe Queen room which was superb. We were on the second floor with an end room that faced Rehoboth Ave with a balcony. This was great for people watching and just unwinding at the end of a long day at the beach. The room was spotless and the beds were comfortable enough that I slept without interruption. Even with the close proximity of Rehoboth Ave, our room was still quiet at night even with the crowds outside. The morning breakfast, afternoon cheese/wine, and evening cookies were a nice touch when we were in and out. The location though sold me to this property. You are right in the middle of all of the shops and restaurants and the beach is a short block away. It's nice to see such a well run property so close, but still far in enough from the beach that is affordable. The third floor indoor pool and sundeck were the private oasis for the crowded area. Next time we return to Rehoboth Beach, we are definately staying at the Avenue Inn!

  • Liked — The Location.
  • Disliked — A larger variety of breads at the breakfast spread..(Muffins..etc).
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CenPennTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,498
    311
    58
    10
    10
See reviews for
688
696
38
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

The place was booked solid so they gave us the room off the garage. This was with full warnings so that was fair. Seemed pretty much a standard motel setup, nothing special at all. This particular room was windowless due to its position over the garage and the lighting was so dim it was a pretty bleak experience to spend more than a few minutes there. We felt like suckers paying what we did, but that's the market at peak season. The swimming pool and hot tub were very nice, and being in the center of Rehoboth is, if you like that kind of thing, great. Turns out, we thought the whole town was pretty cheesy so we only spent one night.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodstockVegHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

Recently returned from a 3 day mini vacation with 3 adults and 3 children. We stayed in a 2 room suite which was PERFECT for the kids! The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous from the minute we set foot in the place. We were lucky enough to be able to check in early (after driving 4 hours to get there) and the time spent was well worth the extra $$$ when compared to others. The kids loved the pool. Although having 6 people was a little tight for the size of the room, we would defintiely consider it again!

  • Liked — location, hotel cleanliness
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralPATravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

This is the fourth year I have stayed at the Avenue Inn.
At first we stayed in the Avenue II which is more of the budget option. However, the rooms at the Avenue II are larger and this serves its purpose if you have a larger group 4-6 people. We could walk out of the hotel, onto the "balcony" and sit on rocking chairs watching the world go by. You also have access to all the extras at the Avenue Inn (breakfast, wine, cookies, beach chairs, etc). When we stayed they also gave us the option of free breakfast at Sammys Dinner across the road.

We have now "upgraded" to the Avenue Inn and it was a different (better) experience since it was just two of us. A very well-run, clean, comfortable hotel, in an excellent location. It does not have oceanfront or oceanviews but it is only a couple of blocks to the beach. If you have rooms in front you also have a view of the main road - all rooms have nice views of the surrounding area with balcony and rocking chairs.

Ameneties that make a difference: Microwave, Fridge, Laundry, indoor pool, beach chairs, PARKING, breakfast, snacks, internet (unsecured wireless network), non-smoking, friendly/helpful staff.

  • Liked — Location, comfort, amenities
  • Disliked — Beds were a little soft, AC unit did not regulate temp well
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

I called the hotel directly, asked the manager exactly for a two room suite. HE made the reservation and never gave me reservation confirmation like email, told me orally that there wouldbe a night's charge if cancelled withen lst seven days.

After we saw the room we were in shock! the second room was a 'den' with a sofa bed in it, with a little window opening to the whole place.

The Manager Jim would not offer any refund or compansation at all. He whistled his way around us in the mornings.

Our long waited get away was totally ruined because of this poor management and crook manager.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Horrible Service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Zurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIMPLER HOTELS, owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2008
We are always disappointed when a guest leaves our hotel dissatisfied with their stay. We have sold over 90,000 room nights since our firsat tripadvisor review in 2004 and we have 10 negative reviews. Before this womans review we were #1 or #2 in that same time frame. I believe it would be apparent to any potential guest reading this review that it simply would not make sense to give a false description of a room. This guest misunderstood our descritption or confused it with another property. There is a picture of the room type on our web site which she acknowledged she saw. I was personnaly standing at the desk when this woman loudly scolded our manager. We offered to completely rearrrange the rooms so that a bed would be placed in the other room to the suite which she declined. As well we offered a complete refund if she wished to leave. Throughout the visit she had no further complaints but still gave us the worst review possible with a scathing heading, entirely unfair and uncalled for considering the lengths to which we went to accommodate her mistake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

Wonderful hotel in a great location. Just one block from the beach/boardwalk with many restaurants of all price levels one block down and one block up. Our favorite was The Stoney Lonen. Also a good convenience store right across the street.

Offers much more than most places in beach community - breakfast, wine/cheese, cookies in the evening, refrigerator, microwave, swimming pool, sun deck, steam room, sauna, spa facilities.

Staff is very helpful and friendly. Has free underground parking so your car stays cool during those hot summer days.

Our room was 2 Queen Bed suite with no balcony. Rooms were very spacious with comfortable beds. Kept very clean.

A few minor things: a/c can be noisy when kicking on at night while sleeping, no in-room safe, no remote for sitting room tv, no view from room, but none of these would keep us from returning.

Overall a highly recommended place to stay.

  • Liked — Location and staff.
  • Disliked — Noisy a/c.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bowlerboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

We just returned from staying at the Avenue Inn. For the price, the location, rooms, etc, was perfect. We have 2 kids and traveled with another family. Both of us booked a room with 2 queen beds and a separate living room with a queen sofa bed. Great for kids! After spending the day on the beach, we went to the hotel's pool and deck for swimming and happy hour. If you are picky about breakfast, use the coupons for the restaurant next door. I read other reviewers complaining about the wait at Nicola's. Order your meal to go, and take it to the pool deck. Worked out great for us!
Enjoy!!

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyVSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Property: Avenue Inn & Spa
Address: 33 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Avenue Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing