We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The perfect place to stay. . .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect place to stay. . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My two children and I traveled to the Avenue Inn this past week for our summer vacation spot. We were truly touched by the genuine customer service from the front desk to the smiling maid service. My children, 10 and 12 fell "in love" with Lew, the "porter" who drove us to and from the beach and anywhere else we needed to go on Wilmington Avenue. When he dropped us off at the beach daily he would always remind us to "call me" when we were ready to return to the Inn. When my 12 year old daughter came later to the beach one day; he walked her to the beginning of the beach to make sure she found us. The staff goes "above and beyond" to make sure you are happy and safe. The room was clean and spacious. The balcony delightful. We really enjoyed all the common spaces in the lobby and the game room. We felt we were in our own home (but no mess). It was comfortable, pleasant and accommodating. Every staff member was delightful. The breakfast, wine and cheese and cookies at night were highly anticipated every day and my kids made me promise we would return every year. And we will!

Room Tip: Rooms on Rehoboth Ave side have a view of the ocean and the iconic boardwalk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
The perfect review for me! Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. We truly work hard at delivering a hotel stay that will be not just relaxing and enjoyable but memorable. Our goal is to always make your first stay with us the first of many to come so it is especially rewarding for me and our staff to know that you have found your beach house in Rehoboth at the Avenue. Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us, it is most sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    305
    58
    10
    10
See reviews for
676
667
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I decided to take our 3-year old and 8-month old on a mini vacay to a close beach and we had already done va beach and OC many times. Friends suggested rehoboth and we are so happy we finally visited! I originally booked a hotel 2 miles away from the beach b/c everything close was too expensive or completely booked. I really wanted to stay at the Avenue Inn so I tried my luck and looked online a week before our trip to see if there were any cancellations and we got a double queen room with a balcony. The lobby was beautiful and the hotel staff were friendly. The room was clean and spacious - it came with a microwave and fairly large mini-fridge. Both came in handy since my daughter has food allergies and I have to pack her food most times. At night when the kiddies slept, husband and I had margaritas (from hotel bar) on our balcony and had our date nights. The proximity to the beach was great. One block from the boardwalk and beach. If you want a ride to the beach, Lou will give you a life on the golf cart - my daughter thought these rides were so much fun. The hotel also provides towels and chairs for the beach. The free breakfast was nice too - egg souffles, bagels, muffins, cereal, fruit, coffee, juice - all in a large dining room with highchairs. I'm extremely happy we lucked out with the hotel change and we will be visiting rehoboth again and staying at the Avenue Inn. Next time I will book a suite!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you Tina for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. I am also happy that you were able to book a room at the Avenue and have the chance to enjoy all that we offer. Your kind words and your business are very much appreciated. We will look forward to having you as our guest for many years to come.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We check into the Jr jacuzzi room for what was supposed to be a 3 day getaway. The inn and room appeared to be nice except the bathroom which was extremely small.
After adjusting the air conditioning we began to unpack. We noted that the air conditioning was not working. The compressor was not turning on.
Here is where our horror began. We called maintenance,
and the supervisor told us that the air conditioning was working properly, that we were not patient and just wanted something for nothing.
The room temperature was 89.
Then a real maintenance worker Came and tested the unit.he determined that the unit was broke, they replace the entire unit with a new one.
We left the room for 3 hours to have it cool.( it was raining heavy and we were walking around because the room was intolerable)
When be returned the temperature was still 89.
we spoke to the manager Jim, who said we were doing nothing but complaining. He threatened to throw Us out of the hotel.
He rambled on the phone for 30 minutes till he agreed to send maintenance back. All this time without ever coming to the room.
When maintenance finally arrived they also determined that this new unit was not working either.
Jim finally apologized and agreed to put us up in another room. now we are re packing and moving to the new room.we finally got situated at 10 p.m.
exhausted, we decided to call it a night. The next morning we receive a message from Jim saying Old room was ready. We must move again. Obviously,this was not what we anticipated. We were ready to go to the beach. Now we have to move again.I requested he leave us where we were but he refused saying that the room was rented.
With with this news I decided to leave the hotel.. Gathered my belongings and went to the front desk. Jim adjusted my bill $00, but no further apologies nor consideration for what we've been through. Customer relations for this hotel Are in need of new staffing. They were horrible and we are not in good health. We are not teens trying to mess with the hotel or get something for free. just A couple in our golden years trying to enjoy a few days away on the beach.
I fully understand thaT units can break but accommodate your guests not torture them...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank ps6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
This is not the first review that we have received that is meant to smear our excellent reputation and unfortunately it won't likely be the last. We have nearly 2,000 reviews between our four hotels, three are ranked #1 in their market and now the Avenue is knocked down to #2 due to this malicious review. Our staff works hard to be the #1 hotel in town. They take a great deal of pride in the product they deliver to our guest to achieve that goal. You don't get to be the best by treating guests the way this review suggests. I believe most people will read this review and recognize that this is not a true representation of what we deliver at the Avenue. The overwhelmingly positive reviews are a much clearer representation of the experience we deliver. A couple of items from this review that are important to make known. First, we will be more than happy to never have this type of guest stay with us again. Using foul language and cursing at my staff is not acceptable to me, no revenue is worth that to me. My staff works way too hard to put up with abuse from a guest especially when we are trying to rectify a problem. Second, you can not run your air conditioner in August at the beach (high humidity) with both the balcony door and room door open and expect it to cool your room. Third, it was clearly explained that the room move was for one night. Lastly, this guest was refunded every dollar of their stay and an apology was offered but not accepted by the guest. When you have been in the business as long as we have you want this type of guest to go away and never come back and giving them a full refund, even though we accommodated in a way any normal guest would feel completely satisfied, it is the beast way to handle the situation. Sometimes no matter how hard you try to make things right when things go wrong you just can’t satisfy certain people. Luckily the mass majority of the people that choose to stay with us are happy people when they arrive and when they leave.
Alex Moore
President
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed at other hotels and rentals and this is the best hotel experience we have had so far in Rehobeth. The newly renovated Inn is definitely charming. The rooms were roomy except I wished we had a balcony in the deluxe queen suite. The kids really enjoyed the rides on the golf cart with Lou(?). He was very friendly and pleasant with his guests. It was not too far from the beach and near Funland for the kids. Our favorite restaruants and shops were nearby. My daughter asked before we left if we can return here next year. We will definitely stay here again and bring our extended families.

Room Tip: We stayed one night on the 3rd floor and is near the pool which is nice if you have kids. The deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHB12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the hotel. Your time in placing the review and your business are sincerely appreciated. We hope you will abide by your daughters wishes and return again. :)
Cheers,
Alex Moore
president
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location, walking distance to the main strip and restaurants. The little extras like cookies, wine and cheese, breakfast, beach chairs and towels make the higher prices seem worthwhile. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms are spacious. Will come again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roanna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for the review, your thoughts on your stay with us are greatly appreciated. We know we are not the least expensive hotel option in town but we do know we deliver the most to our guest for no additional fees. Thank you for choosing the Avenue, we hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Avenue II location at the Avenue Inn & Spa. I had previously stayed in the main hotel before the renovations and it was great. We went with the Avenue II this time since it was cheaper during peak season and is in a great location. The Avenue II is just steps away from the main property and you are able to use all the same amenities as you would at the main property. We were given real actual keys instead of key cards, which was a bit of a time warp, but was fine. The rooms all have cute rocking chairs outside so you can sit and enjoy the weather. The room was clean and comfortable. The location can't be beat and is right next door to the Purple Parrot. Parking is right on site next to the building. We had no issues and had a wonderful stay. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Avenue II and that you recognize the less expensive option we offer can deliver a great experience as well. I sincerely appreciate your continued business and for taking the time to review the hotel. We will look forward to showing off the improvements we will be making to the Avenue II for next season when you visit again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Avenue Inn on 10 occasions (at least 3 nights each time) over the past six years. Jim the General Manager and his staff have it down to a science. The rooms are spacious and great for families. Breakfast is delicious with a wide array of choices for everyone, and the golf cart rides to the beach (with hotel beach chairs on board ) are an added bonus. The pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna are all great amenities, and kids and adults will love Funland just a block away. Always a relaxing, stress-free vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyTraveler882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#7 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Property: Avenue Inn & Spa
Address: 33 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Avenue Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing