We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Avenue Inn is great!!!!”
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avenue Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were there in July and really enjoyed the Avenue inn. Our only complaint would be the air conditioner unit was noisy. The free breakfast was yummy! We would go back again. The location is good to get to the boards and beach. Many shops and restaurants close by. The parking garage was nice and a place to store our bikes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beanieandbonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review the Avenue. Whenever we have an issue with any of the equipment we work to rectify the problem as quickly as possible. I am sorry you had an issue with your air unit. We hope to have you as our guest again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,162)
There are newer reviews for Avenue Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,480 - 1,486 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

My sister and I spent a weekend at the Avenue Inn, and loved all of the amenities and the upgrades to the hotel. The staff was absolutely wonderful and very friendly.

However, if you are an adult looking for a peaceful getaway, this is not the place for you. We encountered screaming children in the breakfast area (one punching his father and the other standing in the middle of the breakfast table having a meltdown), screaming children in the bar area (even though a sign was posted that no children were allowed), and screaming kids in the hot tub (again ignoring a posted sign.)

While we are both mothers who have raised our children, it was quite disappointing to us to see parents allowing their misbehaved kids free rein. We will probably be looking for a more peaceful getaway the next time we visit Rehoboth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

I would say your own statements are a testament to the issue you had while staying with us. The last thing we are going to do is tell parents how to manage their children. As you noted, we post signs in our attempt to prevent these issues but... We have attempted to swat that hornets nest before and all it does is end us up on the bad side of a Tripadvisor review. You can see the reviews right here and read between the lines about how someone is treated during wine and cheese hour. In season we are indeed a predominately family occupied hotel and we love it. Off season is a much different situation. I wish you well finding a hotel that better suits your and your sisters needs.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first stay at The Avenue Inn and it met every expectation! The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. We stayed on the 3rd floor, main street side (all of the king bed rooms are on that side). When the balcony door is shut, it is very quiet in the room. We had 2 toddlers with us and they had no problem falling asleep. You can't beat the location. It was great to head to dinner and not have far to go afterwards with some sleepy (and getting cranky) kids. The golf cart ride to the beach with all our gear and 2 small children was the best part! Lew is fantastic, our kids loved him! The breakfast was great, and the after dinner cookies were delicious. The hotel is very clean, you would never know people were coming back from the beach all day. It is worth every penny and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: King bed rooms are on the main street side but if the door is shut, it is quiet in the room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathrynf664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

It is our goal to make the first stay with us the first of many to come. We understand how important the first impression is to a guest so from the minute your walk through our doors we want to deliver a special and unique experience to you. I am happy to read that we have succeeded in delivering a wonderful hotel stay for you. I sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to let others know about your experience at the Avenue.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you want to feel welcomed and have a great experience, this is the place for you. This is the first hotel in the US that made us feel genuinely welcomed, when the basics are met(cleansiness, location) it is the little details that make a difference. The rooms on the ground floor to change for the beach when u get there early, the 60-70 second free ride to the beach(towel and chair included),the free wine and cheese and delicious fresh cookies, the willingness to help with parking hrs after check out, it made us feel that they care for us and we aren't left alone in a new place. Every staff member we met was genuinely welcoming and positive. We stayed there yesterday and here is the owner/manager sending me an email today to leave a review(link included)to help them get better. They previously send me an email with a satellite image of both available partings so we don't get lost. We live 3.5 hrs away, and I think I found the hotel that I want to always stay at whenever we want to go to the beach. My only hope is that they keep this culture and
not change in the future, I think also as guests we have a responsibility of not taking advantage of the amenities and be respectful. I'll always recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freetraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

The thanks are all owed to you! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about the Avenue with such a wonderful review. Thank you for your words about respecting what we offer. We want to always improve and add new features for our guests but at times I can feel the effort isn't appreciated and understood from a business stand point. You get it and I am grateful for your notation. We will look forward to having you as our guest again. Thank you for your recommendations.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

love the avenue inn! have stayed multiple times (only hotel in rehoboth i have stayed at!) this was just a quick overnight trip and we stayed at the avenue II. avenue II is just a short walk from the avenue. while i missed the main avenue hotel, for the last minute availability and lower price this was great! you still get all the amenities the avenue offers, which i love! the avenue II offers super spacious room, which i love! would definitely stay here again if the regular avenue hotel is all booked!

also wanted to say how great the addition looks! very nice upgrade to what is already a wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: i think most rooms are good, but may want to avoid the 3rd floor if you are looking for something a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for appreciating what we offer with the Avenue II. While it is not part of the main building we believe the cost difference reflects the disconnect. We are always grateful to you for choosing to stay with us and we are grateful for your nice review.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We once again had a fantastic stay at the Avenue Inn. The Renovations are beautiful ! This is our fifth visit, we LOVE the cleanliness, the friendliness, the breakfast, the wine & cheese, the cookies, the beach chairs & beach towels, the golf cart ride to and from the beach ( Lou of Course ! ) , the changing rooms when you arrive early and the location !!! We park our car and walk everywhere. The bar was opening the day we left, can't wait until next year, when we can enjoy that as well. The Avenue Inn continues to put it's guest first and is what makes it a hotel that we will continue to choose year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jodaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you so very much for being such a wonderfully loyal customer. While we want every guest’s first stay to be the first of many to come, it is awesome to know you are staying with us so frequently. We will work hard to make sure every time you stay with us is equally as enjoyable if not better each time. Your time in placing the review to let others know about the Avenue is sincerely appreciated as this is how we have become so popular. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We come every year to Rehoboth and stay at the Avenue Inn II. I believe the descriptions in the booking pages clearly state how to differentiate the Inn from the hotel. I know the confirmation letter states that if the word spacious is used in the room description, it means you are staying at Avenue Inn II. We absolutely love our stay at Avenue Inn II. We were very impressed with the up grades at Avenue Inn which are open to those of us staying down the street. The lobby is beautiful and the breakast area is so much bigger. Even if that gets filled up, there are plenty of areas to go to with your food from that area. My only suggestion would be to have a designated area for dirty dishes as you do for the wine glasses during the wine hour.

Lew is a very friendly guy, takes away any self inflicted guilt for taking the shuttle to or from the beach or to Avenue Inn II!!

We arrived on Tuesday July 23, 2 days before the new lounge opened. We were told on arrival that the free wine would be served from 5-7 each evening. On Thursday, the wine was removed after one hour. The group of people in our sitting area compared notes and stated we all expected the wine and cheese for two hours. Apparently with the opening of the lounge, the hours will be cut to one hour. Someone did go to the desk and expressed dissatisfaction to Jim about the change in hours after we were told differently upon arrival. Before we knew it, the wine and crackers were brought back out to our group. Excellent customer service!!
All in all, I would not stay elsewhere. I am hoping that the renovations do not make our stay next year out of our price range.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJL2342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
609 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rehoboth
Hotel Rehoboth
#6 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
570 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: $115 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing