We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful beach hotel!”
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful beach hotel!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend here for a romantic getaway, and The Avenue was the perfect base for that. The redone lobby is beautiful, staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, breakfast was good, and Lew, who will drive you to and from the beach in his golf cart is fantastic! We won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beldredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,601
    324
    58
    10
    10
See reviews for
744
731
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is the second time we stayed at the Avenue Inn and were once again pleased with the experience. The lobby renovation was simply beautiful and a great way to welcome guests. We thoroughly enjoyed the wine and cheese, evening cookies, and the breakfast. We were disappointed that we were reserved at the Avenue II instead of the Avenue I, but we found the accommodations to be fine and they met our needs. The distance between the hotels is not more than a few yards and was not anything that would deter us from staying there again. We loved the rocking chairs in front of the hotel room. However, due to the bar music next door we did not spend much time out there, but the concept is great. The fact that this hotel is so close to the beach is a huge selling point. The short shuttle service to the beach (another sweet perk) with the ever-enthusiastic Lew was a daily delight. He was friendly and upbeat - and we looked forward to chatting with him every morning. We really enjoyed the experience and will be staying at the Avenue Inn again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have been staying here every time we go to Rehoboth Beach. It is 1 block from the beach and if you get a room with a balcony that overlooks Rehoboth Ave., you are in the midst of everything!
They just finished renovating the first floor and in the 6 years we have been staying here (off and on in 6 years), I have to say, the renovation made my jaw literally drop! It is beautiful and exquisite. A round of applause...
When we first checked in, someone was there to greet us, make sure we knew where all of the new areas were, and gave us a few beach pointers (they have a golf cart shuttle that takes you and picks you up at the beach!).
Our room, as always, was very nice. The fridge wasn't working properly so I called the front desk. A woman came up, investigated, made a call to the maintenance crew, and while we were out, replaced it with a brand new one! I must say that something like this has not happened in the past but I was impressed how it was handled and how quickly it was done. Very nice!
We only stayed two nights, and the rest of the stay was great. We really enjoy it there. With the wine & cheese in the lobby around 5 and the chocolate chip cookies at 8 pm, The Avenue Inn (as I tell my friends), is like a hotel, meets condo, meets B & B - all wrapped up into one awesome place!
We will always stay here, no matter what!

Room Tip: Get a king size bed with a balcony that faces Rehoboth Ave (the main strip). Also, book EARLY! They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Avenue Inn for 3 years in a row, and I would have to say that it keeps getting better and better! The new lobby is beautiful and comfortable. It is a great place to meet friends, share a glass of wine and some laughs.
The rooms are clean and roomy. The bathrooms are good with a separate room for the shower/bath/toilet from the sink.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are great but do get a little loud if you like to sleep with the doors open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirena3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel was fabulous. I've stayed there in the past and they just renovated their entire lobby, "living room" area and breakfast room. It is beautifully done. The staff is very cordial. The rooms are spacious, clean and very quiet (even though the room was facing Rehoboth Avenue on a weekend). It was packed and I never heard another person. The pool/spa is excellent. Never made it to the fitness room. The breakfast is very nice and has some healthy alternatives. Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: The King with balcony was the way to go for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenH19808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I always stay at the Avenue Inn which is a great value! This time we stayed at the Avenue Inn II. Everything is great and I would always recommend it. I would like a bit more more light but that is a minor point.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triangle, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's the little things that keep it from being perfect... no coffee maker in the room, no safe in room, REALLY horribly weak water pressure in showers (every hotel in the world should have the Speakman Anystream showerhead... we had one in Langhorne at Sesame Place and I imediately bought one for my home), single sink in bathroom, breakfast is so-so. Other touches are definitely nice... the cookies (no milk), wine and cheese, golf cart to beach, towels and chairs for beach (no umbrellas like other nearby hotels have) showers off lobby, indoor pool, sauna, spa, fridge, microwave, business center... It's just that when you pay that much for a "deluxe king suite" you expect a little more. The new lobby is definitely nice, but I never saw the old one...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
328 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
620 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Property: Avenue Inn & Spa
Address: 33 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Avenue Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing