We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Will Come Again, year after year”
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Timonium, Maryland
1 review
“We Will Come Again, year after year”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Avenue Inn many times, both summer and fall, and have always had a wonderful stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The amenities are great! Beach services can't be beat. Free breakfasts, wine and cheese in the evening and a warm cookie when you return from dinner? That is just the best. The new lobby makes for a very comfortable place to meet other guests and make new friends. This is the best place we have stayed in Rehoboth (and other places also).

Room Tip: Balconies are nice in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimChoplick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,601
    324
    58
    10
    10
See reviews for
744
731
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We've visited for three years in a row and have enjoyed ourselves. The selling point for us is the fact that the BACK room, not the front room, is the sitting area in their suites. This works well traveling with kids so that we can put them down to bed, close the door, and still "hang out" for awhile then sleep on a regular bed (not a sleeper sofa). We were a little frustrated this year because we were told the renovations would be completed in April, then in May, then weren't informed until we called about something else that they wouldn't be done late in June. Ack! The rates weren't honored for us to reschedule in July or August so we were stuck. Construction noise and smells weren't too bad, but it was tough getting in and out of the hotel with a stroller as there were only stair-access areas open to the outside - but of course that was just a temporary inconvenience based on our timing.

The thing that actually put the biggest damper on this trip was the inconsideration of guests who would use the ice machine directly across from our room (#208) at ALL HOURS OF THE NIGHT with disregard for the sign stating "Between 11pm and 8am, please get ice from the lobby" (and the temporary lobby was just 10 feet away!!). When my husband complained to the desk, they said they'd let the night guy know to get on top of it - but the issue continued throughout our four-night stay. Nothing like a whole cooler's worth of crashing ice sounds and your subsequent screaming children to wake you from a peaceful sleep at 2am... or 5:45am.... on vacation...

Our other experiences with this hotel have been great, but we will not return unless we can get a suite at the other end of the second floor hallway (or they start closing off access to the ice machine overnight).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveandTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is nice and comfortable. The thoughtful services and amenities designed for beach goers are wonderful. There is a golf cart shuttle with a friendly drive to take you,your stuff, the hotel's beach chairs and towels to and from the beach. They even have changing rooms complete with a full shower and towels to use on check-out dayso you can get a full day on the beach. The entire staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor near the pool if you have small children and/or if you don't mind the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Could not ask for more amenities and such pleasant staff! Cookies, breakfast, pool, rides to the beach, wine and cheese - what else could you ask for! Fantastic new lobby and breakfast room - can't wait for the upcoming lounge!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Avenue Inn is beautiful! The lobby and sitting areas are gorgeous. The free breakfast is delicious and a very nice added bonus. We really liked our room - the linens and towels just felt high end. The location is great, and the ride down to the beach is a wonderful bonus. The pool is very nice also.
The only slight negative I would say is that our room choice did not come with a balcony option. We had the type of room with the separate sitting area, separated by a door. These types of rooms didn't come with a balcony and that was a little disappointing. But the service was great, the room was very nice and clean and the price is very reasonable for what you're getting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Have been coming to Rehoboth and stayed at this hotel on a regular basis for over 10 years. It does keep getting better and better. Occasionally try other hotels but none match the value and service. Convenient to beach and everything in town, no need to drive anywhere. Staff is friendly, helpful and always accommodating. Rooms are always nice and clean. Recent lobby renovations added several shower rooms for convenience of staying on the beach after check out. Wonderful breakfast room and free wine in the lobby for early happy hour. You can not ask for more ..everything of a large hotel with a small botique hotel feel and service.

Room Tip: Best views are Rehoboth or Delaware avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My friends and I came here to celebrate my birthday and a girls get away. The hotel was nice and quiet. Centrally located to everything. We were able to park the car and just walk every where. It had the small boutique hotel feel. Rooms were clean, views were so so - we over looked the other buildings roof. Pool was nice and clean - not a strong chlorine smell ( think it was a salt water pool) Hot tub was nice too. Lou was the hit of the trip with the shuttle to & from the beach! Breakfast was ok only ate there once - went out the other days. Beds were ok - pillows were awful should have brought ours from home. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking either Wilmington or Rehoboth Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDmccourt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
579 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
328 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
622 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Property: Avenue Inn & Spa
Address: 33 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Avenue Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing