We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A few nights at the Avenue Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Beltsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A few nights at the Avenue Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just got back from a few pre-Memorial Day nights at the Avenue Inn. Even while under renovation (should be done soon!!!) the stay was nice. It's a great location and they provide some lovely "extras". Only complaint is the A/C was loud and it cuts on and off throughout the night which became a bit annoying. The rooms are nice and breakfast is included. Once the renovations are done the "outdoor" shower will be available again (with changing rooms) which they let you use the day you check out so you can stay on the beach that day too. It's really a nice place!

Room Tip: Overlooking Wilmington Ave might be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_M-a-r-c-i-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    298
    58
    10
    10
See reviews for
658
628
35
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location, nice new rooms! Avenue II is my choice due to the great rates and location!!! Very clean and you can park your car and never move it until you are ready to leave! Nice shopping area and plenty of restaurants available! Very close to the beach - - about 1 1/2 blocks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRS1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This review is specific to the "Avenue 2" section of the Avenue Inn hotel. The Avenue 2 building is separate from the main Avenue Inn building. The Avenue 2 building is directly on Rehoboth Avenue and has 12 units. Half of them face Rehoboth Avenue, and the other half face the back parking lot. All the units are bigger than your standard motel room. There is a small "living area" with a love-seat that is also a sleeper. Then you have a bedroom with a TV (not a flat screen) and a mini-fridge and a microwave oven. The bathroom at the back of the unit is quite large but only has a tub/shower combo, toilet and sink. The entire room is large and spread out, but the furnishings are sparse and could use a little updating.
The room was VERY clean and fresh.
There was ample parking behind the building--you enter from Wilmington Ave, behind the hotel.
The Avenue 2 building has no elevator, so your room will be either on the 2nd or 3rd floor, all accessed by stairs.
I enjoyed my stay because of the location right on Rehoboth Avenue. I parked my car and walked everywhere all over town! I didn't get back in my car until it was time to checkout and leave.
You have access to all the amenities (pool, etc.) of the main Avenue Inn building, but I didn't have time to make use of them, but it's also a bit of a walk from the Avenue 2 building.
All in all, this is an OK choice for Rehoboth Beach, and I would consider coming back on a future visit.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room over-looking Rehoboth Avenue, unless you don't like a lot of street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royski69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was my third stay at the Avenue Inn, and I had high expectations from my previous visits. However, it was only upon arrival that I learned that the ground floor facilities were all under renovation. Practically, this made ingress and egress from the hotel much more difficult, and the temporary "lobby" on the 2nd floor was not clearly marked from the underground garage entrance, which meant we wandered for about 15 minutes before locating check-in. Despite a completely empty overflow lot, the manager refused our request for an extra parking pass, which thankfully was a minor inconvenience since we were there before Memorial Day and could park on the street for free. We also had to visit the reception desk each morning for the discounted breakfast passes to the cafe across the street rather than being able to collect them all at once (typically the Inn offers a complimentary breakfast buffet on the first floor).

All in all, it was certainly not a horrible trip, and the Inn's location just off Rehoboth Ave. is still a prime draw. I look forward to seeing their newly renovated spaces, but I wish they'd taken more care with the customers who paid full price for reduced amenities during their renovation process.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Rehoboth Ave (available at both the Avenue and Avenue II locations).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank km1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very nice accommodations! Love the extra touches - nightly wine and cheese and cookies! Location was perfect for family with small kids - we didn't use the car once! Can't wait to visit again once the lobby construction is complete!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psufourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed at the Avenue II last week and the room was very spacious, clean and a great value! It is right upstairs from the Purple Parrot, but since I enjoy going out, I did not mind the noise nor was it noisy very late. If you want to be a block from the beach and in the heart of the action on Rehoboth Ave, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nfdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Avenue Inn and Spa in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware is our favorite hotel. We stay there every year, a few times/year. The hotel is spotless, has all the ammenities we could ask for, and the staff is very helpful and friendly (Jim and Mary Lou are great!). The hotel staff goes out of there way to make your stay the best it can be. The hotel is beautiful and is in a perfect location. You can park your car and walk to all the shops and restaurants that Rehoboth has to offer. They also offer little extra touches that no other hotel offers. They give you a free continental breakfast (which offers a little more than most), wine and cheese every evening, and baked cookies at night. Avenue Inn has become our second home away from home and when we visit Rehoboth, we would not think of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Rooms on Rehoboth Ave offer a nice and lively view. The rooms facing Wilmington Ave are quieter. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#7 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Property: Avenue Inn & Spa
Address: 33 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Avenue Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing