We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic weekend getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Avenue Inn & Spa
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very romantic weekend getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I live near Rehoboth, but wanted a romantic weekend at the beach. I looked online for a hotel that would be near Rehoboth Avenue and the boardwalk. We booked the Junior Luxury Suite and were fairly happy with the room. It's a little smaller than it looked online, but the decor is nice and the fireplace and jacuzzi tub made up for that. The stainless steel heated indoor pool was beautiful and we loved soaking in the outdoor hot tub on a cold winter's night. The wine and cheese and evening cookies were great and a nice added touch to the overall luxurious feeling of the resort. Sadly, I cannot comment on the breakfast as it was not available due to the renovation underway. However, we did receive a voucher for breakfast as Sammy's Kitchen right across the street. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely plan to stay there again soon!

Room Tip: If you stay during the off season, I recommend saving a little money and just get a standard room. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astitchintime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Avenue and for the very nice review. I am sure sharing your experience on Tripadvisor will be helpful to guests looking to stay with us and for that I am sincerely grateful. We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us agin soon.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    284
    56
    10
    10
See reviews for
585
590
32
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Avenue Inn and Spa, although in the finishing stages of lobby renovation, was still a delightful experience for us on a weekend trip to Rehoboth Beach to celebrate my wife's birthday. The inn is very conveniently located about two blocks from the RB boardwalk and is in the middle of the downtown commercial district of Rehoboth Beach. We parked the car in the underground garage on Friday night and next go into it when we drove away Sunday afternoon. The room was very comfortable, spacious and nicely appointed; we were on the top floor, but nowhere in the building was noise ever a problem. With the inn completing renovations, food wasn't available on site (coffee, tea and cookies available in the temporary check-in area), we received a voucher to use at Sammy's Restaurant - directly across the street - where we had a very good breakfast both mornings.The service staff was accommodating and friendly and laid-back, which added to the relaxed enjoyment of our stay. Rehoboth Beach is filled with interesting and (some) unusual shops, and we just didn't have enough time to explore all the possibilities. On a warm summer day the beach is but a block or so away, and the hotel offers its own aquatic amenities, including a sauna, pool and sun deck. Very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Cannot rate restaurant, since it was not available at the hotel. Our balcony faced on to Wilmington...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenguinInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the very well detailed review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and within the town. I hope you will have then opportunity to stay with us again after the lobby renovation is complete, which should be by May 15.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We loved everything about this Hotel ! The Staff was so very friendly and the accomodations were fantastic ! Everything was very clean and well maintained ! My wife and I felt like ViP High Rollers ! One thing different we would maybe reccommend is that you would offer like a bottle of wine and flower pedels for the romantic rooms such as the one we stayed in, the Jacuzzi Room ! We will definitely recommend this place to all our friends and family and we will definitely be coming back to the Avenue Inn and Spa again as well ! Thank You ! 4stars on the Stainless Steel Pool too ! :)

Room Tip: Luxury Jacuzzi room is where its at for the Romantics !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DopeyDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Always great to read wonderful reviews about our guests enjoying the experience we deliver at the Avenue. Thank you for the kind words and suggestion. Your choosing the Avenue and the review is sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We enjoyed the place, although when we stayed it had some issues that I think are being addressed by the current renovation. Location is good, parking is easy and convenient, being able to borrow beach chairs is a plus (although you need to get them early or they are all gone!) The breakfast overcrowding was the main issue in summer 2012: the small breakfast room was simply too small and guests had to sit or stand in the lobby or take their food up to their rooms. Also, the fitness room was small and at least one of the machines was not operating when we were there. But otherwise it is a good, solid hotel and to be recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms with view of rooftops and Rehoboth Avenue. Not noisy, and unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerlin4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Rehoboth and for taking the time to share your experience. Your concerns with the hotel breakfast room and fitness room are indeed being met with the improvements we are currently undertaking. I hope you will have the chance to see the finished prodcut in a couple of months.
Cheers
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Avenue several times over the years and have always been very pleased with our accomodations. It is clean and quiet. The wine, cheese, and chocolate chip cookies are a special touch.

Room Tip: The King-size suite with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub is a private oasis. Its worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you Shawn for choosing the Avenue when visiting Rehoboth. I greatly appreciate your continued business and for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great hospitality, clean rooms, wonderful location. There over the weekend so no construction. Wine and cheese in the lobby a real bonus and a surprise. Be sure to check out the indoor stainless steel pool!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootsieroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your review and for choosing to stay with us at the Avenue.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Every winter we spend a weekend at the Avenue Inn while visiting Rehoboth Beach. We always have a great experience. Even though they have major renovations going on they have worked to accommodate their guests. The hotel is clean, high end and their staff is wonderful. It is the small touches like cookies at night and wine and cheese in the evening. We always have a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and for the kind words, both are sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#6 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Property: Avenue Inn & Spa
Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Avenue Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing