We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere but difficult swimming and water is grey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rehoboth Beach

Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A sandy public beach that offers various organized sports activities every evening during the summer plus special designated areas for surfing and surf fishing.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but difficult swimming and water is grey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Beach was very nice, restaurants are nearby, but we are spending our "beach week" at another beach because going into the water at Rehoboth is very rough. Both my husband, who is a large man, and my self were repeatedly knocked down. Water is also grey. We live in New York state and will be heading to North Carolina next year, with a stop coming and going in Rehoboth to break up the trip. Rehoboth is an awesome beach town; beach is really nice place to spend time with restaurants and clean restrooms, but the ocean is not too enjoyable if you like to enjoy the water.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lefluidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    683
    288
    98
    33
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not my favorite...But Handicapped Accesible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you are looking for sand pipers darting back and forth against the waves, this is not the beach for you. This is a man made - or at least maintained beach. We found the beach at the water's edge to be quite steep, the result was that the waves broke right at the shoreline. Not good for body surfing!

However, my wife is disabled. This was the most accessible beach we have ever seen. At two entrances, they have plastic Mats that cross the dune line and end at the sand fence at the start of the beach. A wheelchair move just fine on it. From there they have beach accessible wheelchairs available on a first come first serve basis. These chairs were great! I was able to get my wife to the water's edge!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oley, PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our favorite beach! Always clean and safe. Families are always nice. Plenty of shops and food options on the boardwalk. Showers and public restrooms are available. We enjoy picnicking on the beach. The beach is quite full by the main drag, we go towards the residential areas to the left or right and off- season is the best! You can get parking passes to park on the residential areas two blocks off the beach( King Charles blvd). Great beach for families with kids, lots of life guards.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rehobeth Beach - family visit - Sept 2013 weekend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The family visited Rehobeth beach during September 2013. We had an easy time parking near the boardwalk, and nearly all the local shops were open. The vibe on the boardwalk and the beach was nice. We chose to do most of our swimming at Ocean City where the beach didn't descend quite as steeply into the ocean, but we probably could have done more research and found a section of more level beach somewhere in Rehobeth.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
327 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Fun place to be, There are plenty of places to eat, shop, relax and have a good time. Beach is kept very clean and there are plenty of well cared for restrooms. Parking can be a pain but we always get there early and beat the traffic and parking issues if we are not staying over.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grayhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rehoboth Beach also viewed

 

Been to Rehoboth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing