We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tasty, but expensive, waffles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Coffee House and Bake Shoppe

The Point Coffee House and Bake Shoppe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: The Point Coffee House and Bake Shoppe offers a wide variety of house-roasted coffees, freshly baked items, soups, salads, sandwiches and more! Complimentary parking and WiFi, indoor and outdoor dining.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tasty, but expensive, waffles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I find it interesting that if I wake up at my hotel in the morning, I can make my own waffles for free and eat as many as I want. When I order it from The Point, I pay $8 per plain waffle for the distinct pleasure of doing so. Albeit, the waffles are delicious (and a reason to come here if you get the toppings), but too pricey to warrant a trip out of the way.

I DO, however, love the coffee selection, offering about a dozen different flavors to try with free refills. Coffee blends from Sumatra, Tanzania, Peru and Australia are a welcome attraction to this place. I just can't reconcile that the bakery goods here are quite costly, but they can somehow afford to give you a cup for $2.25 and you could have all the expensive coffee you want.

Still, if you need a coffee fix and you love chocolate chip cookies, I highly recommend this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    42
    19
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My favorite coffee shop--anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Everything about The Point is great: the coffee is excellent, the food is delicious, the staff is warm and attentive and the atmosphere conveys old-Rehoboth charm. All of this may cost a bit more, but it is well worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridgelifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pricy Coffee Shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Food is good & fresh. Good location & parking. The only thing was pricing - $8.25 for a slice of quiche, about $6 for a single waffle. I can't seem to get out of here for less than $10 - $11/pp

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1gelato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The coffee and the snacks and atmosphere were excellent! If you are looking for a breakfast, snack or great coffee, this is your place. The coffee was absolutely great! The service and atmosphere make this a fantastic coffee shop. Stop here!

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went here on a whim when the places we wanted to go were closed for the season. It was so good. My husband and I both ordered the croissant with ham, egg and cheese. It really hit the spot. My husband also got the cheese danish and said it was one of the best he ever had. The coffee was good and the staff was incredibly nice, even with my wild children.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmcnutt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Coffee House and Bake Shoppe also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to The Point Coffee House and Bake Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing