We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveler rating
144
174
192
104
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
144
174
192
104
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off season pull out couch the main street board walk free parking beach chairs housekeeping staff this past weekend restaurants and shops omelet ocean roland boardwalk rehoboth delaware funland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 695 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2016

This is what the hotel has going for it. The beach is right out the front door. The staff is warm and friendly. I agree with the others the hotel needs updated for the price you pay. The one thing that annoyed me was that if I wanted to use the in room safe I had to paid for it. For the money we paid it should be included. Would we stay here again maybe if the price was right just for the location

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016

If it weren't for the location, the Atlantic Sands would be another rundown hotel at the beach. As stated by others the exterior is very nice. The staff are warm and helpful. However, the rooms are dated, the beds are uncomfortable and old and the wifi is sketchy. The hotel charges far too much not to be reinvesting in the property with updates.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

The Atlantic Sands has the perfect location! On the boardwalk across from the beach. It is a little dated but kept up pretty well. We were on the 3rd floor right across from the elevator, which at first we were not happy with. Then we realized that not many people used or knew about that elevator so it was ok. We had a nice side view of the ocean which was great at sunrise. The room was clean, the bathroom needs a little love. The boardwalk restaurant was ok. The staff was nice & willing to answer questions. It's a little pricey but it was the end of August. Overall is was a nice, relaxing mini vacation. They really should focus on updating/renovating the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chrisjs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, Director of Sales at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that is was enhanced by our clean and comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff members and good food in our restaurants. The Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center invests hundreds of thousands of dollars in on-going maintenance and upgrades to the property each year and will continue those investments in order to meet our goal of making each and every guest stay and mini-vacation here a most enjoyable one. We hope you’ll stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

The hotel from the outside looks pretty cool and the location is great. When you 1st walk in the lobby is nice, but once you get into your room its another story. The 1st bad experience was not even being able to get into our room. Our key card was a hit and miss with opening the door. Once inside the room I was shocked by how small they were and not very clean at all. The carpet was outdated and the comforter was old and had a musty smell. Balcony had sand and hard to see the ocean when sitting down due to all the fingers prints and smears on the glass. The bathroom and the tub were just gross.They need a new shower curtain, tub, sink and toilet. Actually, the entire bathroom needs to be re-done!!! So grossed out, because there is nothing like seeing someone's hair in the tub and not being your own. Considering we paid over $400 a night I was expecting a lot more for our money. Which in my opinion NO hotel at the shore should charge $400 a night, unless its a couples only retreat. Pretty sad that you can take your kids to Disney World cheaper than what you pay for a few nights down at the shore!

Room tip: Save the money!!!!
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, Director of Sales at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay. The experience you describe is not typical of the standard of care and guest experience we provide so your comments are important to us. Your review will be shared with the managers responsible for maintenance and housekeeping so that improvements can be made. It is always our intent to provide each of our guests a clean, comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

The Atlantic Sands' location is its greatest asset. It's obvious that it was once a grander property, and if it were renovated it would be a 5-star, in my book.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and common areas were clean and well maintained. Our room was a corner king in the 'Ambassador' wing, and it was spacious, well appointed, clean, comfy - with great ocean views (front and side). The furnishings and carpet were worn, though reasonably clean - especially for a heavily trafficked beach property. The only real drawback for me was our bathroom shower and bathtub. It's small and not designed for comfort or baths.

A general negative about Atlantic Sands is their overpricing, and $25 charge for any changes after your reservation is made. Even if you're several weeks out and need to change your reservation by a day or to cancel - they still get their $25. I guess it's understandable because so many people change their minds, but it borders on greed.

Don't know if we'll return to that property but we did enjoy the close proximity to the beach, as well as their nice outdoor pool.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, Director of Sales at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Our oceanfront corner king rooms do offer spectacular views, don’t they? We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed not only your room and the views but our pool and friendly staff, too. A clean, comfortable room and a cheerful greeting from our staff members help to make a stay enjoyable and we’re happy that you enjoyed yours while you were here. With comparison, we believe you’ll find that our rates and cancellation policies are actually very competitive with other hotels in town (many of which charge guests for parking and have more stringent cancellation policies than ours). We are confident in the consistent value our hotel’s amenities, comfort level and location provide and sincerely hope that you’ll continue to choose to stay with us with equal confidence, too. Our hotel management and staff are committed to policies and on-going improvements that will ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews