We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nothing 'new' here. Top notch location, but suites are small, a family of four will just have enough space to move around in a Suite. Room quality was average at best with our refrigerator broken and the ceiling cracked. Surprisingly the Hotel suffers from a shortage of pillows, yes, pillows! Our room was equipped with couch pillows for sleeping.
On the plus side, pool is clean, and there is outdoor bar on premises so you can self medicate yourself to prepare for a restless night of sleep on you throw pillow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcnj0000 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

We realize that not all guests may be familiar with European style square pillows that are used in many fine hotels now and wish you had asked our front desk or housekeeping staff for traditional pillows, as we would have been happy to provide them. There’s no shortage of pillows here and our staff is happy to address any concerns or questions a guest may have about pillows, refrigerators or any of the amenities provided in our guest rooms. We’re proud of our heritage as a landmark oceanfront hotel in Rehoboth Beach and the many renovations and upgrades we have made in the past two years as well as our ongoing projects to beautify our property and make it more enjoyable for all of our guests. We’re happy you enjoyed our brand new pool and Sandcrab beach bar, as well as our fantastic location on the beach and boardwalk and we invite you to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 622 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just spent the weekend at the best kept secret in Rehoboth Beach Delaware. This hotel was very reasonably priced, amazingly clean with the perfect location. It sits right on the Boardwalk, within easy walking distance of the main shopping/dining avenue. We were lucky to have Tommy and Paige as our poolside servers both days we were there. These two employees worked long hours and when we saw them early into their shift their smiles, efficiency, and great personalities were the same ten hours later as their shift ended. They helped make our Atlantic Sands stay a PERFECT weekend get-away. Every member of the staff was helpful, pleasant and very knowledgeable about the area, dining spots, and shopping venues. The pool overlooking the ocean was peaceful and relaxing - the towels and beach chairs were like new.. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I had read a review about it being loud at night on the weekends and am very glad I overlooked that possibility. After 9pm on both Friday and Saturday night, we heard nothing that I would have considered noisy or aggravating. EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT choice!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room and could see and hear the ocean from our balcony ----it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Bette, your review sure made us proud today! The buttons on Tommy and Paige’s shirts may pop off, in fact! Our entire staff works hard to make sure guests like you enjoy every minute and aspect of their stay here at the Atlantic Sands Hotel! When we receive glowing reviews like yours we try even harder! We, frankly, cannot add much to your comments except a big THANK YOU! We appreciate you and your comments and sure look forward to the chance to “wow” you with our service again soon! We’ll continue to do our best! Thanks, again for the nod of approval! It means a great deal to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is our second year here and likely our last. The first year I liked most everything except the "kitchen" which is really just a leaky mini fridge, a cabinet, a small sink and a microwave. However, it got me off the hook for any food preparation and we adapted to the small quarters and the kids loved the pool and location. My husbands complaint was the noise at night. When I called to make reservations for this year, I mentioned the noise concern and was assured that the mandatory quiet at 9pm was enforced. Let me tell you, it's not. As I right this, I have already called the front desk twice and it's done no good. Doors slamming, kids screaming, adults/kids laughing and talking loudly and kids running up and down the halls at 10:15pm. Between that and the pool not working the first two days we got here, I don't think it's worth the high price of almost $300 per night...so we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3kidsihave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

June is a very popular month for wedding parties and youth sports teams on weekends and we regret that occasionally some of our guests are not respectful of others in the hotel. Our advertised “quiet time” is later than 9 p.m. however and our security team is generally able to quiet noisy children and overly excited guests. We are very sorry that you were disturbed. The Atlantic Sands Hotel does not have, or advertise, kitchens but does provide a microwave, coffee maker and mini-fridge in all rooms for the convenience of guests. Some suites also feature granite countertops and cabinets with a small sink in the hospitality area of the rooms. We are sorry you may not plan to vacation with us in the future, despite how much your children enjoy our pool, but appreciate the fact that you rated our location and cleanliness so highly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Was at the Sands ( wasn't that a famous Las Vegas haunt? ) in early June. I'll mention the only real negative 1st. At the last minute, after having been promised otherwise, we find that the new pool and tiki bar would not be open. I imagine they waited to the last minute to let us know to make it difficult to change plans and go elsewhere....which we probably would have. A chintzy 10% discount was all they offered.
Other than that, all else great. Fabulous location on boardwalk and beach...everything you could possibly want within walking distance. Free beach chairs and towels provided. Ocean was polar cold but I still loved it! Nice showers coming off the beach. The wedding event cocktail party on roof of hotel was spectacular, awesome views. Also the reception hall on the 3rd floor had great views of the beach with floor to ceiling glass panels.
Unless you have to have it, don't spend extra for ocean front rooms....ocean view rooms have big balconies with excellent view of the water. We had a roomy suite, nice having two TV's in different rooms. My wife complained that the AC wasn't doing the job.....I didn't really notice. She was also miffed at having only one mirror in entire suite. All staff was friendly. Mojo cafe had good java and bagels.......lady cashier super friendly. On site parking garage was decent....one elevator was broken. All in all a pretty spiffy place. No 1# amenity is location!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HighwayStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed our hotel, our location, our coffee shop and the views! Our cafe and pool were closed, temporarily (they are open now), and we certainly weren't planning on or happy about disappointing any of our guests with that news!
Everything is open and we hope you'll be back to enjoy a stay with us again. Your review will be shared with department leaders and we appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were very shocked at how clean our rooms were (we had 2). The pool was suppose to be open but was closed for inspection. We were a little disappointed but they did take a fair amount of money of each room each night. They also gave us the option to go somewhere else and we would be refunded.
I left a very Special article of clothing behind ( my daughters very expensive hoodie, her favorite) On our way back to pittsburgh I realized I left it. I spoke to two gentlemen who were not very helpful, but then I spoke to Nina who was wonderful! I received my hoodie today via UPS. We will definitely stay again! We also were able to check in early, which is such a blessing with little ones.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyoffour2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

While we aren’t able to guarantee check in before 4 p.m., we do try to allow guests to check in early if their room is ready. We’re happy that you were able to check in early and that you enjoyed your stay. Our pool was unexpectedly closed, temporarily, and nobody was more upset about that than we were! It’s brand new so we want all our guests to enjoy it and we sure are happy that it is open again now! Thanks for mentioning how honest our Housekeeping staff members are and what a great job they do to keep our hotel clean. Returning the personal item was our pleasure. Nina and others here at the Atlantic Sands understand how much it means to have a treasured item returned. Thank you for your comments! Take care of that hoodie and please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This beachfront hotel has a great location on the beach only a block from the center. The hotel provides free chairs and beach umbrellas for guests - a
nice amenity. The bathroom left something to be desired - small with one mirror and low water pressure. There were no other mirrors in the room! What's up with that!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnamcdofmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Donna, we will take your comments regarding the need for additional mirrors into consideration; thank you for providing constructive feedback regarding your stay. Our maintenance manager has also been advised of your room number so that he can check water pressure there. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our location and amenities and hope that you’ll find your next visit even more enjoyable than your most recent one. We are serious about providing our guests a nice place to have a good time each and every time they visit and stay with us and hope you’ll continue to find that to be true each time you stay with us. Changes and improvements are ongoing throughout our property as many of our long-time guests have witnessed down through the many years they have chosen to stay here at the Atlantic Sands Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Atlantic Sands is an old hotel and parts of it are dated. However, the rooms are renovated, they are clean, large and comfortable. The hotel is right on the boardwalk and it is easy to walk to most parts of Rehoboth Beach. There is free parking at the hotel and it has an adequate restaurant. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A good hotel at a good price.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Your summation is much appreciated. We continue to focus attention on upgrades to our facility and services so our guests may enjoy not only our outstanding location, but a clean and very comfortable stay. Acknowledging our work in these areas and our friendly and capable staff was very nice of you. We too, believe the Atlantic Sands offers a fine value and great option for beach-goers overnighting or vacationing in Rehoboth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
681 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: $99 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront and on the boardwalk, the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center is centrally located within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants, clubs, galleries, live theatre productions, arcade games and (of course) the beach! Our seasonal restaurant, outdoor oceanfront beach bar, coffee shop and outdoor pool are added bonuses! With over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space too, the Atlantic Sands is host to weddings, conferences, meetings and banquets of all kinds. Our oceanfront rooftop patio can be reserved for cocktail events, wedding ceremonies and more. Complimentary Wi-Fi and parking for overnight guests, comfortable rooms, the friendliest and most capable staff in town, and a location that can't be beat has made the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center many people's first choice for decades! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing