We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This beachfront hotel has a great location on the beach only a block from the center. The hotel provides free chairs and beach umbrellas for guests - a
nice amenity. The bathroom left something to be desired - small with one mirror and low water pressure. There were no other mirrors in the room! What's up with that!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnamcdofmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Donna, we will take your comments regarding the need for additional mirrors into consideration; thank you for providing constructive feedback regarding your stay. Our maintenance manager has also been advised of your room number so that he can check water pressure there. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our location and amenities and hope that you’ll find your next visit even more enjoyable than your most recent one. We are serious about providing our guests a nice place to have a good time each and every time they visit and stay with us and hope you’ll continue to find that to be true each time you stay with us. Changes and improvements are ongoing throughout our property as many of our long-time guests have witnessed down through the many years they have chosen to stay here at the Atlantic Sands Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 610 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Atlantic Sands is an old hotel and parts of it are dated. However, the rooms are renovated, they are clean, large and comfortable. The hotel is right on the boardwalk and it is easy to walk to most parts of Rehoboth Beach. There is free parking at the hotel and it has an adequate restaurant. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A good hotel at a good price.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Your summation is much appreciated. We continue to focus attention on upgrades to our facility and services so our guests may enjoy not only our outstanding location, but a clean and very comfortable stay. Acknowledging our work in these areas and our friendly and capable staff was very nice of you. We too, believe the Atlantic Sands offers a fine value and great option for beach-goers overnighting or vacationing in Rehoboth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We made reservations at another nearby hotel for Memorial Day Weekend 2014 since the Atlantic Sands hotel where we usually stay was not available with two queen beds. When we arrived at the other hotel the room and its location were not at all what was described to us. We needed a room from where we could watch our two boys play at the beach. I talked to the manager at the Atlantic Sands Hotel and explained the situation to him he found a suitable room for us after some searching. We were able to enjoy our vacation because of all the help from the hotel staff who were very accommodating and attentive. I highly recommend staying! This hotel has a great location on the boardwalk and the staff is very professional and courteous.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you! It is always nice to know our efforts to be attentive to and accommodate guests are appreciated! We were pleased too, that we were able to meet your needs at the last minute and provide you a suitable room and location so that your children could enjoy the beach under your watchful eye! We look forward to welcoming you and your boys back to the Atlantic Sands Hotel and hope that you’ll visit again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I unfortunately left a personal item in our room when we checked out. I called less than 24 hours later and was told it was not in the room - even though no one else had used the room. That was impossible. I have attempted to make hotel manager aware of situation and he will not return my phone calls. Extremely disappointed in their complete disregard for someone's personal effects and manager's lack of response. In addition there was a wedding on our floor. Guests were drunk and extremely noisy from 11PM to 4 AM. In morning, there was food smeared in the hallway and broken dishes. Understand there is no way to anticipate this type of behavior, just sharing for what it is worth. You might want to ask about events being held on the floor that your room is located and request a change, if an evening event is being held.

Room Tip: If events are being held in conference rooms, ask for a room on a floor where an event is not being...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuvSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We do our best to manage and control events, such as wedding receptions, so that they or their attendees are not a disturbance to other guests. As you noted, despite our best efforts, some are occasionally not as considerate and mindful of our other guests and our policies as they should be. Our security team did their best to quiet a couple of revelers that night and we apologize for the fact that your rest was disrupted in any way. More than one manager responded immediately to your inquiry about a misplaced item, although our GM was unavailable on the day you contacted us. Our housekeeping staff finds and returns items of every sort, including very valuable items such as iPads and wallets, and we assure you they would have returned the item you lost if it had been found in the room you vacated. We respect each and every one of our guests and make every effort to assure their comfort and safety during their stay. We sincerely regret that you lost an item of importance to you at some point during your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Rooms were as advertised on the booking service site, direct-facing oceanfront with balcony, but they were surprisingly nicer than we had expected (or recalled from a stay there many years ago) and better than expected from some of the reviews we had read.

The staff was superb. The front-desk clerk noticed my wife was using a cane to climb the steps at the door nearest the front desk from a sprain she had endured the day before. She was quick to offer a first-floor room if we desired a change, though we stuck with our third-floor rooms, and she pointed out a nearby ramp we hadn't noticed. We had emailed ahead based on the mail address for a Sands official provided on booking.com and requested two adjoining or at least "close" rooms. Sands acknowledged the request by email in advance and while they did not make any promises, upon check-in they provided two side-by-side oceanfront rooms as requested.

We had read on TripAdvisor.com that the pool area was under construction during May, and although that extended into evening hours, we only heard one piece of equipment briefly around 8:15 p.m. I read one reviewer irritated by the construction; it did not bother us, and from our balcony view we mostly were looking "above" the pool at the surf and not disturbed by construction at ground level. Of course, reading TripAdvisor, we were already psyched for this.

I would recommend the Sands for anyone looking for sub-luxury prices for a comfortable, clean room where location on the boardwalk is desired. We have often stayed out on the highway or down at Dewey Beach over the years to save a few bucks, feeling that after driving to Rehoboth for a busy day at the beach we just come back to the hotel at night to crash and sleep. When some colder weather mid-May curtailed beachgoing, it was nice for our twentysomething kids to be able to enjoy the nearby establishments in the evening and just walk back to a hotel on the boardwalk. As for cheaper hotels, we had a bad experience with unclean sheets at our last Dewey Best Western stay, unchanged from previous tenant's stay; clean sheets are worth paying a higher rate. Wi-fi was fine.

Count one satisfied customer here. Wife adds, "When they do finish the pool refurb, it looks to be spectacular."

Room Tip: Note difference in room descriptions on some sites between ocean view and beachfront balcony view...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjemison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Your comprehensive and flattering review is much appreciated. Thank you. That you enjoyed your stay and were able to positively compare our facility and staff to that other hotels in the area rewards us with the knowledge that our efforts to provide wonderful guest experiences are noticed. We are so pleased that you recognized the value of our facility and the caring service provided you, your wife and family. Please do visit again, and frequently, to enjoy our hospitality as well as our many ongoing improvements and special new amenities again! Thank you, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The staff was genuinely nice and the views are breathtaking. I highly recommend staying here to anyone looking for a relaxing fun-filled weekend at the beach. Me gusta a la playa. Peace and God Bless!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

It is always nice to see a guest acknowledge our staff for friendly service and to report an enjoyable stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our fine hotel and the beautiful views our oceanfront location provides. We would love to welcome you again. Please visit soon, and often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for a baseball tournament and the fee was pretty steep for being a group discount rate for a group of children. They only had Double Beds and a couple King Beds but no Queen size beds. There was no coffee or restaurants or breakfast food on site. You could see the ocean from your room which was nice and they did have a pool but it wasn't open.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

The hotel was actually booked to near capacity last weekend so, those who called and booked rooms before you (including most of your own team) had already reserved all the two-room suites which had two queen beds and separate living areas as well as the king bedded rooms. The rooms that remained available were ocean view rooms with two double beds. Mojo (our coffee shop, just off our lobby) was open from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. every day of your stay, serving fresh hot coffee, cappuccino, yogurt, breakfast sandwiches, cold drinks, pastries and more. Our outdoor oceanfront pool is not open in April when temperatures are typically in the 50’s and 60’s.

The Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center has 178 suites and rooms available on a first come-first reserve basis, our new oceanfront saltwater pool will open Memorial Day weekend, and our oceanfront Atlantic Boardwalk Grille restaurant and outdoor Sandcrab beach bar will also open in May. Your team, as most groups booking multiple rooms, was provided a discounted rate. We regret that you did not fully appreciate the value of your stay with us or the amenities provided. Perhaps an advance booking when warmer weather arrives might offer you an opportunity for you to enjoy one of our larger suites as well as the new pool, beach, and each of our restaurants. We would welcome your call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
279 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: $125 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront and on the boardwalk, the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center is centrally located within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants, clubs, galleries, live theatre productions, arcade games and (of course) the beach! Our seasonal restaurant, outdoor oceanfront beach bar, coffee shop and outdoor pool are added bonuses! With over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space too, the Atlantic Sands is host to weddings, conferences, meetings and banquets of all kinds. Our oceanfront rooftop patio can be reserved for cocktail events, wedding ceremonies and more. Complimentary Wi-Fi and parking for overnight guests, comfortable rooms, the friendliest and most capable staff in town, and a location that can't be beat has made the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center many people's first choice for decades! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing