We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Birthday trip to Rehobeth Beach, DE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Birthday trip to Rehobeth Beach, DE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My bf took me to Rehobeth for the weekend for my birthday and we stayed at the Atlantic Sands Hotel. We had a beach front suite with two big sliding glass doors over looking the ocean. The view was perfect. The room was large and very clean.
Would definitely book this room again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you. Our goal is to make sure every guest feels as if it’s a special day when staying at the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center! We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your room and stay at our beachfront hotel! Please visit again, and often! We’d love to welcome you back to Rehoboth Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    133
    154
    86
    64
See reviews for
188
128
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poplar Branch, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great View from our room, pricey for off season, room needed repairs and updated . Lamp broken-left hanging...we unplugged it !, ac made so much noise it woke us up every time the compressor cut on..we told the clerk ...she offered--SORRY..... Lamp shades had holes in them, wall paper in bath room leaves much to be desired-poor workmanship but the room was clean and the room spacious. We liked being able to walk everywhere in town, the town was still "alive" in late Oct.not like Ocean City (dead). On the down side the hotel is a MAZE once you get inside...easy to loose your way to your room or find an elevator to get to the lobby.i

Room Tip: Cut the AC on first, check all the lights ....ask for a MAP TO FIND YOUR ROOM !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBXEASYRIDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros: It's in a great location, has on site parking and while dated the room was comfortable.

Cons: I've stayed in enough of these mid-tier, beach front hotels to expect some wear and tear but some things don't fly with me. At the top of my list would be having a clean bathroom. As such I was put off by the copious amount of mildew around the tub/shower enclosure and the brown "caulk" ring around the bottom of the toilet. The other thing I found annoying, especially for a room in this price range, was that every time we opened or closed the curtains pieces of the ceiling ended up on the floor.

This wasn't our first stay with Atlantic Sands but definitely our last until they do some renovations.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank natron06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Additional rooms are scheduled to be taken off market for upgrades and repairs beginning in November. We hope that you’ll enjoy the improvements and find the Atlantic Sands meets all of your expectations on your next visit. Our improvements to the property are on-going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

this place really needs an update. beds have the roll to the center effect. walls are thin as well. not a place i would stay again. too much money for this place. should be a two star in my opinion. great location on the ocean & boardwalk but staff always seems put out restaurant only open on the weekend as I guess we are out of season. it's October 20th nice to have the ocean to ourselves

Room Tip: use a booking engine as we paid $30 less than pricing when we called. would have been very unhappy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRtravelerDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the sands for Jazz fest weekend. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The room itself looks like it mainly had cosmetic update rather than a full renovation. For example granite counter tops and sink in the bathroom yet the floor is still old grey tile that does not match the carpeting in the room nor the tan granite sinks. lLok up and you realize a major corner had been cut; the low drop ceiling had been painted and edges sealed where the metal meets the panel and is rusty near the shower. It does not end there, the main doer near the balcony and the surrounding window had an obvious issue that was not addressed. Every time you opened or closed the blinds a chunk of plaster came down on you or fell into the air conditioner. Edges of the room were dusty and so were the lampshades. The two beds have two different sheet patterns and a plain tan blanket had burn holes on it. The spread at the bottom was the only thing that looked nice. This looks like hell and needs to be addressed! The balcony had 3 different colors of paint on the cement and the chairs out there were cheap, old and stained. Basically this lack of attention in these areas is not expected at this price point. No complimentary breakfast or even coffee is provided as is common in many of the other hotels in Rehoboth. The view to the ocean however is excellent. We will probably stay again just for that but home these issues with the room will be addressed. Hope this review helps.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a full balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vactioner05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff members. We appreciate your comments and want you to know that more upgrades and improvements to rooms at the hotel are planned to begin in the next few weeks. Our efforts to improve the facility are ongoing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Mold in bathroom and interior walls, nails/tacks sticking out of carpet cut our feet, electrical wiring hazard causing microwave to stop working, rude maintenance staff banging/hammering/drilling/yelling at 8am and loud ignorant housekeeping employees barging into our room TWO HOURS before check out time make your hotel a place we will never visit again. I will be sure to tell everyone in earshot of such details as well.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Our Housekeeping and Maintenance Director have been made aware of this review. We regret the problems reported by this guest and are investigating. Appropriate action will be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just stayed during the long Columbus Day Holiday weekend. Sadly a small tropical storm was parked right off the coast of Delaware and made the beach community a little rainy and very windy. This of course made for the views, and the central location harder to appreciate but here goes our review.

The location is right on the boardwalk in Rehoboth Beach and an easy walking distance to all that Rehoboth Beach has to offer. Check in was simple with parking spots in front for those checking in and then self parking garage right at the site. Navigating the building is a little impaired as they only have signs and no commonly placed maps to help. This made things challenging when we checked out and I picked up one of the luggage dolly and got off on the 4th floor conference side and not the 4R for the hotel side so I had to go down a couple of steps. We had a limited view of the beach from our balcony and it was nice, and could only imagine it being better if the rain and wind had not prevented us from trying to sit out there.

The building itself is showings it age, older carpets, smaller elevators with musty smell and rooms could use a face lift. The price was acceptable for a holiday weekend in the off season but I imagine during the summer it is more pricey. They have a pool (which was closed) which is facing the ocean and there is a roof deck area too. We had to go out for breakfast as the café barely had anything other than coffee and standard eggs, cheese and pick your protein on a bagel sandwich. Remarkably though when comparing prices to places in town this was only $30 a night more expensive so having easy beach access was appreciated and does give this place value. Wish I had a better weekend to be able to actually experience and have a better perspective of the location.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a better view Don't forget Dogfish Head has a restaurant in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#7 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,770 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 101 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront and on the boardwalk, the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center is centrally located within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants, clubs, galleries, live theatre productions, arcade games and (of course) the beach! Our seasonal restaurant, outdoor oceanfront beach bar, coffee shop and outdoor pool are added bonuses! With over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space too, the Atlantic Sands is host to weddings, conferences, meetings and banquets of all kinds. Our oceanfront rooftop patio can be reserved for cocktail events, wedding ceremonies and more. Complimentary Wi-Fi and parking for overnight guests, comfortable rooms, the friendliest and most capable staff in town, and a location that can't be beat has made the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center many people's first choice for decades! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing