We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Had a Great time in Rehoboth - Can't wait to return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Had a Great time in Rehoboth - Can't wait to return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. We went to a great theater production at the old church (now a theater) right across the street. Right on the boardwalk, the pool was very nice, the hotel provided beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach to hotel guests. The shops in Rehoboth are great. Stayed there Sunday to Wednesday - had a nice room with balcony, microwave, fridge, wet bar, and a coffee maker. The staff was very helpful. My family had a Great time in Rehoboth - We Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We had a huge room away from the boardwalk and beach. It had a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phinphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay! It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Atlantic Sands again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    128
    146
    85
    63
See reviews for
176
124
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
242 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Average hotel with clean room and comfortable bed..Different things need improvement or updating..Slooow elevator..Definetly not worth $400 + a nite..Stayed in similar priced hotels in Rehoboth that are way better

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAllentown_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked the hotel at the last minute and the rate was ok
The hotel is the best location
Yes it does need a facelift but it was clean ( the towels sheets) there is a micrwave and fridge a coffee maker with coffee suger)
The pool is fine
And once again the best location
We had lots of fun

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Galia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
As we continue upgrades and updates at the property, it is nice to hear from one of the many guests who enjoy our location and our hotel each day! Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated and you, like all our guests, are highly valued! We hope you will visit us each time you want to enjoy Rehoboth Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Ct
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place is a nightmare. If location is the only thing that matters to you then sure spend the $400 plus but if you care about your safety then stay away. I will say they have one great employee her name was Nina. Other than her the managers were terrible . We stayed there for a baseball tournament from July 18th through the 23rd, at first glance the location can not be beat. The price is way off for the room quality, we were in room 212 it looked like something out of the 70's. When we checked in I had to convince the women at the desk that I didn't hand her $1400. In cash this took at least 15 mins that me and my husband couldn't believe it. She had made $1000.00 mistake and was rude when we were trying to be honest! We didn't even get a thank you from anyone after saving them a grand! On the day before we checked out we had taken a walk on the boardwalk we came back to our room and found a master key to ALL the rooms on our floor! I was in shock, went to talk to the manager but they were gone for the day. So upon checkout I asked to see a manager she was the most unprofessional person I have ever delt with. She didn't care that we turned in the master key or had saved them $1000.00 . They have no security no cameras nothing we could have wiped out the whole place in an hour. Never mind if a sick minded person had gotten a hold of that key there were young kids all over the place. She told me there was nothing that she could do and I said there should be it took her a good fifteen minutes to take a $100. Bucks off our bill if my daughter wasn't standing next to me I would have told her what to do with her credit. I have emailed the General Manager on July 27 th and still have not had a response nor do I expect one . So stay there if your not afraid to be robed or even worse! And I'm sure if you report it they won't care! Totally discussed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We appreciated this guest's concerns and honesty, and did compensate her quite generously for it. Unfamiliar with hotel industry standards, she was not aware that our security cameras are not in plain view or that when an employee misplaces a master key (which is rare) the front desk renders it useless. Our management team responds to all guest concerns in a manner consistent with appropriate and professional business standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I booked this hotel in March for a two night stay at Rehoboth Beach with my husband and 9 yr. old daughter. For $378 a night, you'd think they'd heat their outdoor pool. Nope. You'd think their Wi-Fi would actually work. Nope. You'd think you could actually control the water temperature in your shower. Nope It's either all hot (too hot) or all cold. Oh, and the Hot and Cold markings on the shower are reversed. We stayed in room 206, and thought we were getting a balcony view of the ocean. Nope. Oh, and the room had a weird plastic-like smell. The building is so shoddy that we could hear our upstairs neighbors anytime they moved around, and none of the doors in our room close correctly without a shove. I chose this hotel because it had an outdoor pool with a beach view. That's about the only thing that's true about this place.

Room Tip: I would never stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Room 206 is a very large room with two full baths. It does not have a balcony, but does have a nice view of the ocean. As an oceanfront hotel, many of our rooms do have balconies overlooking the ocean; However if one is required, this needs to be specified when reservations are made, as not all rooms are oceanfront or ocean view. The hotel pool is not advertised as being heated and the majority of our guests would not want it heated in August. We’re disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and wish you had informed our front desk or maintenance staff of any problems you may have encountered. Guest comfort is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Been going here with the family for a week for the past three years. As others have said, it's all about the location... and they seem to know it. This year we got 'renovated' rooms. The were spacious (although not ocean-front) and nice for entertaining because of the separate bedroom/living room area. Having children, it's nice to have the refrigerator and microwave for quick meals or snacks. And it's nice to have a hotel that's beach front and with a pool. But that's about the extent of it.

The 'renovated' rooms did NOT include any updates to the bathrooms. The carpeting didn't seem new, although we had tacks coming up through the rug that we stepped on all the time. I asked them to fix this but the only evidence they had been in our room to address the issue was the hammer we found in the room.

The hotel generally has a weird, strong odor of something that's probably a cleanser but overwhelming in the hallways. Our A/C never really worked very well-one side was freezing while we couldn't get the other side (the sleeping side) to get cool. The first time we called, they told us to be sure to keep all the doors closed so as to not let out the cool air. We then left for dinner and boardwalking. Five hours later, not much change. We endured the first night like this. I called again and they did something. It wasn't great, so we had to leave the fan on all the time. I think the only reason it finally got cold was because the temperature outside dropped. I think it was just our room, however, because friends stayed in the next room over and they didn't seem to have the same problem. When I complained the second time, the staff did offer to let us change rooms, but I didn't want to because our friends were next door.

The breakfast downstairs is actually pretty good, especially the made to order omelets.

This is walking distance to anywhere you'd want to go with children at the beach-amusement park, arcades, kid-friendly restaurants, and of course the beach. Not the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but not the worst, it's clean, has the amenities we need at the beach, and the staff was for the most part friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a room with a balcony---some rooms don't have one so there's no place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phxeastcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Same as 2012, I stayed July & going back again in September 2013 all because of the location.
What I do like about ASH is the location to the beach - wonderful. The room I get is very nice because of the size, but needs lots of inprovements. The view & the pool are great.
I totally agree with a lot of the complaints about the Atlantic Sands Hotel. I was told to look for improvements on my next trip. Well, we looked but did not see anything different this trip. On thing we did feel improved was the AC. Thank goodness for that, we had hot temps again during our stay & it was wonderful to come back into a room that was very cool & stayed that way all night. The room l request is a double room, very spacious, can use lots of improvements - new carpet, new matresses, the bathroom lighting got a bit better, only because they took the old plastic cover off , I could have done that. The shower heads are a mess, as before, where do they get these things. The TV cable is a mess, way too many unused channels - get them off the TV. The fridge, better this trip, kept things cold.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindab05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#19 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#6 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront and on the boardwalk, the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center is centrally located within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants, clubs, galleries, live theatre productions, arcade games and (of course) the beach! Our seasonal restaurant, outdoor oceanfront beach bar, coffee shop and outdoor pool are added bonuses! With over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space too, the Atlantic Sands is host to weddings, conferences, meetings and banquets of all kinds. Our oceanfront rooftop patio can be reserved for cocktail events, wedding ceremonies and more. Complimentary Wi-Fi and parking for overnight guests, comfortable rooms, the friendliest and most capable staff in town, and a location that can't be beat has made the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center many people's first choice for decades! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing