We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The vacation that was a nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Okay, I can understand things not being "perfect", but this hotel was totally unacceptable. No vent fan in bathroom so trying to dry hair and do makeup was uncomfortable. The only mirror
was above bathroom sink and no full length mirrors for dressing, etc. Room was "under construction" with a sink by the refrigerator and microwave that was not installed and sitting on the floor. "Closet" had no door and had been dry walled but not painted and dry wall dust got all over clothing. Tried to nap in afternoon and couldn't because renovations were taking place and drilling was going on in room above us. Maids were having a party in their lounge with the doors open and talking and laughing loudly. Closing doors loudly as they were going down the hall cleaning and talking loudly as well. Does staff not know a hotel is supposed to be QUIET? I notice breakfast is mentioned as an accommodation and it is not! The "coffee machine" in the room is a single cup brewer with one regular and one decaf packet and tastes terrible. Had to go to coffee shop next to hotel which is open for 4 hrs only from 7A-11A.
Ocean view is craning your neck around the corner of a balcony and a great view of parking lot and dumpsters. Air conditioning was loud, outdated and condensation was leaking on the floor. Spoke with manager and she never got back to us.
Save yourself a nightmare trip like ours and DON'T STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. There are many other hotels to choose from along the boardwalk. This is under...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We sincerely regret that we were unable to satisfy you during your stay. The manager who spoke with you about your noise concerns at 3 p.m. that Saturday took immediate steps to rectify the situation and came back to your room to find the “do not disturb” sign on the door. Our hotel staff members do all that they can to provide guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay and we regret that you did not have the same experience as those in the same type of rooms around you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 609 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is an OLD hotel with a dank, smelly, dated interior, and really, really, really BAD mattresses! We had to move the top mattress to the floor in order to sleep. Our room was listed as an "ocean view" which apparently means that if you lean your head out over the parking lot side balcony, you can see the ocean -- sort of. The staff was nice enough but NOT VERY HELPFUL. We were promised an upgrade to a king bed but was refused when we checked in. Stay some where else. Just saying.

Room Tip: don't stay here?
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Our goal is to provide our guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are sorry to learn that you were not among our satisfied guests, and regret that your concerns were not raised to management while you were still here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is our second time staying in this hotel. Somewhat dated in its decor, (hence not the 5 rating) but about to soon undergo an update. It doesn't matter, because the location can't be beat, the staff are very friendly and helpful and have always done their best to accomodate us. We have stayed in 3 different rooms, all of which were very clean, relaxing, and with a view of the ocean which is very important to us. This is absolutely our first choice hotel when staying in Rehoboth!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSQRDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you sharing your wonderful photo of the rays of sun streaming from the clouds above the beach and ocean! It is a beautiful example of the views from our oceanfront rooms! We are so pleased to know that you favor our hotel over others here in Rehoboth and we hope you will visit again soon! We remain committed to earning your your praise and hope you will continue to enjoy our service and facility, time after time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stay here frequently and no matter what part of the hotel we are in the wireless works extremely poorly. If you need reliable Internet connectivity, don't stay here.

Otherwise, the rooms are fine. No frills, but you pay for proximity to the beach. Nice views from all rooms. Staff is generally friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEAOBIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We are pleased that you are a frequent guest and hope that you have seen and will enjoy again some of the renovations and improvements we have been making to our hotel. The wireless service at the hotel has been greatly improved over the last year and we continue to monitor and correct any issues with the service. From time to time, when the hotel (including the restaurant and café) is filled to near capacity and guests are using multiple devices, there are issues with access. The majority of the time our guests find our free wireless service meets their needs. Still, we continue to monitor and enhance the strength and capacity of our system. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will notify our front desk manager during your stay if you encounter a problem during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I’m not sure how high or low to rate this property so as to be informative to the Trip Advisor inquirers. A listing of the positives will be somewhat countered by nagging little irritants never found at better lodgings. When thinking about the good points I suppose one could overlook the depleted batteries in the tv remote or the leaking toilet that flushes a top-up refill every five minutes or the free but erratic wi-fi. Could it be that these were concerns to my room only and will soon be remedied by hotel staff? An interior designer’s sample presentation board on display suggests major renovations are in the offing. Whether this would also translate into correcting the irritants by frequent battery replacement and new toilet flaps remains a question. The main positive is the hotel’s location on the boardwalk, allowing a short walk to the beach, shops, and fine restaurants; perhaps this alone is compelling enough to stay here. Covered parking beneath the hotel is another plus, avoiding the need to schlep luggage and beach gear long distances. When thinking about lodging for a beach vacation, one usually contemplates spending most of the time outside the room, so that all that is really necessary are clean sheets, clean towels, and a tv remote. I got two out of three.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mt2722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your business trip and stay and apologize for the two minor concerns you mentioned. I hope you contacted our front desk to have the batteries in the tv remote replaced and the other annoyance eliminated while you were here. Our goal is to ensure that every aspect of your stay here is enjoyable. We hope you’ll find it so on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great location next to the boardwalk and beach - great staff - good food - good value. Not be passed up whether coming to Rehoboth for a vacation or a meeting. The facility for a meeting was terrific.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lion_on_the_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you! We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our meeting facilities, too. We value and appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel on the boardwalk is an exciting place to stay while visiting Rehoboth, but the upkeep needs some improvements. Having stayed at many properties at beach locations, they usually have some amount of sand and mold smells, however we found that the Atlantic Sands had more than should be present. Must admit the food was great, cocktails overlooking the ocean and the staff all off set any negatives we may have encountered. Will be sure to stop by again and see if they have improved on their service. All in all it was an average stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodLifeJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

We appreciate your comments and will look into your concerns. Thank you for appreciating our staff and the food and beverages you enjoyed as well as our location! Do visit again! We continue to make improvements and hope you'll always enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
279 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: $127 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront and on the boardwalk, the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center is centrally located within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants, clubs, galleries, live theatre productions, arcade games and (of course) the beach! Our seasonal restaurant, outdoor oceanfront beach bar, coffee shop and outdoor pool are added bonuses! With over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space too, the Atlantic Sands is host to weddings, conferences, meetings and banquets of all kinds. Our oceanfront rooftop patio can be reserved for cocktail events, wedding ceremonies and more. Complimentary Wi-Fi and parking for overnight guests, comfortable rooms, the friendliest and most capable staff in town, and a location that can't be beat has made the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center many people's first choice for decades! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing