We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exactly average (for a winter visit)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exactly average (for a winter visit)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early March. We knew to expect that most things would be closed, though we were unable to gather from the hotel's website if that included the hotel's own restaurants (it did; they were closed). Pros: clean room, great views, great location, free parking. Cons: The door to go the balcony was very hard to open, the water pressure and hot water were poor, and hallway noise was very loud. But for $100 a night off-season, I'm not complaining. However, I don't think I would pay in-season prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay and hope that you reported your concerns to the Front Desk so they could be addressed. We are completing many renovations now, including some to our restaurant, and we hope (and expect) that your next experience at the Atlantic Sands will be far better than average!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    130
    151
    85
    64
See reviews for
184
124
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were happily surprised by our overall experience at the Sands. The rooms were nice and clean, and our basic room even had a juliet balcony with a side view of the ocean. The free parking is a bonus. The bed was super comfortable. It would be great to experience this hotel during high season.

We would definitely stay here again, we are huge fans of Rehoboth and the Sands is now on the list for future visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay and want to visit again! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful. They know the area well and were able to inform us of good places to eat as well as attractions that were open during the off season. My wife and I like coming here for a winter getaway and we did so this year with another couple. Hotel is a little dated but overall it has good ammenties and is very clean. There is a spa at the hotel but we did not have time to use it. Most of our time at the hotel was spent standing on the balcony and watching the waves crash onto shore, something that I never tire of.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best choice over ocean view. The higher floors and rooms on either the Nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Our housekeeping staff appreciates your recognition of their hard work! We’re very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We enjoy assisting guests with recommendations and sharing our knowledge of the area and things to do here in Rehoboth Beach. Many couples enjoy massages at the Fusion Day Spa here at the Atlantic Sands and we hope you’ll be able to enjoy one too, on your next stay! Thank you, again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Atlantic Sands Hotel. Check out our Facebook page for a video of the surf just posted there today!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a large, friendly and spacious room accommodation with the best view in town. If you step out of the door you are on a stretch of beach that must span a mile of the Atlantic ocean. The staff is friendly and caters to it's guest.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetonted1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our staff and your stay and that magnificent view, too! Our location is a fantastic one and we strive to provide our guests a very comfortable and enjoyable time in Rehoboth and the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to the Atlantic Sands again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent one night at the Atlantic Sands during Presidents Day weekend. The room had no heat. We had to call the desk twice, to no avail. So we tracked down a maintenance man and took him to the room. He got it working but then the heat would not shut off so it became very hot. There was so much condensation around the metal window frames that water was dripping down the wall behind the curtain. This place is a true dump. Stay away.

Room Tip: The only thing this place has going for it is location. It's right on the boardwalk. Other than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeresaWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Please accept our apologies for any issues encountered during your stay. The majority of our guests find our facility to be comfortable and our staff welcoming. Renovations are underway at the hotel and they are intended to increase the enjoyment of all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

When we pulled up the hotel looked nice and the lobby was very inviting. We checked in and went to our room and had to turn on the heat and after two hours still had not warmed up. After two calls to the front desk we gave up on that.the shower was horrible! ! The water would go from hot to cold contantly and the shower head was so old the it hardly had and water coming through it. No tissues and a half roll of toilet paper. We were awakened by a security officer at 2:30 am telling us to turn our television down but it wasn't even on. For a hotel on the beach that charges $160.00 a nite you would think you wou get a better experience. As we were leaving we spoke to some other guests and they had even more to complain about than we did. Until they find someone to manage this hotel properly I will not return. Big waste of money in my opinion. Big thumbs down.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dslfter68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate your comments and concerns and wish you had advised management of them at the time of your stay. Our entire west wing of overnight accommodations is under major renovation now. In recent months we have received many compliments on the friendly and helpful attitude of our staff members, so we are surprised and offer an apology that you did not find this to be true. It is our hope that any guest who is dissatisfied with some aspect of their stay or any personnel on our staff will advise management of the problem when it occurs so that we may take the appropriate course of action based on the facts at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have stayed here several times for a regular event, and while it's not great, it is adequate for the need and reasonably priced. The rooms - yes small unless you upgrade and pay more - and hallways definitely need updating. Another disappointment with the room is that they previously had an upscale line of classy, scented toiletry products, but have switched to a common drugstore brand. It's a small thing, but I looked forward to them, and it definitely helped set the hotel apart. Points on the plus side are that the food is very good and the staff friendly, and you are right on the boards and close to downtown shops.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Renovations to update many of our rooms are taking place over the next few months. Your comments regarding the hotel and staff are appreciated, and those regarding toiletries will be shared with appropriate staff members for future consideration. We hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 101 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront and on the boardwalk, the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center is centrally located within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants, clubs, galleries, live theatre productions, arcade games and (of course) the beach! Our seasonal restaurant, outdoor oceanfront beach bar, coffee shop and outdoor pool are added bonuses! With over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space too, the Atlantic Sands is host to weddings, conferences, meetings and banquets of all kinds. Our oceanfront rooftop patio can be reserved for cocktail events, wedding ceremonies and more. Complimentary Wi-Fi and parking for overnight guests, comfortable rooms, the friendliest and most capable staff in town, and a location that can't be beat has made the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center many people's first choice for decades! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing