We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good off-season value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good off-season value.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Pros- reasonably priced, clean oceanview rooms.

Cons - rooms are extremely small (e.g., can't use desk and desk chair because they are directly up against a bed).

- rooms are badly in need of updating (e.g., stained carpeting, entry door damaged and askew).

- bad plumbing (e.g., most shower water diverts to faucet, toilet tends to not flush).

- staff (e.g., housekeeping entered our room with a do not disturb sign hanging on the door).

- lack of amenities (e.g., no coffee or fixings in a public space, no real mugs for hot beverages).

All that being said, there's nothing like lying in bed and watching the ocean, so I'd probably do it again if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMynar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    149
    168
    93
    70
See reviews for
215
150
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Atlantic Sands two days prior to Hurricane Sandy, the location is perfect, right on the boardwalk, really close to the main street in Rehobeth Beach, the rooms are good, not great, but the staff went out of their way to help with things concerning the coming storm, which we were mandatorily evacuated, very happy with total stay and plan to go back very soon.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a "sitting" balcony, some of the lower floor suites do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atlantic Sands! You’re right – our location can’t be beat and, as you’ve noted, our staff is friendly and helpful. Our hope, and what we strive to make certain, is that you will enjoy each and every visit and want to come back to stay with us time and again! We want you to know that we appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for an event the weekend before Hurricane Sandy. Our room (126 or 128) was very nice - huge bathroom with jacuzzi, mini kitchen, partial ocean view. The rooms was clean, staff was very nice.

The hotel was very full - news crews due to the hurricane as well as event participants. Staff was very efficient in spite of it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abqcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay as Hurricane Sandy approached! The staff and management enjoyed the events and participants, as well as the news and weather crews! We hope that you’ll be back to see us again, and soon! In the meantime, we’ll share your comments with our personnel. Thank you, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Atlantic Sands several times. I go back because the location is awesome. The rooms on the other hand, well have alot to be desired. You have to be careful as to where they put you, this past time we were there was 2 weeks ago as Rehoboth was getting ready for "Sandy". We stayed in room 114. The room was ok..very small. Bathroom was not the best, broken tiles on the floor under the sneak, the toilet not bolted down correctly and the tub had a nasty drain in it, the carpets needed a good shampooing. Bed linens were clean. We once had a room that was absolutely filthy, dark and dingy..we complained and they moved us to a suite which was much better. The staff was great. Like I said if I find something better I probably will say goodbye to Atlantic Sands, it's the location that keeps bringing me back.

Room Tip: Definitely Ocean front. It seemed whenever they gave us a street room it was filthy..with the excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pupsie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are happy that you found your room to be clean however we apologize that you were not totally satisfied with its condition. Renovations are planned to begin this winter.

Should you ever find a room’s condition not up to par, please notify our Front Desk Manager. It is our goal to continually improve our service to our guests and we sincerely hope that you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here the weekend Hurricane Sandy headed for town. Located right on the boardwalk and one block from the main street in town. The rooms are various sizes and get some hard wear, but it is generally well kept and clean. The staff are hard working and responsive to requests. Breakfast buffet is very good (I don't know if it's a regular feature.) The ballroom is very nice with a wall of windows that overlook the boardwalk/beach. Chairs seem kind of low to ground and bathroom lights are veryl slow to warm up and get bright.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
The management and staff of the Atlantic Sands appreciate your comments. We take pride in our hotel, value our guests and strive each and every day to create a clean, comfortable and friendly environment for each and every one. From our overnight accommodations to our banquet facilities, and our restaurants to our front desk operations, we do our best to ensure that every guest enjoys their stay. We value constructive comments like these and make regular improvements to our facility and the way in which we do business, with every action and employee focused on helping our guests to have a pleasant and stress-free experience. It is our hope that you will stay with us again, and often. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Horrible rooms; dirty carpeting; mold in bathroom; heat/air not uniform; uncomfortable beds! So disappointed. Was not able to move to another hotel so had to endure. An expensive hotel disaster for us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TM3CKG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Our housekeeping staff takes great effort to make sure all our guests enjoy a clean and comfortable room, as other reviewers have recently and favorably noted. Renovations are about to begin on portions of the hotel however and these efforts are expected to enhance even the most discriminating guests’ experience here at the Sands. We hope that you’ll visit us again as so many of our satisfied guests do, year after year. Our goal is to consistently improve our standards and to satisfy each of our guests. We sincerely regret that your expectations were not met on this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Newark, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My Mom and I went for a night last weekend. The room was really nice and clean, but it could use a little updating. The mattresses need to be replaced, and for a hotel like the Sands, I expected the commercial grade Keurig machines, not the cheap flimsy coffee makers they had. I was also surprised that they did not have a small continental breakfast included with the stay. Not even tiny boxes of cereal :(

Overall, it was a pleasant stay for one evening, and I would stay again. Cleanliness of the room is a huge factor for me, and the Sands met that expectation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicalminded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
277 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 101 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront and on the boardwalk, the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center is centrally located within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants, clubs, galleries, live theatre productions, arcade games and (of course) the beach! Our seasonal restaurant, outdoor oceanfront beach bar, coffee shop and outdoor pool are added bonuses! With over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space too, the Atlantic Sands is host to weddings, conferences, meetings and banquets of all kinds. Our oceanfront rooftop patio can be reserved for cocktail events, wedding ceremonies and more. Complimentary Wi-Fi and parking for overnight guests, comfortable rooms, the friendliest and most capable staff in town, and a location that can't be beat has made the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center many people's first choice for decades! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing