We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I totally agree with many of the reviews of Atlantic Sands. Larissa B is right on....
My most recent stay at Atlantic Sands was July & I will go back again, all because of the location & I have been going to RB, DE all my life. You will pay top dollar for any place close to the Beach, AS is my pick. The room I request is a 2 room that has been opened & is also used as a hospitality room when needed. It would be a suite, has 2 Queen beds, a nice sitting area, micro & fridge, 2 nice closets with safe in one, 2 bathrooms, which are great for 4 people & has great views of boardwalk & beach. Staff has been great, I always have questions or need something.
My 2 big issues:1) Very poor lighting in bathrooms, I take my own lighted mirror. Last 2 visits before checking out, I talked to staff at the front desk & ask them to please update the lighting in the bathrooms. I have also stayed in a Queen Suite, new addition, bathrooms are the same as the original part, small & very poor lighting. 2) the shower heads are terrible, where do you buy these. it's like where is the water..
We have tried all food options on site & found to be fairly good. The pool is very nice, but during summer months, tons of kids & No supervision.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank lindab05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for your continued patronage of The Atlantic Sands! We value the many guests who frequent The Sands and are committed to improving our level of service and the comfort of our accommodations so that you will continue to return for more than our pool and convenient location. We hope that you will notice improvements when you visit us again. Thank you for your positive comments. We appreciate your objective review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 609 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Unfortunately there are no excellent hotels in Rehoboth, that is, hotels that can tick all the boxes: location, service, quality of furnishings/fittings and amenities. So, you need to keep that in mind when selecting your accommodations. The Atlantic Sands is certainly no Ritz Carlton, not even a Marriot or Hilton, even though you are paying roughly the same for a room.

What you get for around $350 a night at the Atlantic Sands is:

1) A small, somewhat rundown boardwalk/ocean front room with a balcony and an in-window air conditioning unit. The balcony is a nice bonus, especially if you have kids and want to put them down and continue to enjoy your evening. Unfortunately, the location of the air-conditioning unit right on the balcony somewhat detracts from your experience, but at least you have it as an option;

2) A couple of food options (a restaurant, outdoor cafe, and a coffee shop): all pretty good for a beach town - nothing gourmet but ok, and you are within walking distance of many of Rehoboth's top restaurants. There is also a microwave in the room which could be a nice option for some;

3) A spa;

4) Free parking (for one car only) - critical given Rehoboth's steep parking rates - a quarter for every 10 minutes if you are close to the boardwalk and in many cases you'll need actual quarters and don't be one second late to top up a meter because the tickets come quickly and are not cheap!) and;

5) An oceanfront/boardwalk pool - the only hotel to offer this in Rehoboth.

It is the location and these few additional amenities that you are paying for. You are definitely NOT paying for the service or any level of quality. The front desk staff and manager are particularly indifferent, if not rude. The hotel is pretty much booked out for the entire season so why should they provide a quality service? If you don't like what they have to offer, you can leave and they'll quickly find someone else to take your room.

What you do NOT get for your money is:

1) Good house-keeping: I had to ask for house-keeping to be done every day of my 5 day stay - I wasn't demanding, I waited until after 4pm to make my request largely because I just wanted clean towels and toiletries (that is, one miniscule bottle of lotion and one miniscule bottle of shampoo - no conditioner and only bar soap was on offer);

2) Any supervision in the pool: there is no lifeguard and although the pool is marked with signage saying no diving and requesting that people wash off the sand before entering the pool, the atmosphere at the pool was chaotic at best with gaggles of teenagers dive-bombing guests of any age (grandparents, babies, etc) with no intervention from the hotel and people walking past the provided showers to wash their shoes, clothes, dirty feet in the pool instead! Seriously, how expensive could it be to hire a teenage lifeguard to monitor the pool? $60 per day? I'm sure most people could cope with a $1 surcharge for some peace of mind!

3) wifi - don't be fooled by the claim of free wifi - it only works in the lobby near the front desk; and

4) Any more than basic TV stations or a working remote control.

There are other hotels with better quality and service - Hotel Rehoboth, the Avenue, Bellmoor Inn, but they do not have the location that the Sands offers (and tend to be even more expensive!).

I will probably choose the Sands again if I visit Rehoboth because of the location. Unfortunately, it is really the best of a bad bunch if you want to be able to see the ocean/boardwalk from your room and pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Larissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

We appreciate constructive criticism and the senior management of The Sands is taking steps to improve the guest experience from check-in to check-out, including housekeeping, pool supervision and more. We are also planning some renovations and upgrades to portions of the property, all in an effort to improve the comfort and satisfaction of our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Atlantic Sands Hotel in Rehoboth Beach, DE needs to be renovated and/or rebuilt. When we first checked in, the keys we received did not work. When we had spoken wih other guests, this issue was common. Throughout the hotel, there were many ceiling leaks that were not taken care of. All the staff did was put trash buckets under the leaks. There were numerous leaks in the bathroom sink in our room. Each time we notified the front desk of the leaks, they told us that they were going to send a maintenance person but they never did. During our entire stay, the only friendly staff was housekeeping. The staircases throughout the hotel are filthy! The sign of the door indicating where the stairs are were written in black marker directly on the door. The location is very convenient but everything else in the hotel in unkept and run down. It is extremely overpriced!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sassanovamova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Management has taken the measures necessary to rectify an unexpected sprinkler system malfunction which caused minor leaks in a few locations within the hotel last week. As a landmark beachfront hotel since the 1950’s, it is our goal to provide warm and friendly service with comfortable accommodations to all of our guests. Admittedly, particularly when we are fully booked as we were this past weekend, it is a challenge to keep sand out of stairways at all times, despite the fact that our cheerful housekeeping staff devotes attention to them multiple times per day. Unfortunately, one of our recent young guests wrote on a door with magic marker; we have ordered new signage to cover his handiwork. We regret that any guest ever has anything but a positive experience, take constructive comments and criticism seriously, and strive to improve at every turn. Many of our guests are more than satisfied with our efforts and rates, some recently advising us that they were returning for their 55th year in a row! We hope many guests, like them, will realize the advantages of staying at the Atlantic Sands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location and free parking contribute to the higher rating of this review. If you have kids and want a weekend at the beach this is an excellent choice. Its convenient, has a pool, and is on the boardwalk where your kids EXPECT to be on a sat night in Reheboth. We called at the very last minute and so did not get a room with a lot of extra amenities. Didn't matter to us...it was a comfortable suite-style room that provided space and some privacy, and was right where we wanted to be. The hotel was clean and tidy throughout, but it's not fancy. Personally, I prefer the more simple and casual atmosphere for days at beach, but can appreciate that others like more luxury and services. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Did I mention free parking? If you've been to Reheboth and suffered a ticket from the hourly meters, you can understand why this is a value-add.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and the value of the Atlantic Sands Hotel. Ocean front, on the boardwalk, with MoJo’s Coffee Shop, the Atlantic Seafood Grille, Atlantic Boardwalk Café and Fusion Day Spa & Salon on site, along with our beautiful and refreshing pool, we offer a family-friendly experience that has been enjoyed by many for decades. While not the newest hotel in town, we are one of the best in terms of amenities, location, friendly service and comfortable accommodations! We hope you’ll enjoy staying here again. We’d love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

When we walked in the lobby their was no air conditioning, and the staff was very cranky and rude. It took 5 hours to check in. Our room, which was a suite, was very dirty and looked like it had been months since it was last cleaned. The beds were nasty looking and the mattresses were lumpy. The bathroom was disgusting and the toilet was broken. We had stayed in the "new" building which was built in 2000. It obviously is no better than the old building. The balcony had two chairs, both were in very bad shape and very dirty. Before we went, we had read many negative reviews about this hotel, but we went anyway because we assumed they were overreacting. THEY WEREN'T. This is the dirties, skeeviest, nasties, most appalling hotel we have ever stayed in. The elevators don't work which means you always end up taking the staircase, which is very warm and gross. My children were so disturbed, we switched to the admiral hotel across the street. The maids do not even clean the rooms, it appears they make them dirtier. Don't even consider this hotel. You're better off sleeping on the street or in your car. The televisions are outdated and don't work well. Also, this hotel does not offer wifi. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything, absolutely EVERYTHING that goes on in your neighbors' rooms; everything from loud singing and music, to personal moments between couples. This is a place where dreams die. DON'T STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Coffee132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

The Atlantic Sands Hotel takes pride in its housekeeping staff and stands by the fact that every room is cleaned thoroughly and receives fresh linens every day. Recent expenditures by management included an upgrade of wi-fi service throughout the hotel and final adjustments to that new system have been taking place over the last several days. Every overnight guest room features a flat screen television. While cooling the common areas of a facility when heat indices are over 100 degrees is a challenge to any oceanfront hotel; we regret that this guest was not satisfied. Management has allocated additional capital to improve the a/c system throughout the hotel to help ensure that every guest is comfortable even when the heat index outside is 110.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Problems began at check in and just continued through the trip. When we called to book the room we were told it was an ocean front room. When we got to the front desk and began the process, we tried to confirm the oceanfront room and were told the hotel did not even have oceanfront options. They had ocean view only. They offered us what they said was their biggest and best room that had a larger balcony and an ocean view. But it was $200.00 more per night than the initially quoted price. They did split the difference with us and upped the bill only $100.00 per night, but it was still $500.00 more than we were expecting to pay.

When we finally got in the room it was a very nice room, one of the more spacious hotel rooms we've been in. There was a ton of space and the kids really liked it, even though the sleeper sofa was the most uncomfortable I have ever seen. The pillows were also extremely uncomfortable, but we always bring our own when we travel. There was a wrap around balcony, so you could be on the balcony from both the bedroom and the living room. My gripe about that would be that they need a better lock on the doors. Our 3 year old was able to open it herself and get outside. Perhaps a child safety lock could be installed for those traveling with small children.

The refrigerator did not get cold and we had to put our drinks in the freezer portion then move them down to the fridge as they got cold.

The water temperature did not stay constant through out an entire shower and we could not even get hot water from the sinks.

The ice machine required you to stick your room key in to get any ice out of it and it would not stay in without being held, so getting ice required about 3 hands, one to hold the card in, one to hold the ice bucket, and one to push the button to get the ice to come out.

The pool was small and on the cold side, our children didn't want to swim in it. And I stepped on a piece of glass on my way to the pool and cut my foot open. The front desk staff was very kind about it, getting tweezers and towels for me and sending someone right out to clean the area around the pool.

The wi-fi only worked if you were very close to the front desk. Our room was the furthest away from the front desk and so we had no service in our room at all. The TV also went out twice during our 5 day stay, both times the hotel blamed the service provider.

There was an exterior elevator in from the parking lot that dropped us right in front of our door, which was very nice. Not many people used it, so it was very fast.

All in all, probably not bad for a beach destination if it were cheaper. For what you get, and the problems you encounter, it's not worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1blessedmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

We are pleased that this reviewer acknowledges the cleanliness of our hotel and our fantastic location! We do require room key access to our ice machines so that ice is available for our overnight guests. We regret that using a key card seemed inconvenient; it prevents those who have access to our beachfront hotel, but are not staying here, from filling their coolers with ice intended for our guests. We have found that pillow preference varies by guest, some preferring soft and some preferring very firm. Upon request, we attempt to offer pillows that suit the special needs of our guests. Likewise, if we had been informed that an in-room refrigerator was not cooling properly, it would have been quickly repaired or replaced. Wi-fi upgrades were made in recent weeks and final adjustments are being made now. In the heat of July and August, our pool water does feel refreshingly cool upon entry, which most guests enjoy tremendously. It is one of the largest pools in town and a key feature of our oceanfront hotel. Due to severe storms in the area of our cable provider, service was interrupted on a few occasions for a short period of time. Unfortunately, this is out of our control. We appreciate that this guest appreciated our front desk staff and the spacious suite we provided after discovering that there had been a miscommunication regarding their room type during the booking process which may have been through a 3rd party provider. The Atlantic Sands Hotel values every guest and hopes that each will return to find an even more pleasant experience than before. Our maintenance crew is examining the balcony door locks in response to this guest’s comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This place...is horrible. There is no reason why any establishment that charges ~$350 a night should be in this terrible condition or should provide such terrible customer service. I will say that In the end, after MUCH frustration and nearly four hours of our very short vacation wasted on negotiating with management, they did eventually take care of us, but I would have rather paid $350 a night and had an excellent experience...

The short story...

Our room was ready at 3:45pm. Upon check-in, we discovered ants. After arguing with management, we were given another incomparable room on the first floor, across from the elevator, diagonal from the ice machine and next to the rear exit. We were given some compensation for this after arguing with management some more. The next day after returning from lunch, we discovered that our door was left open by the maid service. During our scheduled afternoon nap time, the lamp smoked us out of our room and nearly went up in flames. This was the final straw...we received additional compensation, laughed about our experience and decided a) we will never stay in this hell on earth again and b) we are all going to write strongly worded reviews on every review site on the world wide web to prevent others from experiencing this on vacation because there is absolutely no excuse for any establishment to operate like this.

Now to the details...

Don't expect to be checked-in early and don't expect to receive an estimated time that your room will be ready. We arrived early as most do hoping we would be able to check-in early. When we called the hotel, the response was "your room isn't ready yet, it will be ready some time between now and 4:00pm, keep calling back". FOR THE HOTEL: Providing an estimated check-in time would be helpful. If you can't check-in early, just say so. Don't waste your customer's time.

Do leave extra time to catch the elevator...There is only one elevator that goes to the garage and it also serves as the service elevator. It is also so slow that you would think that there were little elves in the elevator shaft operating a string and pulley.

Do expect bugs and that management will act "surprised" about this...There were ants in our room that I discovered while I was sitting on the bed and they began to crawl across my feet. The hotel sent maintenance to spray the bugs while we were in the room with all of our luggage.

Don't expect ANY extras...This place doesn't even have luggage racks, which would have made me feel just a bit better about the bugs, but no...the luggage had to stay on the floor.

Do expect the most uncomfortable beds you have ever slept on in your entire life (unless you've slept on a park bench...no...wait...even that would be better)...These beds provide zero support. If you are sleeping with another person, you will end up spooning because inevitably (unless you can uncomfortably arrange you legs so you don't roll) you will roll into the giant ditch in the middle of the bed.

Do expect your refridgerator to look like it was stabbed...there are no words.

Don't expect that your shower will drain or that your toilet will flush...I'm not sure how this works.

Do expect that only 50% of the lightbulbs in your hotel room will actually function, broken lamp shades and that one of your lamps may catch on fire...No joke.

Do expect that if you would like to take advantage of the free umbrella and beach chairs that you will need to carry them from the hotel to your desired location on the beach and bring them back...In Virginia Beach, most of the hotels set up umbrellas and chairs for you on the beach. Yes, you usually have to give them a couple bucks for them, but sure beats having to do all the work involved.

Do not expect anything "newly rennovated" about this hotel...everything in this place is done as cheaply as possible with as little attention to detail as possible and as little quality as possible. Also, the "newly rennovated" statement may actually be complete bogus because in speaking to a staff member, they said that the "new" section of the hotel is actually 13 years old. I realize that the term "new" is relative, but if it has been more than a decade, I don't think that's legit.

Ok....the ONLY POSITIVE about this hotel is the location. You are a block away from the main strip in Rehoboth, right on the boardwalk and this is an oceanfront property.

FOR THOSE IN YOUR 20s...Rehoboth beach is really beautiful, but it definitely caters more to older folks and families. If you'd like something more your speed, I would recommend staying in Dewey Beach instead. Rehoboth does have a Jolly Trolley that brings you to Dewey for $2.50 each way, but next time, we are staying in Dewey.

Room Tip: Ocean Front and Ocean View are two very different things.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Could not have been worse…



When reservations are made, guests are advised that check-in time is 4 p.m. Early check-in is not generally possible because our Housekeeping staff needs time, following checkout at 11:00 a.m., to thoroughly clean the rooms and change the linens. Guests who arrive early are advised again that check-in time is 4 p.m. and that, only in the event that their room becomes available sooner, will they be able to check in prior to 4 p.m. Another reviewer stated, on the same date as this guest’s stay, that the elevator to the garage was fast and very convenient. Our management staff did everything humanly possible to satisfy and improve this guest’s experience, including but not limited to upgrades and compensation. We strive to resolve any and all guest issues on the spot with swift and appropriate action and several on our management staff, including our General Manager, attempted to do so for this guest. Regrettably, we occasionally encounter a guest who simply cannot be satisfied after an initial disappointment (such as not being able to check in early), despite our best efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
279 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: $126 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront and on the boardwalk, the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center is centrally located within walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants, clubs, galleries, live theatre productions, arcade games and (of course) the beach! Our seasonal restaurant, outdoor oceanfront beach bar, coffee shop and outdoor pool are added bonuses! With over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space too, the Atlantic Sands is host to weddings, conferences, meetings and banquets of all kinds. Our oceanfront rooftop patio can be reserved for cocktail events, wedding ceremonies and more. Complimentary Wi-Fi and parking for overnight guests, comfortable rooms, the friendliest and most capable staff in town, and a location that can't be beat has made the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center many people's first choice for decades! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing