We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little oasis from the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Talleyville, Delaware
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A little oasis from the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The location of the Bellmoor is a block from Rehoboth Avenue, which means it's quiet but still close to shopping and many excellent restaurants. There is ample parking for the inn, both on street and in their garage. The decor in the main inn is very tasteful and well done, more like a New England inn that a beach hotel. That attention to detail carries into the guest rooms as well. The small garden terrace and pond provide a peaceful and scenic oasis from the busy crowds on the boardwalk.

The breakfast is home made and offers a wide assortment of hot and cold choices. The staff is dedicated to making your stay a memorable one. We had some issues with a newly renovated room in one of the garden rooms but they were resolved to our satisfaction.

The mattress was much firmer than we like but that is a personal choice. We thought that our garden room was a little small for a week at the beach but OK for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Try the second floor if you are in a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SearchLite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property, thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & enjoyed our delicious morning breakfasts. Our garden area is beautiful this time of the year & offers a peaceful & relaxing atmosphere. On your next visit I recommend looking at one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites if you are interested in a more spacious room. Also thank you so much for the pictures you took of our Garden Area, they came out great! We all look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from all of us at The Bellmoor.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    204
    48
    18
    3
See reviews for
310
708
36
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were looking for a very last minute get-away. Wanted a beach and a spa located in a walking town. Fortunately, our web search brought us to the Bellmoor Inn website. It had all the ingredients we were looking for but candidly, we had never even heard of Rehoboth Beach. After speaking with JB on the phone, we were willing to take a gamble. Well, we won!!!

There are so many great aspects of this hotel that I'm having trouble organizing my review!! Let's start with clean spacious room with kitchenette, amazingly comfortable bed, and balcony. Our room (the Roanoke Suite) was on the 4th floor (which is a private floor requiring key access in the elevator) that had a library that was stocked with complimentary snacks and soft drinks for the guests. A full breakfast and afternoon tea is included! Two outdoor pools (one adults only) and an indoor hot tub. Numerous beautifully decorated sitting areas throughout the hotel for relaxing with a book or newspaper. There is a daily summary sheet posted with the day's weather and the daily specials at a few of the local restaurants. The hotel is situated a short stroll from the main street and beach making it the perfect location. There is free parking under the building which I hear is a big asset during the summer season.

I've read some TA reviews commenting about the service fee. The service fee was not a surprise - it was clearly included on the reservation confirmation and on the agreement at check-in. Personally, I'd rather have a service fee than tip the staff individually. I was also glad that this friendly and attentive staff was being taken care of automatically. Honestly, I tipped a few exceptional staffers anyway (but that's a personal choice).

The Bellmoor Inn is a beautifully appointed hotel that stands out far ahead of others in the area. Friendly staff, spacious clean room, and a clear attention to customer service made this a great stay.

We will definitely be back to Rehoboth Beach and will DEFINITELY stay at the Bellmoor Inn.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th floor (private).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJM2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this thorough & wonderful review, we greatly appreciate your feedback. Thanks as well for taking a chance on The Bellmoor & allowing us to win you over during your stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms & found our beds to be extremely comfortable. My staff works hard to ensure that every guest's stay with us is the best that it can be. For them, reading reviews such as yours is truly delightful & reminds them why they work as hard as they do. We look forward to seeing you for many more visits in the near future! Best wishes from all of your new friends here at The Bellmoor!

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend getaway at the BellMoor Inn. The location is perfect! Within 2 short blocks of main drive for shopping and only a few more blocks to the beach. The spa treatments we had were excellent. A big shout out to Scott for a super soothing massage. Only comments since they advertise as a luxury inn would be that the room fixtures and bath hardware need tended to a bit. Lampshades wobbly and a bit beat up, hooks pulling out of the walls in the bath area. Breakfast was very nice with an egg and omelet station, but the pastries were stale and at least a day old. The treatment rooms in the spa are right next to the reception area. It was distracting to hear conversations just outside the door while getting a massage and facial meant to be peaceful and relaxing. It’s the attention to the minutest details that make an inn a luxury inn.

Room Tip: Request room overlooking pool and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalliePhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My close friend and I wanted a getaway for just the two of us. We love the beach and after reading reviews of various places, I made reservations at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa. It was lovely to stay in this warm, beautifully furnished and delightful Inn. The room was very spacious and very clean. Service from everyone at the Inn was cordial and helpful. I liked staying in the newer section of the Inn. I would stay on the fourth floor in the future if available because it is for adults who are at least 25 years old and each room has a fireplace as well as some additional features. I did, however, like our room on the second floor and the pool which is off the second floor. Our visit was the last weekend in April so too cold to swim but we relaxed on the lounge chairs by the pool. We particularly enjoyed the sunroom where a breakfast was served which included scones, an omelet station, French toast, grits, yogurt, fresh fruit and other items. Breakfast is included in the room price. There were newspapers provided, great coffee and we enjoyed talking and relaxing while looking at the gardens and reading the paper. We stayed in this lovely, sun filled area quite a long time each morning because we enjoyed it so much. Both of us enjoyed the spa and my friend said that Tabitha gave her a particularly good facial. Note that the spa is small. Another plus to The Bellmoor Inn is the terrific location. We walked everywhere. We were close to the beach, to shopping and to restaurants. What a pleasure not to worry about parking and just walk everywhere. There are many touches such as serving snacks for an hour in the afternoon (we never were at the Inn during that time), coffee and tea always available, 2 pools, as well as a lovely sitting room and a library on the ground floor. We are already planning our next visit to the Bellmoor Inn and Spa, and I plan to make reservations soon for my husband and I to enjoy it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & were able to take advantage of all that The Bellmoor has to offer. Like you said our locations is perfect, especially for walking to all of the towns attractions & restaurants. One of my personal favorite touches of the Inn is the Garden area & it is so great to hear that you too were able to enjoy the peace & serenity that the garden offers. While our Spa is smaller in comparisons to others, we ensure that we have nothing but the best staff & services to offer our guests. We are looking forward to you & your husband coming to stay with us. Definitely be sure to try to book one our 4th Floor Rooms, they are perfect for any romantic getaway. Best wishes from all of us at The Bellmoor!

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, MD
Level Contributor
158 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find that that room we normally stay in was rearranged. The new look and placement of furniture was much better. The staff are consistently pleasant, friendly and professional. And as usual, we enjoyed the breakfast that has a wide variety of items to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am glad you had another wonderful stay with us & liked our new room arrangement. We have been working hard over the past couple months to make subtle changes to our property to give everything a refreshing feel. Our breakfast that is served fresh every morning includes a wide variety of options & changes on a daily basis so guests staying more than one night get to experience even more options. We do look forward to your next visit with us. Best wishes from all of us at The Bellmoor!

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nearly $12 per day for "service"? And that's on the lowest rate and not in season. Whaat?

I didn't realize it until they sent me the receipt--when you check out, they don't ask if you'd like a copy right there, they ask if you'd like it emailed. On the website as you're booking, there is small print in difficult-to-see white text on green background. I had to search for it after the fact. So, yeah, you CYA but to what end? I travel a lot. Tacking on a service charge in that way is tacky,

For that $12 per day, no one helped me with my luggage--nor offered to. I wasn't there for afternoon tea. I was there for breakfast--and there are no "servers"--it's just buffet style.

On the plus side--it is lovely inside, and the interior courtyard is peaceful. And they're friendly and warm. Room (garden) is small but adequate--as others noted, be careful if you're on the ground floor and use the bathroom with the shades up. The bed was so-so and needed some WD-40.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emm_Dash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Bellmoor Inn & Spa. If your reservation was made online the service charge, which most of our guests prefer over tipping is clearly displayed in your total for the stay & on your confirmation letter along with all the other pertinent information. It is also displayed on the hotel's sign in sheet that every guest signs upon checking in to our property. To imply that we have done anything "sneaky" is irresponsible on your part. Our hotel offers all of its guests a home cooked breakfast every morning, free daily newspapers, wifi, & free covered underground parking. There is nothing sneaky about The Bellmoor just good old fashioned friendly, family service.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We found the hotel very charming. The breakfasts were yummy. I would have liked having a manicure but their is only a manicurist on Saturday and we were there mid-week. Overall it was a pleasant experience and we will return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize that our spa did not have a manicurist present during your stay. We are actually in the process of getting ready for our busy season where a manicurist will be at the spa everyday during the week. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoy our extensive breakfast in the mornings, it is something that we are really proud of. We hope that you return to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from all of us at The Bellmoor.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#19 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellmoor Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Property: The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
Address: 6 Christian St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bellmoor Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellmoor Inn, a seaside resort, a non-smoking hotel that has the look and feel of a modern stylish inn while offering the service and privacy of a small European hotel. A Rehoboth Beach Inn for decades, it has been reborn as the newest with the completion of 78 elegant rooms, suites, and luxurious amenities. A garden spot seemingly far removed from ocean resort activity, yet only a short walk to the beach and the town's renowned boutiques, restaurants, galleries and coffee houses. Offering you the coziness of a bed-and-breakfast with the service and luxury of a five star hotel. Nearby Airports* Salisbury Airport - 45 miles* Balltimore/Washington International (MD) - 100 miles* Philadelphia International (PA) - 100 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Bellmoor Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing