We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Family retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great stay for the family.. Gladys- front desk mgr was very polite on the phone and Just as nice at check in and check out. The cleanliness and service of a hotel is a HUGE deal to me. I can say that the Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach achieved my standards .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teahdee2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    188
    66
    14
    10
See reviews for
209
164
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I've stayed in a few Hampton Inn's now, and I like the fact that they are pretty consistent. Pretty clean, decent complimentary breakfast, above average service, nice small indoor pool, convenient guest laundry area. I've never been "wowed" at a Hampton, but I've never been disgusted either. And the Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach is no different. The only small complaints I have are that the rooms are a little smaller than other Hamptons I've stayed at, and the air conditioner was very loud when trying to sleep. The best part is the value for the location - it is a short drive to Lewes beach, Rehoboth Beach, and Cape Henlopen State Park beach, close to many restaurants and shopping, and convenient to the water parks. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem pretty much the same. There are no balconies and the view in both directions is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

First of all, if you are staying at the Hampton Inn in Rehoboth Beach . . . let's face it you are there because it is a better deal or you got a great rate on Expedia (et. al). Most reviewers should keep that in mind. It is not the Ritz by a long stretch.

So, back to the review.

Rooms
The room was very roomy and comfortable. I was able to sleep (which is unusual for me in any hotel) and the beds were very comfortable and clean.

Gym
I used the gym, which is a great asset to most road warriors fighting to stay fit. It is small, but has an elliptical, treadmill, lifecycle, medicine balls, yoga mat, full set of dumbells (5-50 lbs. by 5s), and adjustable bench and a remote control TV (if you're into that). There is also a pool, although I did not use that. The gym equipment seems rather new, which means it is in great condition.

Breakfast
Typical of what you find in a Hampton Inn, and the setup was actually much better with a decent sized pantry-style room where you serve up your food, which is separate from the eating area (so there isn't a constant stream of people bumping into your chair on their way to re-load the feedbag). The variety of food was great with eggs/sausage, waffle makers, toast/bagels, hot oatmeal, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, juices, etc. The quality is what you would expect from a free breakfast. Hampton Inn does not promise a free 'gourmet' breakfast, so suck it up if you want gourmet and grab something at one of the many local restaurants. Otherwise, this breakfast is adequate to fill you up before you head out for a day at the beach and boardwalk or any adventures you might encounter.

Common Areas
This hotel seems to have undergone a recent renovation, as the décor of the common areas is modern, clean, well planned as well as both tasteful and welcoming. Free WiFi access works well in the rooms and the common areas, and the speeds are excellent.

Service at the Front Desk
Some of the Front Desk staff must have recently transferred in from Wal-Mart. They are there just to collect a paycheck, and not very helpful (with perhaps one exception, but I think she was new and thus overly enthusiastic yet not knowledgeable).
Granted, we did get a great deal on Expedia, so our expectations were low to begin with. We checked in at 4PM, and they assigned us to a first floor room. I typically do not like 1st floor rooms and asked if there were any other rooms. She gruffly said they had no more rooms. After I overheard the other person on the phone offering a selection of rooms to the guest on the phone who was booking a reservation, I asked are you sure? I would have been fine if she had just said "sir, your room rate has a limited number of rooms that we can place you in, and that inventory is not available at this time". Don't lie to me. The parking lot was empty (both when we arrived as well as when we awoke and departed (okay, exaggeration it was 25% full). Now that I got that off of my chest, do not let it deter you from booking a room here. For all I know she was just practicing her recently acquired skill of reality distortion, taking a page from Steve Jobs.

Quite honestly the front desk staff at a Hampton Inn is cannot be the reason that you decide to stay or not stay at this location. It is a great deal, in great condition and you get a free breakfast. It is not the Ritz, so you should not have the expectation that you will be staying at the Ritz where all of their guests are considered 'ladies and gentlemen' and treated as such.

Note to Management - for those travelers who might make their decision to stay with you based on the front desk staff, you might want to focus on Coaching and Development opportunities around customer service and communication. You have a great property, it would be a shame to waste it on employees with bad attitudes and poor communication skills.

Room Tip: If you do not mind being on the first floor, right across the hall from the workout room and sharing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the week of July 4th. It's exactly what you want when you book with Hampton -- clean and comfortable. The staff was incredibly helpful. When we ended up having to stay longer than we expected, they went out of their way to accommodate us (even though it was a holiday) and worked it out so we didn't have to change rooms. The hotel is close to the outlet stores and restaurants and not far from the beach. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

try not to even speak to the women working the breakfast area. very rude and down right mean. consider not taking advantage of the complimentary breakfast and eating elsewhere. service was awful, food wasn't even that great. and when traveling with small children that's really something you don't want them to see. I will definitely reconsider staying somewhere else even if it means at a non-Hilton chain, and being a loyal HHONORS member for the last 3 years that's pretty sad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend staying here. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. The ladies working the buffet were so helpful and friendly. Everything was well stocked. The rooms were clean and smelled fresh. We had a problem with our toilet, they fixed it within minutes. The location was great, 5 minute car ride to beaches and "downtown". By accident, we left the door on our van wide open overnight. To our surprise, nothing was stolen. So I would say, it's a pretty safe area as well. We had a great mini vacation in Rehoboth.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3dogznight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claymont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our lodging experience this month at Hampton Inn Rehobeth was wonderful! The lobby was so warm and inviting and clean. Our rooms were comfy and clean with very upscale decor. I had such a restful night's sleep. Our view was incredible and due to the rainy weather we were able to take advantage of the indoor pool. It's close to several eateries and my kids loved the experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Mia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Bea...
#13 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach

Property: Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Address: 18826 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach Lewes
Rehoboth Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing