We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel that is close to the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Springdale, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Hotel that is close to the beach.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hotel is a typical Holiday Inn. Nice overall, rooms are nice, and they provide a good breakfast in the morning. We arrived early and coul dnot check in until 3:15pm (Check in is at 3pm) so that was a little annoying. Seems that the maids were not cleaning rooms early.

They were fully booked for 4th if July. Staff was courteous and somewhat helpful with local attractions.

Pool was nice but small. It was never crowded and often times no one was there at all. Having only one elevator was a hassel at times. You can wait a few minutes each way.

Behind this hotel there is the bus that runs you to the beach. It is about a 150 yard walk. Cost is $1.00 per person one way or $2.10 all day. It is about a 10 minute ride. If you choose to park your car, go early (before 9:30am) and you will get a spot. Earlier if you want to be close. After 10am they charge $.25 cents per 10 minutes at the meters. You can only pay up to 2 hours so you will be walking back/forth a lot paying the meter.

From the Holiday Inn local shops, restaurants, gas, and the outlets are 5-10 minute drives on Route 1. Easy to get to all around.

Overall versus paying double and being on the beach, this is a great alternative. We had a good time and the room was nice. Its all we could ask for.

Room Tip: Book early. You can get this room for about $165/night. Also I would suggest the bus if you dont h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plague07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Plague07,

You truly hit most vital points for travelers looking to go to our beach and boardwalk area and with regards to our property. Your summary helps to answer the most frequently asked quesions of our team members by fellow travelers.
The DART public transportation system located directly behind our property is a favorite form of 'beat-the-traffic' with our in-season guests. As an added note, if you're traveling with a large family, driving around the corner to their parking lot, you are afforded a much more economical package of $7.00 per day and each person in your party receives a bus pass.
As always, our property embraces the reviews of our guests and we thank you for taking the time to provide a well detailed review of your experience.
Best Wishes,
Dawn Heck, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    100
    29
    12
    15
See reviews for
103
78
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Checked out early, final bill was handed to me. Next day they charged me for another day saying that they couldnt sell the room so they had to charge me again. Dawn Heck is the manager and did not help a bit. I had to submit a dispute on my CC company. Room was dirty, sand on couch, dirt water on bathroom floor and sink, roll away bed was not ready upon check in request. Far from beach. Bed was too soft. BREAKFAST WAS HORRIBLE

Room Tip: Sands on boardwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Dave W.,

As with all travelers, you have many choices in our area to service your lodging needs. Thank you for choosing our property during your recent visit to Rehoboth Beach.
To reference your extra charge, I will list the situation you didn't communicate in your review. You arrived to the desk to check out at 3p.m. with no family emergency, and with no complaints about your stay, as you referenced in your review (housekeeping concerns, etc). Had you arrived to our Front Desk at our normal check out time or even shortly thereafter, you would not have incurred a charge. The room was used until 3p.m. and would not have been able to be re-rented since housekeeping had completed their day.
One of the procedures our Front Desk Representatives perform is a call to each room after check in, to ensure a guest's complete satisfaction with their room. I've reviewed our Front Desk log of the call made to your room that evening. The written notes beside your room number state that 'everything' was 'perfect' and 'thank you.' Daily, I also review our second Front Desk communication log with regards to guests needs or concerns. There was no communication from anyone in your room with any of our Front Desk Team Members. You slept in a room you considered dirty and remained in this dirty(?) room until 3p.m.
Again, I am so disappointed when a traveler creates a new account with Trip Advisor when they are not happy. Your account was created after our conversation that your room charges would not be waived.
I am imploring each reader of this review and my response, if you do not already have an account with Trip Advisor, please take a moment to create one. I truly believe that all businesses like to hear what their customers have to say about their experience with them. Reviews provide each of us an opportunity to grow, learn, enhance our service skills and to extend kudos to team members who exceed your expectations.
Best Regards,
Dawn Heck, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
826 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,564 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inne Express Rehoboth Beach for 4 days in June. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. Check in was quick and easy. The breakfast was pretty good with a selection of eggs, biscuits, juices, milk, rolls, etc. The location is only a few minutes from the beaches and restaurants. I thought the prices were high for a HIE, but being in Rehoboth ups the ante some. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlexanderDelarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Good Day to you, Alexander Delarge,

Thank you for choosing our property for your lodging needs during your visit to the Rehoboth Beach area, You were gracious in highlighting some key features with our rooms and location.
Our room rates are higher during Summer peak season due to our resort location. We like to recommend to anyone with flexible travel dates who wish to come to visit our beaches and boardwalk and is searching for a more economical time to visit, to consider coming to our area near the end of August and/or beginning of September. The weather is still fabulous and our rates are slightly more economical than in the months of June, July and first few weeks of August.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely look forward to having you stay with us again.
Best Regards,
Dawn Heck, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planet earth
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had booked two nights at the Holiday Inn Express near Rehoboth for a quick little get-away. We usually spend a week or more in Rehoboth in September, but needed an early-summer "fix". Our room at the Holiday was very large, and very clean. We appreciated having the coffee maker, microwave and small fridge available in the room. The king-size bed was very comfortable, and the room was quiet, providing a peaceful night's sleep. We had to leave after only one night, and there was confusion at the front desk because we checked out early. This resulted in an incorrect charge to our credit card for leaving early, but after getting home and calling the hotel, the desk clerk on duty when I called worked with her manager to not only reverse the incorrect charge, but to also waive the correct early-departure fee. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: We managed to get a top-floor room at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear myscreenname,

As always, we truly want to hear from our guests with regards to their stay at our property. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable experience. We do understand that emergencies ocurr that create a need of having to check out prior to an originally booked departure date.
Thank you for choosing to stay with our property and for sharing your experience with our team members and fellow travelers.
Best Regards,
Dawn Heck, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The front desk staff was very nice, and always helpful. Check-in was a breeze. We had two adjacent rooms which suited us well. The pool was fun and sparkling clean, and the room service very thorough. My only complaint would be that the management should specify that when teams of youngsters are checked in, that their chaperones STAY with them. There was a little bit of a problem with lots of noise and running around the hotel on Friday evening. Seems the chaperones decided to step out for a while. Since it was after 8PM our 21 month old grand daughter was trying to sleep. My husband had to locate the parents and ask that they rein in the youngsters. His request was honored, which was very much appreciated. Otherwise the location was a good one. Very close to the beach. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebobNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

beautiful large rooms, breakfast there was plenty of food and it was hot weveryday. the hotel staff were very kind and accomodating. i will return again if rooms are available my next vacation.

Room Tip: beds are comfortable, very clean rooms and staff were very attentive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlmmwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnHeck, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear dlmmwm,

We realize many of our guests have very busy lives and we are very appreciative when they take a moment of their time to share their experience(s) of their visit to our area and of their stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express, Rehoboth Beach. So, please know we are very thankful you took the time to share your experience with us and other fellow travelers.
We are truly delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for mentioning the size of our rooms. They are over-sized in comparison to most other hotels standard rooms and although we do not have suites, the size of our rooms make it ideal for families.
It is great to know that you will choose our property for your future accommodation needs when traveling again to the Rehoboth Beach area.
Best Regards,
Dawn Heck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel this past weekend. Went to go to bed and discovered the sheets were dirty (stained). Had front desk person come and change the sheets. Can't get the ewwww factor out of my mind. Also, walls are paper thin...could hear tv in next room and kids running and screaming up and down the hallways till 10:30-11:00 at night.

Will say the breakfast was good, but overall over priced with not much to offer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Segna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnHeck, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Segna6,

We strive to maintain the best level of service to all our guests.
We were all "completely" disheartened to know we did not provide this level of service for you and your family during your stay.
Quite obviously we fell short in the training of our new housekeeping team members. When your complaint was brought to the attention of our management team, and with the guidance and input of all our housekeeping team, we revamped some steps in our training procedures.
Once again, on behalf of all our Rehoboth Beach Holiday Inn Express team members, we are truly sorry your stay with us was unpleasant.
Each of us hope you will consider giving our property and our staff another opportunity to serve your hotel needs if/when you return to the Rehoboth Beach area. We sincerely want to provide fond memories and a relaxing stay for you and your family.
Best Wishes,
Dawn Heck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
640 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
846 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
591 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Address: 19953 Shuttle Rd, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-4214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh from a complete renovation, the Holiday Inn Express provides modern accommodations and well-appointed amenities sure to fulfill your every need! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing