We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Surprisingly very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinatown Buffet

Chinatown Buffet
Coastal Highwway, 18701 Route 1, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
(302) 644-2688
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 264 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Surprisingly very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Chinese buffets are frequently filled with poorly cooked, salty, oily food. Not the case here. The variety here was exceptional, price was very reasonable and the quality of the food was very good. I would definitely go back. Much better than expected.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ez2ctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    12
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and plenty of variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This fun buffet is a favorite for any visitor, with lots of choices, a nice price for the all-you-care-to-eat diner, and a fine a la carte menu. Fresh, tasty food at a reasonable price!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harriette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Good Overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have visited this establishment on three occasions and with the exception of the last visit, the food was exceptional, the service was fine (it's a self serve buffet) and the environment was comfortable and clean. On our first two visits the three main serving stations were filled with a fresh, still-steaming variety of mostly asian/chinese dishes. So far I have sampled the pepper steak the goyoza and dim-sum the sauteed string beans, the peel away shrimp, the pork with scallions, the peanut chicken, general "chows" chicken, honey chicken, the sushi, the baked (stuffed) shrimp, and on and on. Everything was consistently authentic, fresh and well prepared. I never expect restaurant quality food at a Chinese Buffet, but this place delivers just that. The only minor negative was our last visit, which was memorial day. The quality of the offerings was up to par, but the serving trays were not as swiftly re-filled and the food not as fresh and hot as I grown used to. All in all, the chinatown buffet and grill is a fine place to satisfy that urge for chinese food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hqdepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeville, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

surprising decor, large eating space. large variety of dishes and food was hot. Flavors were spiced really well. Staff was very friendly. definitely will be a regular customer.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

No complaints at all about this buffett.
Tremendous selection - from Dim Sum to pizza. Friendly, attentive staff. Priced right.
It's about a 20-mile drive from my home in Ocean City, so we couple it with a shopping spree in tax-free Delaware, and have our lunch there. This place is so good that we plan on going back for their dinner sometime, just to see how good they do that meal!
One of the better Chinese buffets you'll encounter in the Mid-Atlantic region.
One more thing: The bathroom was spotless.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OCsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown Buffet also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Chinatown Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing