We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good coffee place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee Mill

The Coffee Mill
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good coffee place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We visit the Coffee Mill every time we are at the beach. it is a good little coffee shop, with uneven service but good coffee.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank moorthyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    16
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Warm and cozy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A wonderful little hideaway - warm, cozy, and inviting - with many coffee options. They also serve a terrific hot chocolate (much appreciated on the cold, rainy day I visited) and great sandwiches. Indoor and outdoor seating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tread lightly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stopped in here for the first time last summer. There wad a sign on the door that had a picture of Hora Kotb from the Today Show with the owner. I guess it was one of her favorite coffee shops.

Some words of advice... if you are new to the Coffee Mill, I would download their menu first and make sure you know EXACTLY what you want before you go in. The men taking orders do NOT like to wait! If you keep them waiting for more than a second or two, expect to get the evil eye and a bad attitude! In all fairness... I can see why they're like that. This place is ALWAYS busy, and they're just trying to get everyone's orders out in a timely manner.

The Mill itself is a cute shop. VERY small space though. Place your order, then move to the left where the little window is. That is where your order will come. The condiment station is very small, by the door. We also stopped here 3 times when we were in last week. The creamer container emptied on the second day, and instead of filling it they left it up to the customers to use the creamer out of the fridge. It was like that for 2 days.

Skip the smoothies. On this trip, I got the blueberry pomegranate smoothie on the first day. I received it with about an inch of syrupy stuff on the bottom. No matter how much I shook or stirred it, it just wouldn't mix in with the rest.

The iced coffee is pretty good, and my boyfriend liked the americano. The only food I tried was a plain bagel with cream cheese. It was awesome! They packed the cheese in there.

It's worth trying out at least once, I suppose. There aren't too many alternatives inside the boardwalk area besides hotel cafe's. Just beware of the ill-mannered barista's!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiannon_Todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good coffee, inside is so so, outside is the place to sip and relax.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was taken here by a relative who does the ritual of coffee out a few mornings a week. It is more about the atmosphere than the coffee. In a decent sized town this joint would be buried by the competition. Hey I dig the laid back atmosphere...but get your coffee and drink it outside. The inside is so cluttered and small it made me understand claustrophobia. Anyway the other "attraction" are the young "boy man" barristas who fuss over the slightest order snafu. And don't miss the owner...if he happens by to check on the staff and makes eye contact with you, you will get an animated sassy comedic response ala Billy Crystal's SNL days. If the cafeine don't wake you up the experience will. Pretty cool joint.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gavin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stopped for coffee in mid day, friendly staff, Good coffee, bought some of the souveniers. My only complaint had a hard time getting the lid to stay on

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Mill also viewed

 

Been to The Coffee Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing